Featured Image

Reviews of Mermaid Inn

2.5 out of 5
Mermaid Inn
5400 N. Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC

COVID-19 alert: Travel requirements are changing rapidly, including need for pre-travel COVID-19 testing and quarantine on arrival.

Overall score and ratings

3.6

Good

Rating 5 - Excellent. 142 out of 580 reviews
5 - Excellent 24%
Rating 4 - Good. 222 out of 580 reviews
4 - Good 38%
Rating 3 - Okay. 103 out of 580 reviews
3 - Okay 18%
Rating 2 - Poor. 46 out of 580 reviews
2 - Poor 8%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 67 out of 580 reviews
1 - Terrible 12%

3.7/5

Cleanliness

3.8/5

Staff & service

3.1/5

Amenities

3.4/5

Property conditions & facilities

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with group
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Upon arrival, the office was closed and had a hand written note on the door saying "be back at 7 am" so we had to sleep in our car the entire night and the office employees did not arrive back until 9 am. Once we checked in, our room was dirty and unsafe. The mini fridge had the food from the previous guests, which left a rotting smell in the room. The bathroom was filthy and had hair in the shower and sink. The toilet was covered in streaks and the towels were dirty from the previous guests. The beds were "made" but the pillows were stained and we had no comforters on the bed. After contacting expedia, they were able to transfer us to a different hotel. Upon leaving we heard a loud crash and there was a violent man who punched a window to get in to a hotel room. Whatever you do, do not stay here.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Was nice and clean. Excelente service
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Close to beach. Dirty and staff didn't care inside and outside. Check in was supposed to be at 3pm. Arrived at 4:30 but room wasn't ready. Checked back an hour later and still ready.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Disliked: Staff & service
The service is there only if you ask. The staff left the dirty bedding and trash collected from the vacated room, next to your door for over 24 hours! When we arrived I was disgusted to see the trash left by the guests who had stayed before us and this was there over night.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Brenda Ferrand, General Manager on Jul 28, 2021
We apologize for not meeting your expectations. Guest probably put out dirty bedding and trash and it may have been overlooked. We always check in front of the doors prior to housekeeping leaving. However, sometimes guests put items outside afterwards. We hope you will give us another chance. We appreciate you being our guests.

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family and small children, Traveled with pets
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
The workers are pleasant
Stayed 6 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Brenda Ferrand, General Manager on Jul 28, 2021
We are delighted to see the sweet comments about our team. We really appreciate you being our guests and hope to see you again soon.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
It was a nice motel.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Brenda Ferrand, General Manager on Jul 28, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback and for being our guests. We are delighted you enjoyed our hotel and the nice comments you made. We hope to see you again soon.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
The property was basically ok. Our room was clean. They were very short handed but very nice. My only complaint was our neighbor kept his door open with a large dog running around off leash and charging at people. Lunging at dogs and people as they pass by. Complained but he didn't change. PARKING WAS a challenge handicapp.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Brenda Ferrand, General Manager on Jul 28, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback and for being our guests. We apologize for the problem with the neighbor. Pets are required to be on a lease at all times. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We did take action. We hope you will come back again. We appreciate you. Thank you for having a voice.

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Our room sucked. Nothing worked. Pipe fixtures in the shower falling apart. Discovered that for some reason, everything was unplugged from the electrical outlets. I fixed that myself. They walked in during my nap, despite the do not disturb sign.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Brenda Ferrand, General Manager on Jul 28, 2021
We apologize for not meeting your expectations. You placed a work order for us to come in and left the sign on you door at all times. We knocked prior to coming in to check the request of your work order. We hope to see you again. Thank you for being our guest.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family and small children, Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Our room was supposed to be ready at 3 and it wasn't ready until 4. My husband sat down on one of the chairs and it buckled underneath him. He's 6ft, 225lb. The toilets hadn't been cleaned properly in what looked like months. We enjoyed our time in myrtle beach but for the money we spent, we could have stayed in a nicer place. Next time, we will.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Brenda Ferrand, General Manager on Jul 28, 2021
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to give feedback. We apologize for not having your room ready until 4pm. This is the first we have heard about a broken chair and haven't seen any broken chairs. However, thank you for bring this to our attention.

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family and small children, Traveled with partner, Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Was not cleaned properly prior to us getting the room. It didn’t have a shower curtain. The air conditioner and the refrigerator didn’t work and couldn’t get anyone to fix it. We had to go buy a fan and the people that supposed to clean the rooms were all messed up like they were on something illegal. It was a very bad experience and I would never recommend this hotel. Was not worth the price!!
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Absolutely wonderful
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Quiet and comfortable. We loved the proximity to the beach.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Could of been cleaner, the bed sheets and pillowcases had stains, just better upkeep. I'd come again, just hope next time it's more cleaner!!
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2021

