Ratings based on 747 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Good breakfast, room view balcony all beach

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Just new more updated renovations. Working on it. Kitchen all new. Rooms are spacious. Quick to assist if you need something. Overall no major complaints. May need a new kitchen stove for Continental breakfast. Light gas smell later in day. Have a server for main breakfast items. Makes sanitation great
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Nice rooms

Posted Aug 21, 2017
This is my third time staying here. The hotel needs serious renovation and the slow elevators are maddening. The housekeeping services were not good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pennsylvania

run down

Posted Aug 21, 2017
The hotel could be very nice but is really run down. You are paying for the ocean views. However, not worth the cost. There are no amenities at the hotel for lunch or dinner.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Not What We Expected

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The parking garage was very tight with steep ramp and sharp turns. It was numbered a bit odd. The lobby/check in is on the 2nd floor. The staff at check in was very nice and friendly, her name was Natasha. They have 3 elevators on each floor for which signs are posted telling you to watch all 3 at once (they're not lined up together) so catching one is tricky at peak times. The room itself left much to be desired. Our bathroom sink drained slowly so we called maintenance. He must've have come while we were out because we never saw him. The bathroom was very small. When we returned the bathroom sink had vomited trash and black gunk. We turned on the water and it also ran black. The toilet ran nonstop. The dishes in the kitchen cabinet had long hairs on them. The pool opens at 9 and closes at 11pm, however there were still people making noise and in the pool well after 11 (our room overlooked the pool). The bed was lumpy which caused us backaches in the morning. The free breakfast consisted of steamed Canadian bacon, soupy grits, scrambled eggs, mini waffles and overcooked hash browns. It was a complete waste of time. We were ready to leave by the time check out time had arrived.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2017 by Gina, Hotel Management
We apologize you did not enjoy your stay like we had hoped. We hope you great vacations in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodbridge, Va

Awesome stay!

Posted Aug 17, 2017
We had fun and really enjoyed our trip. Hotel was clean staffs are nice and friendly. We like the hot breakfast and the amenities. We will come back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2017 by Gina, Hotel Management
We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Monterey Bay! We hope you see you soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TN

Did not meet expectations

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Pros: Location and friendly staff.
Cons: Parking garage and update bathrooms and hallways.
Location: Only one block over to Kings Hwy. We loved the Carolina Roadhouse and Opry.
Did not get ocean front room as expected. Was told to check with front desk daily to see if one becomes available. Who wants to repack and move rooms???? Bathroom did not even have a vanity, The kitchen had a coffee pot but no place to plug in so we moved it to an end table beside the couch. We hated the narrow parking garage.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Waited 15 min after check in time to get key only to find room not finished being cleaned .then waited another 30 min in a hot hallway to have house keeping finish. This was after a 12 hour drive. The room was old and dingy. The next day our room was never cleaned and ran out of toilet paper and towels. Noisy at night in hallways . Pools have cloudy water .. no resturaunt on premises and frequent . Over 30 delivery brochures put undr door innone day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

close to beach.quiet

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: require total renovation.
Nice beach,quiet,nice private fire work on Independence day.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: on the beach.
entire rooms floor was covered with a slick,oily film i had to place towels on the floor so i would not slip and fall. i never took off my shoes. never. we stayed one night and i slept with my sneakers on. the floor!!what was on the floor and the furniture too . a film of some sort of oil. not moisture from the weather.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Filthy and noisy hotel

Posted May 27, 2017
Very disappointed in this hotel , it's very old and dirty. It was bikers week and there was tons of bikers reving their engines in the parking floors right out side the units and hotel did not complain. Would not recommend