Ratings based on 166 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Spring Break 2018

Posted Apr 13, 2018
Overall I’d give a 7 out of 10. We enjoyed our stay and would probably go back.Room was decent, a little dated. Sand in the one of the bath tubs. Facility were nice. Kids liked the indoor pool and very close to Apache Pier for fishing. My only disappointment was when I booked the suite through AARP/Expedia, it was supposed to accommodate 7 people ( actually said up to 8 people.) There was only sleeping accommodations for 6 people which put one of the kids on the floor. They was no option for a roll in bed or cot.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was a nice very roomy unit.

Posted Feb 26, 2018
Cons: Train the staff.
Location: Great location.
Our experience was somewhat of a challenge. We had to go to a different hotel to check in because our hotel Sands Beach Club is under renovations. We didn't realize this until we parked and asked someone at our hotel where to check in. So we got back in the car and drove a few doors down to the other hotel to get the room keys. We proceed to unload the vehicle and bring all the luggage up to the room, open the door and find other people are in the room. Not a good experience. So we take everything back to the car and reload and drive back to the other hotel. Clearly the other people had called the front desk as they were waiting for us to return. Ok, so we get another room key; drive back to our hotel; unload again and then we finally get into our room. At this point we were just glad to have a room. We liked the room; but I believe the staff may need some additional training.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sands Beach Club Feb 2018

Posted Feb 26, 2018
Pros: Location on the beach. Room we were in was clean. Little outdated but clean. Like I said in the main review, you can't beat the price.
Cons: Get the construction done. I know its a renovation. Also the people at the main check in desk could be more friendlier.
Stayed at this hotel last year. Came back this year. They are currently doing construction on the building. Was down in MB for golf so it wasn't a problem. If you are staying there all day it might be distracting. Overall you can't beat the price to be on the beach. It isn't a Westin, but you ain't paying Westin prices. Perfect was 4 guys playing golf all day and coming back to place to relax and watch the beach from the balcony.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bennettsville,sc

Short stay

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Nice hotels under renovation. We enjoyed our stay and will come back again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta. GA

Nice hotel at the beach

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Check in process was confusing. We need to receive instructions in advance. No counter desk. There is one but in a different hotel/location. We arrived late and did not what to do. Location of the hotel is the best but it needs some work on the beds. They had a weird sound like very old beds. Overall it was a good experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

View is main thing I was wanting.

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Nice hotel, just had a couple maintenance issues when we walked in. Beds was uncomfortable for a suite. Overall layout of room was nice and view was amazing. Just need a serious remodeling and it will be one of the nicest hotels on Myrtle Beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
Dirty!!
3 out of 5
by Timeshella

Disappointed

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
First I'd like to say that I've stayed at this resort several times and have enjoyed my stay. However my most recent experience started out horrible. I booked with Sands Beach Club, instead of sands ocean club due to lack of availability according to hotels.com . After approaching the front desk I learned that the room I booked and reserved was not available. The front desk clerk Logan stated that he would be willing to accommodate me at the sister Hotel Sands ocean club of the website allowed me. Needless to say my son, fiance, and I spent 2 hours downstairs waiting on this issue to resolve. I'm not sure who was at fault, but I felt humiliated and cheated. We traveled to South Carolina for a family weekend, lost a day and it made Saturday a day full of cramming in things. This was my worst hotel check in experience ever. The front desk manager Tiffany, saved the day! If she didn't step in when she did...we would have been returning home. Hotels.com needs to better communicate with hotels so this doesn't happen again in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Extensive remodeling.

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Jack hammers everywhere with no warning. Expedia failed on this one.
2 out of 5
by Shannon from Ohio

Would never stay here again.

Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels
The room was horrible. 827- the stove was a danger-the burners were literally hanging off the top of the stove, (we didn't even use it-too afraid), the Lamenet was coming off the top of the master dresser, the glass sliding door in the master wouldn't close all the way, there were water stains running down the walls, the refrigerator was leaking water all over the kitchen floor, the master tv didn't work, the safe didn't work, no sheets left for sofa bed.... If I didn't bring my 4 kids, I would have packed my stuff back up and left, but we had no where to go and drove 13 hours to get there. Highly discusted and let down.