Ratings based on 1,294 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IN

Dissapointing

Posted Oct 21, 2017
It started off with entering the elevator that smelled like dog pee and our room keys not working, then the room was filthy. There was food on the kitchen floor, splatters on the walls, doors and cabinets, tubs had hair in them, no pillow cases on pillows or in closets anywhere, the crib that I requested was not in the room and the "ocean view" was more of a garage and street view. I called the front desk- she was supposed to be sending housekeeping and I also asked to speak to a manager. He was out for another 15 minutes so I left a voicemail. After an hour went by I was told he was across the street at ocean dunes, so I left my cell # for him to call since we were headed out for dinner. 3 days later and still no return call and things got worse. Housekeeping didn't even come the next day to make beds etc and the outdoor pools were iceboxes! They were way to cold for an infant and toddler to get in, the indoor pool was closed for refinishing and the hotel water park was only open fri- Sunday. None of these things were indicated when making reservation. I called again to talk with a manager but he of course was not in- the front desk person rudely told me that I could come talk to the manager in person if I haven't been called back and that the hotel has 9 pools and none of the outdoor pools were heated we could go to the one indoor pool across the street that was open during our stay. This was all very disappointing!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

Horrible

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Room had a horrible smell and wasn't cleaned enough
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

No blankets for 3 whole days

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Room was not cleaned the whole time we were there.. We had to go get cleaning supplies from Walmart to clean the room ourselves apparently the South side doesn’t have housekeeping in the fall. So don’t get a room on that side if you need housekeeping.. We didn’t have blankets for 3 days because we sent back the 1’s they put on the bed because they were stained. Asked for a non smoking room was given a smoking one smelled like smoke as soon as we walked in.. just not a good experience. But I guess you get what you pay for
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Don't come here

Posted Oct 9, 2017
The hotel staff was acceptable but management was absolutely horrendous, they were obnoxious ignorant to my conditions my problems. There were no handicap spaces for me to park as a handicapped person I was not giving any consideration. Management just was totally ignorant to the care of the facility the room was disgusting had not been cleaned found food boxes behind the bed. Holes in the comforter I had taken pictures but unable to upload but the place was absolutely terrible. It's only redeeming quality was it was on the beach. They lied about my room there was no kitchenette and as opposed to the oceanfront view that I ordered and ask for I had an ocean view from the side of the facility there were so many things wrong with the hotel room that I stayed I can't name them all. But I would advise anyone not to stay at the Sand Dunes Hotel and Resort
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago il.

Water park closed!

Posted Oct 4, 2017
We chose this hotel based on the water park. We were excited to take our grandson. When we arrived at the hotel we were told that the water park was closed. When we arrive to the room it was really warm so we turned on the air conditioner and went to the beach and then out to dinner. When we got back from dinner the room was still hot and we called the front desk. Maintenance came to our room about 11 p.m. and told us that the air conditioner was froze up and they took the mini blow dryer out of our bathroom and started blow-drying the ice on the heater waking our two-year-old grandson. They offered us a fan and we had to call down and insist on moving rooms. Once we got into the other room the air conditioning worked fine however we were not pleased with our stay due to the fact that the water park was closed and that was the whole reason we chose the hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Enjoyed our stay. Wish there would have been a pullout couch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Centreville, VA

Great location

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: amnesty; coffee, fridge, microwave, cook top, etc... Cleaning crew comes in the afternoonish
Cons: Daily cleaning crew to crew daily; including weekend Daily cleaning crew to clean bathroom daily; not every 4 days
Location: excellent location
Walking distance to beach and partial view to the beach. Kids water park view and walking distance to beach. Parking can be dounting on the weekend/beach season.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rocky Mount, NC

It was a good stay.

Posted Sep 25, 2017
It was about what we expected. We were a little leery after reading the reviews, but over all it was decent. We're missing flat sheets on two of the beds. Called down to the desk, said they're send them up. After an hour I went down and got them. Wish they would have just told me they had them at the desk. Couldn't get the TV to come on in the master bedroom. No big deal. Kids loved the water park.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from roanoke, va.

Not like the picture

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: The staff
Cons: Be honest on website about dogs being in hotel, update the bathroom, replace those awful beds with new ones & get new pillows.
Location: Location a plus
First if all, this hotel states no pets allowed which is one of the main reasons we chose this hotel. However, there were dogs there. If room is time share, those folks can have pets. This is NOT stated in hotel info on Expedia. We are allergic to dog dander, so not happy when 2 guys with their dogs got into the only elevator with us. We were on 8th floor so walked the steps while there. The room was okay, not the cleanest. The bathroom needs updating, lots of rusted metal & knobs in tub. The toilet didn't work, 2 days we were there (not our fault) the tank wouldn't fill up after flushing. Took 2 days befit was finally fixed. The AC was noisy the first night, worked ok the next 2 nights & then would not either come on or stay on. I called desk, waited 30 minutes. No one came so I tried sleeping in the stuffy room. The beds were hard as rocks & 2 of the pillows should have been in the garbage. Stained & old. The room safe would not open. The door had to be replaced before we could get our mo eyes & car keys. We were unable to get into our room the last day because they checked us out a day early even though we had paid for that day. We had to go to front desk to resolve issue. I would not recommend this hotel. The one plus was the staff, other than the desk clerk, were awesome.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roanoke, Va

Not like the picture or description

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: The staff, all but the person who checked us in & out, were very nice
Cons: The room could be overhauled. New bathroom. AND to post on their website that they do have dogs there.
Location: Location was nice. Typical beach activities nearby.
One of the main reasons we choose this hotel is that it is listed as "no pets allowed" we are, unfortunately, allergic to pet dander. The first day there m 2 guys with dogs entered the elevator with us, having 2 digs with them. We pointed out the no pet rule. They said they owned their room & could have dogs. We called front desk & were advised this to be true. Next, the room. Lots of dust, bathroom fixtures rusty & the toilet didn't work 2 days in a row. Not our fault BTW, the tank wouldn't fill up after flushing. My husband had to fill it each time it was flushed using a garbage can, until they finally fixed it. The AC was noisy the first night, worked ok for the next 2 nights & then wouldn't come on or stay on when we were able to get it working. I finally called front desk, no one ever came to repair it so we didn't sleep well for the last 2 nights. We used the safe provided. It jammed up & an engineer had to replace the entire door. He was great. They disabled our room card key a day early so we were locked out of our room & had to have that straightened out. The only plus was the location & the 2 folks who did fix the toilet & the safe were really, really great. Oh, I was in the room one morning when housekeeping arrived. I asked she change sheets & when changing pillow cases I was appalled to see that 2 of the pillows were total crap. They should have been in the garbage, not on the beds. We wouldn't recommend this hotel.