Ratings based on 701 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford, NC

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: nothing outstanding. location was good for my trip and bed was comfortable.
Cons: I did not like the idea of staying in a room that possibly had allowed pets. I do not have indoor pets in my home.
Location: Good location for the purpose of my trip.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sayreville, NJ

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Staff friendly/ / very clean
Cons: Closer to beach
Location: Friendly sand many restaurants
Nice place / clean but needs updating . Stayed x2 in Va and both recent remodeled
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs improvement

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Hotel was just ok. Biggest issue was dogs everywhere. I didn't expect to be on vacation and have dogs growling and barking at the hotel. My family was woke each morning at about 6 AM with barking dogs. Our room was at the back of the hotel on the second floor and there was always dog waste on the ground at the door which led to our car. I often watched the dogs urinate inside the building. Lastly.I was told the hotel was a short walk to the beach and actually it is a very long distance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Augusta, ga

Nice hotel well managed.

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Excellent. caters to the guest and their needs.
Cons: soda machine out of order on 4th floor.
Location: many things around the area.
close to activity. close to restaurant. well managed. polite. roomy, My wife was very pleased, and that counts for a lot.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close enough to walk to the beach

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Pet friendly, very polite staff
Cons: Permanently close all rooms across from the elevators, it is very disturbing throughout the night.
I was there to celebrate my birthday. The hotel was OK. Someone kept taking the do not disturb tag out of my door, there were some obvious things that the cleaning crew missed, and I got stuck in the room right in front of the elevators. When I spoke with the front desk about the cleaning issues they sent someone right away and even gave me fresh sheets due to the issue with the uncleanliness of them. Although this hotel was away from main strip, it wasn't too far and you could walk to the beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbia, SC

Hotel was OK

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Nice place. The cleanliness of the hotel prior to use coming to the room should've been better. But staff seemed nice and it was comfy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Room was clean Hotel staff friendly and helpful. I would stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south carolina

Search out all of your options first

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: the room and hall ways were clean
Cons: pet should not be allowed in the areas where ppl eat.
I called a few days in advance to see if it was possible to check in early. I was told to call the morning of and ask staff if early check in was available. I spoke with ___, and was told yes you can come in as early as 12. Got to the hotel around that time frame and was told you cant check in early. I said I spoke with an employee, ( I gave her name) this morning and she told me I could. I was told yes she is here but we are behind. And for the price of the rooms, breakfast could be much better. I had to wait in line for 20 min just to make a waffle, which was the highlight of breakfast. I felt more options should have been made available for breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2016 by Glenn F., Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback of your experience at our hotel. I apologize for the miscommunication between my staff at the Front Desk about when you could check in. I will make it clear to them that everyone needs to be clear and on the same page. La Quinta is in the process of modifying our breakfast options as well. I hope that you choose to try us again in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Easy checkin

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Our room was ready by 2pm and we were able to check in with no problem! Thanks will definitely stay here again for our weekend get away!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

A Nasty Hotel - So Disappointed

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: The bathroom had "hot" water. Staff was nice and helpful.
Cons: Thoroughly clean hotel. Don't allow dog owners access to all rooms, but isolate them to rooms in rear and don't allow them in dining/common areas.
Location: Beach and restaurants were in walking distance.
Hotel room had cockroaches and was not clean. There was hair on the carpet and the bed linen did not smell clean. Dogs were allowed in many rooms throughout the hotel and not just isolated to a certain area of the hotel. While having breakfast, a leashed dog came through the lobby and "pooped" and the owner kept walking. One of the hotel staff cleaned it up. Hotel staff had to tell some dog owners not take their dogs in the dining area. Dogs were barking during the night, and some of them look "dirty/sick/diseased". Frankly, it was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, and I respectfully request a refund or at least credit toward a better hotel in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Jane S., Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that you encountered problems during your stay. Being pet friendly has its challenges especially when the pet owners do not take care of their pet and do not follow the rules. They sign a pet agreement that states the dos and don'ts. We do try to keep the pets in a certain area of the hotel but it is hard to do especially when we are not aware that the guest brought a pet. Again, I am extremely sorry. Sincerely,