Ratings based on 391 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

Nice Location outside of Tourist area 2.5 Stars!

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Breakfast was decent, washer/dryers available-
Cons: I would improve the engagement of the housekeeping staff. Only staff members who appeared disengaged. They missed cleaning my room 1 day.
Location: Again, location right off Hwy 17, Clark's Restaurant next door has good food and great Happy Hour. AVOID Ricky's Dockside across the street.
We booked this location based on previous reviews. The location was convenient to Hwy 17, the staff was amazing and welcoming. For a Holiday Inn Express it exceeded my expectations. No issues during our 4 night stay..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Dog Attack

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: Clean sheets.
Cons: Attitudes of the front desk staff.
My little poodle and I were going into the hotel to register when man and his dog were coming out. His dog (Jack Russell) attacked my dog biting him on the neck and would not let go. The man was on the ground trying to pull apart his dog's teeth in order to let my dog go. After his dog let go, I grabbed my dog and rushed him to the Vet. It took 3 staples to close the wound on his neck. The man's dog bit his arm and I heard he had to go to the hospital. No one, neither the owner of the dog nor the hotel, offered to pay my vet bill even though the owner of the dog took full responsibility for the incident. I felt as though the front desk staff treated me as though all of this was my fault. I did call the police and a full report was filed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from High Point,NC

Nice place to stay and nice staff.

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: Nice Rooms
Cons: TV remote was very slow and it took a lot of time to find a channel you liked.
Location: Right on Hwy 17 and about 15 minutes from North Myrtle Beach.
Good hotel but there is a motorcycle shop next door that can be noisy.
3 out of 5
by Stacey from Delaware

Good location

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
We have stayed here before its close to any of our favorite restaurants. It's nice to be able to walk on the marina. One major negative is that there was mold in the shower. This may be due to no fan in the bathroom.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Clean!

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Pros: Dogs allowed w/very reasonable fee. Free FULL Breakfast,Wifi,parking. Even though we had our dog, we weren't put in a nasty room like in other hotels.
Cons: Toilet seat needs to be replaced. It was all scratched up. Expedia doesn't pass along info about bringing dog so call hotel in advance.
Location: Convenient off Rt 17. Close to Myrtle Beach without all the noise. The restaurant next door looked fantastic-wish we had been there longer to try it.
We stay in hotels a few times per year. This was the cleanest hotel I've been in. No bugs, no stains on the carpet or bed or towels, no dust, no mildew, no water spots, no smells. When we stay in hotels with our dog, she normally finds one or two spots where she focuses/sniffs, making me think there's something nasty there. She did not find any such spots at this hotel. Dog area was clean. Very quiet (it was Wednesday). Breakfast area overlooks the marina--beautiful. Hair dryer in bathroom doubles as a night light. We called at noon to see if we could check in early. Told the receptionist we were 1/2 hour out. She said it would be ready by the time we got there, and it was!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Great stay overall. Very professinal staff. The room reserved for me had not been cleaned thoroughly since I had booked the room at the last minute (night before), plus the elevator was tempoarily out of order so the cleaning team was behind schedule with cleaning all the rooms before guest arrived. When i mentioned this to the staff, they moved me to another room right away that was even better than the room I reserved. HolidayInn Express has always consistently met and exceeded my expectations for good service over the last 10 years or so that I have stayed at these hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2016 by JC, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. We love hearing from our loyal guests about their stay experiences. I am happy to learn that my staff took good care of you when a problem was experienced. We hope to see you again soon when your travels bring you back to the area. Warm Regards, Julia Connette, GM
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Broken AC

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Nothing
My room AC was broken and the toilet fan broken, they did not move my family(4)to a new room as everything was booked. Was horrible!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2016 by JC, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are sorry that you experienced a problem that was not resolved. This is certainly not typical and will be addressed. Warm Regards, Julia Connette, GM
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
The room was comfy,however i didn't like the bathroom set up. It was small & the fan didn't work well. Also,the walls were thin so you can hear everything from the connected rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you found our rooms to be comfy. I'm sorry you did not like the bathroom setup, our fans run automatic, so they are always on. There is no switch to operate them like at a private residence. Warm Regards, Holiday Inn Express, Guest Services
5 out of 5
by Tammy

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Holiday Inn Express Guest Services
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2016
It was a lovely mini vacation. Close enough to the beach but far enough from the hectic nature of the high school spring break season.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Holiday Inn Express Guest Services