Ratings based on 792 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Loaction and Loaction and Location. I've stayed there many times and it is always good. Love Ocean Annies in summer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 30, 2016
The hotel is very nicely located on the beach. In the summer can enjoy the beach, the pool and lazy river. There are two restaurants open in the summer plus outdoor entertainment from 1:00 until 11:00 p.m. In the winter limited restaurant hours and Indoor entertainment nightly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great location

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Room right above band outside bar inside was great
Cons: no
Location: Close night clubs
Just a getway weekend log walks on the beach and great sun rises
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good deal for the price

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Had a great view of the ocean. Stayed here because our lame home resort (marriott) would not let us in after the hurricane.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greensboro, NC

Party Central, not for the family

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: There is a lot going on and if you are looking for a place to party the night away, this is a great find.
Cons: Room cleanliness, these are individually owned, so the hotel staff uses that as an excuse. Needs overall updating.
Location: The location is pretty good. Centrally located to both North and South Myrtle Beach. Lots to do nearby.
We checked in and got a pretty bad room. We immediately escalated to the desk and were shown a couple other rooms equally as bad. We stayed anyway since there was a no refund policy. During our second day the shower literally stopped working in the middle of my shower. My wife went down to alert the desk of the issue and happened to run into the director of operations on the way down. He was quite rude and insulting to my wife and told us that since we had been coming here for several years, we should know the quality of the rooms and his only advice was to not book here again. This was the director of operations! I was quite disappointed with the hotel I had once loved. Needless to say, there was no use in complaining to anyone else, so we will not be staying at Sands Ocean Club again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated and dirty.

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Old, outdated, dirty towels, mold in the bathrooms. Beat up walls, old beds, took 5 minutes to get hot water to start flowing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boone

WILL NOT STAY THERE AGAIN

Posted Sep 20, 2016
We got to our room and it felt damp and the room style looked like it came out of the 50's. We had no hand towels or washcloths for 2 days and no toilet paper for 3 days after requesting these items many times. We came back from dinner two nights to find dirty linen and trash in front of our door. It's a good place for those looking for a one night stand.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

GREAT HOTEL, FUN TIME, LOTS OF ENTERTAINMENT!!!

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: THE STAFF WAS FRIENDLY, GREAT ENTERTAINMENT AND AMENITIES.
Cons: ROOM UPDATING
Location: RESTAURANTS, BARS, BEACH......
WE HAD A FANTASTIC TIME. THE AMENITIES WERE GREAT!!!! TIKI BAR(OCEAN ANNIE'S) WAS SO MUCH FUN, THE BAR(SANDALS) WAS A GOOD TIME!! THE ROOM WAS GOOD, PRETTY TYPICAL FOR THE BEACH. THE ROOM COULD USE NEW MATTRESSES, AND THE TUB DRAINED SLOWLY. BUT OVERALL QUITE COMFORTABLE. I WOULD DEFINITELY GO BACK. IN MY OPINION IT IS MORE FOR ADULTS, I DON'T THINK IT'S A PLACE FOR KIDS. SINGLES AND COUPLES THAT WANT TO HAVE GOOD TIME, IT'S THE PLACE TO BE....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodbridge, VA

Nice hotel right on the beach and quite.

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Great location right on the beach with a good size indoor pool and hot tub. In-room safe needs to be updated though. Very reasonably priced. I would return to this resort.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Outdated, broken fixtures and roaches

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: View from outside the room
Cons: Complete update needed
Will never visit again nor book through Expedia. Use of booking agent left me up till 4am getting the run around.