Ratings based on 358 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ocean Creek Resort vacation

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Location: Across the road from Barefoot Landing!
We had a great time during our stay at Ocean Creek Resort! The resort itself is beautiful and all of the staff there were very friendly. We stayed in Villa 1 east and so we were only a few minutes walk down to the beach. Despite it being the busy season we were always able to find a space for our towels without feeling crowded. I have seen some past reviews commenting that housekeeping staff simply handed them towels at the door instead of coming in and changing towels/garbages and making the bed. Every morning that housekeeping came by we happened to still be at our hotel room so yes, they did simply hand over towels and change the garbage. But let me say I was not disappointed with the housekeeping service. All housekeeping staff were very friendly and helpful, asking what supplies needed replacing, including the shampoos and soaps. I do not need or like having people enter my hotel room to make my bed every day and so I appreciated this set up a lot. I have only 2 small criticisms. One is that we could only close our door from the outside by putting the key card in, otherwise the door would not shut and lock. When your hands are full with beach supplies you want to just pull the door shut! The 2nd is that every morning at 8am we were woken by a man with a lead blower outside of our door. Sometimes he was there 15-20 minutes blowing debris and drying pool chairs. It was not a nice sound to be woken up to every morning and I wish they could have started other villas first
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2016 by gm@oceancreek.com, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your email. I apologize for the issues you had during your stay. I assure you we will do everything we can to address the issues you experienced so that they will not happen again. I hope you and your family may still consider us in the future. Thank you so much, Sabrina D. Hilliard, GM
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Repeat customer

Posted Jul 20, 2016
We've stayed here many times. The conditions are always good; quiet, clean, consistent, adequate parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for choosing Ocean Creek Resort for your recent vacation and for taking the time to share your experience with everyone on the Expedia site. We hope that you and your family will continue to make us your home away from home when visiting the Myrtle Beach area. Thank you so much, Sabrina D. Hilliard
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Close to the beach, but I would not recommend.

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: The Resort was close to the beach and had neat little "creek" connecting to the ocean.
Cons: Cleanliness.
The Reception staff were unpleasant and untimely. Our room had cockroaches and ants everywhere we looked. My family and I were extremely disappointed with the amount of money we spent (more than we EVER have at any resort) for how little service we received. I've never been to a resort that I felt scared to let me kids eat/sleep for fear of bugs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2016 by gm@oceancreek.com, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your email. I apologize for the issues you had during your stay. I assure you we will do everything we can to address the issues you experienced so that they will not happen again. I hope you and your family may still consider us in the future. Thank you so much, Sabrina D. Hilliard, GM
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible. Hot water tank leaking and wetting floo

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Nothing to discuss. Terrible stay. The was not acceptable
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2016 by gm@oceancreek.com, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your email. I apologize for the issues you had during your stay. I assure you we will do everything we can to address the issues you experienced so that they will not happen again. I hope you and your family may still consider us in the future. Thank you so much, Sabrina D. Hilliard, GM
5 out of 5
by Saad from Atlanta

Highly recommend this family friendly resort

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
We had a great time. The room was the size of a studio apartment and it was well stocked with cooking utensils, pots, pans and cutlery. Included was also a dish washer and microwave. Bathroom was clean with walk-in closet & room safe.Two sinks - 1 next to closet and another in the main bathroom. In terms of amenities this was the best option if you want to save $ and eat in. The decor is old and aging but we didn't go there for room decor. The beach is the star of the resort and it was a 2 min walk. The grounds were very clean and well maintained. A well lit path from room to private beach made for great walks no matter the time. Stargazing added to the fun. We also utilized the indoor pool and hot tub when it was raining. Room service was great. Lots of places nearby to shop and entertain. Saw mostly families there and the occasional college students were well behaved.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
We had a wonderful stay. It was peaceful and relaxing. Wished the bed was bigger, booked a queen size bed and received a full size. Other than that, we were very happy and plan to book again for the whole family!!!
5 out of 5
by Jon from South Baltimore

A pleasant surprise

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
We booked this room for the weekend thinking it was a hotel on Rte 17 and were pleasantly surprised that it was a complex that stretched to the beach with facilities such as indoor pool, exercise room, beach bar and restaurant.
4 out of 5
by Brian from Norfolk, VA

Great for normal stays, bad for bike motorcyclists

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
The room and surrounding area was really nice but I went down there for bike week and was not allowed to bring my bike into the grounds. I had to park at the entrance in an "overflow" area of dirt and during after hours had to walk 1/4 mile to my unit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nice stopover near shopping, beach and golf course

Posted May 15, 2016
Pros: Beaches, pools, balcony in the room, kitchenette.
Cons: Rooms are a bit tired - could use freshening up with newer carpets, curtains, etc.
Location: Shopping, eating, golf, beach and beach activities.
This full service resort with kitchenette was perfect for a short stay near barefoot landing. Beach was great and many pools and hot tubs were available on the site. The breakfast was limited but reasonable for the price and the room, while a bit tired, was comfortable and clean. Recommend for short stays in the area.
5 out of 5
by Kathy from Roanoke VA

Very pleased!!!!!!

Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
We had a wonderful time. The room was great and was close to Barefoot Landing!!!! We will be returning this summer!!!!!