1/5 Terrible

Business traveler, Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service
I arrived at 7 pm to check in. No one was in the office. I waited for 20 minutes, and finally soneone showed up., I already paid for from room through Expedia, but had a balance of $40.00. The girl at the desk took my card and what I thought took the $40.00. I asked for receipt and she said at check out I would get. I thought that was very strange but said OK. The floor in my room had sand all over it. No wash clothes in the bath. Coffee pot had to be rewashed. Fridge had jelly smears on shelves. All I needed was a place to sleep so yes I stayed. When checking out I asked for the receipt and was told I cannot do that, you booked with experian and as soon as I show that you have checked out, they will send you one. I left feeling that something just was not right. I checked my bank when I got home and guess what!! They hit my card for the $40.00 fee and then ran it again for the room charge. So now I'm trying to get the money back and a Brenda said she would take care of it when I talked to her. Later that day I called, she said to busy will do later. Called following day, she was out but they would have her call. She never called back. Checked bank and still no refund. All I can say is that I will never, ever stay there again, and my money better show up really soon. Pay a few dollars more and stay at a different place is my advise to you.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I normally do not write these type of reviews because im not picky and usually satisfied overall but i had to speak on this place. I would not recommend staying at this location solely due to the staff and management. They were very rude as soon as i got there to pick up my keys, mind you i already paid through expedia and all fees were included in the total. I get a call from the front desk on the second day of my vacation demanding I pay a hotel fee that was supposedly not included in my total already. I was on the beach and kept getting pestered by the staff to come pay the fee. I told them this was not my issue at this time as i was relaxing on the beach nowhere near the hotel, i would come down later. Short after I received multiple calls from the mangers personal phone whose name is Brenda and voicemails stating that if i do not come pay the blance in 2 minutes she was going to evict me and call the police to put my things outside. Once again no where near the hotel. Then she proceeded to text me the same thing. I have never dealt with a more unprofessional business in my life. The rudest of all. Not to mention the whole place was extremely overpriced for the quality. The room was so dark you had to open the blinds just to see. The bathtub was disgusting. All in all, they need some serious updates on the rooms and THE STAFF. One good thing and only thing i can say positive is that the location was nice, right on the beach.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The staff were clean and friendly. They checked me in two hours earlier with no problem and the beach is right outside the door. Very affordable.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021

1/5 Terrible

Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities
Convenient location but management was rude would not work with us due to our flight getting canceled and room was way over priced and dog hair on furniture
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2021
Response from Brenda Ferrand, General Manager on Jul 28, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback and for being our guest. Check in time is at 3pm and check out time is at 11am. We offer a late check out time of 1pm with no charge. However, other guests start checking in at 3pm. It's July and busy in the summer. However, in the slower months we have more flexibility.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I would recommend and I would stay again. Thanks
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family and small children, Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
When I called to the hotel they said they have no availability. I ended paying a lot in a different hotel
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2021

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family and small children
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
It was close to the beach other then that my stay there sucked
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021

4/5 Good

Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family and small children, Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
We had no toilet paper , we had to wait over an hour to get booked in the person checking us in didn’t know what she was doing until the manager came in
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2021

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Amenities
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Very close to the beach. The area was kept very clean. People was very respectful of quit time at night.
Stayed 6 nights in Jun 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with pets, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Simple, clean, pet friendly.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with group
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Nothing was clean. Mold in the bathroom. The fridge didn’t close all the way and we were only allowed two towels a day when we had four people. Absolute horrible experience
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Being right on the beach was the biggest plus. The hotel is dated, but was clean. Our air conditioner did not work, which was difficult as their only solution was a fan and it was very humid. The pool was great and cleaned daily. You have to request fresh towels/linens if you want/need as they do not enter unattended rooms, which is a good policy. We would stay again if we were guaranteed a/c.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2021

2/5 Poor

Traveled with partner, Traveled with pets
Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Staff & service, amenities
A two minute walk and you literally have sand under your toes! The property location is outstanding but I wouldn’t stay here again due to the staff, stiff bed and linen situation.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
The staff was extremely friendly. Check in was a breeze and didn’t take long. I didn’t like the fact that my room was next to the stairs I could hear all night people yelling and going down the stairs. Check out day people were dragging their bags down them which woke me up. Also they don’t come in at all to bring fresh towels had to go get some.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2021

3/5 Okay

Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
Old bathroom. Old noisy a/c . This is a basic place ( no frills) place to stay if you are on a budget.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 2 nights in May 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with group
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Nothing was great they had ticks in the room from dogs it was in me an my friend bed. Then the lady at the front desk was begin rude animals was on every floor. It was discussing from inside and out.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2021

2/5 Poor

Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 2 nights in May 2021

1/5 Terrible

Business traveler, Traveled with partner
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The facility is really deteriorating. Have you ever paid $200 for a room and not even had a hair dryer. Please don’t send people to this place.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner, Traveled with pets
Liked: Staff & service
Great location, very outdated rooms and queen beds were actually full sized. Brenda the GM was very friendly and accomodated our early check in.
Stayed 1 night in May 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Staff & service, amenities
My room was accommodating for my stay except the door to my two bedroom suite did not close and window units vs. central heat/air. Also, walking children and luggage to three flight of stairs vs. an elevator.
Stayed 1 night in May 2021

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
We never got towels for the room
Stayed 1 night in May 2021

4/5 Good

Liked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Disliked: Cleanliness
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
I really enjoy staying here. The price is fantastic, it’s right next to the beach, playground for kids right next door, pet friendly, and a wonderful staff. The Parking is a little tight right in front of the building but there is a full lot down at the end of the building. It’s just a little bit of a walk if your room is on the front end of building. Not bad. Just slightly annoying. But everything else is wonderful.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family and small children
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
They charged extra fees once you check in the hotel.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from Brenda Ferrand, General Manager on May 1, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback and for being our guest. We have no hidden fees.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness
Positives - You are on the beach. That's the best part. No matter what unit you are in it is a 50-yard walk to the sand. The pool looked nice, but it was still too cold to use. The beds were clean and there was a working fridge and kitchenette sink. The staff was very helpful and apologetic when necessary (see the negatives). We were given a late check-out after requesting. Negative - Check-in was at 3 pm. We arrived at 4:30 pm and the room was still not available. Apparently, the majority of their cleaning staff called in that day. There was only one poor guy cleaning and one person working the front desk. We were told they would call us when the room was available but the call never came. We came back to the hotel around 9 pm and were given our keys. The bathroom could have used a little extra attention. There were some stains in the shower that could be removed with a deep clean. The wall AC unit put out cold air but my wife still woke up hot in the middle of the night hot. I am not sure how it would function in July when the summer heat is at its best. Bottom-Line: This place is a gamble. If you're willing to look past the aging infrastructure and AC, the location is great. You are only a short 5 min drive from most attractions and less than a minute walk to the beach with free parking included in your stay. Also, there are some additional hotel fees you will have to pay that Expedia does not cover, it was an extra $30 for one night for us.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from Brenda Ferrand, General Manager on Apr 19, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to give feed back and for being our guests. We are delighted you enjoyed being close to the beach. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. We use feedback as a training tool to hopefully make your next stay better. Thank you so much.

4/5 Good

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Over all had a great stay for a quick and easy getaway
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2019
Response from Brenda Ferrand, General Manager on Apr 17, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback and for being our guest. We hope to see you again soon.

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Rooms were very filthy. Bed sheets had hair from the previous people who used the room. Bath tub was filled with water.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from Brenda Ferrand, General Manager on Apr 17, 2021
We apologize for not meeting your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to give feedback and for being our guest. We use feedback as a training tool to hopefully improve and make the next stay better. We hope you will give us another chance and come back. Thank you for being our guests.

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family and small children, Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The property was a mess. Everything was unkempt, from the parking lot to the sidewalks/breezeways to the stairs to the pool area. Check-in time was delayed by an hour an a half because the cleaning crew was behind, which is ironic because when we checked into the room, we found it in a filthy state. Tub, bathroom floor and shower curtain were incredibly dirty. Bed sheets were stained and had hair on them.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021
Response from Brenda Ferrand, General Manager on Apr 14, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback and for being our guest. It was Easter weekend and spring break as well as short staffed. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. This was not the normal weekend for us. We hope you give us another chance. Please come back soon.

3/5 Okay

Liked: Staff & service
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021
Response from Brenda Ferrand, General Manager on Apr 23, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback and for being our guest. We hope to see you again soon.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family and small children, Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Amazing Location...could use some updates but served us well!
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021
Response from Brenda Ferrand, General Manager on Apr 14, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback and for being our guest. We hope to see you again soon.

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Everything was great, clean. The only exception was the front office staff worker Brenda. The other reviews are spot on. She is very curt, not friendly nor helpful. Downright rude. I had an issue with my bill since it was more, but she told me Expedia had it wrong. She would not honor Expedia's rate nor total. I showed her what total was to be colllected by the hotel, but again said it was wrong. That is a 1st in 20 yrs. Let very unsatisfied.
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2021
Response from Brenda Ferrand, General Manager on Apr 14, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback and for being our guest. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. The detailed rate was correct and sometimes 3rd parties do not have taxes, pet fees, ect included. There wasn't anything I could do about Expedia giving you the wrong information. We hope to see you again.

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family and small children
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Terrible experience. We arrived at 630pm. We were told there was no staff available and no rooms were cleaned. We were put on a waiting list along with many others. Long story short, we were able to get into the room at midnight. The kids were absolutely exhausted. Didn't even receive an apology. When we got to the room it was filthy. No staff work past 11 so we had to make due. There was dirt and blood on the bedsheets. Yes, I said blood. Disgusting!!! There was small pills on the floor which I flushed down the toilet. Never experienced anything like this before. The following morning we went to the pool. Absolutely disgusting. Trash bags and dirt stuck to the bottom. The location is fantastic. It is such a shame it's been run equivalent to a homeless shelter. An apology would have been nice! Have a good day y'all :-)
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from Brenda Ferrand, General Manager on Apr 14, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback and for being your guest. guest were late checking in but not past 8pm. Folks who came back late to get their keys were because they were out Our last housekeeper clocked out at 8pm on this day. We had your key waiting for your arrival to come back. We use feedback as a training tool to hopefully make your next stay better. We apologize for not meeting your expectations.

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Disliked: Amenities
Parking was tight Ammenities were sparse
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021
Response from Brenda Ferrand, General Manager on Apr 14, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback and for being our guest. We apologize for not meeting your expectations.