Ratings based on 1,172 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mclean, VA

Nice hotel right next to the beach

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Nice and cozy room with ocean view. Right next to the ocean and the pier. Pool is also nice. Friendly staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice n close to the beach.

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Nice place, bars, restaurants in walking distance. Chair & umbrella rentals are pricey
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Great free parking.

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Location: Location was awesome. Many restaurants close by.
A 3 night stay in the hottest part of the summer. Easy beach access with nice showers for rinsing off after the beach. Access to the pier each day and a discount for umbrella and chair rental. Comfortable bed, good water pressure and plenty of hot water. We stayed on the top floor and the elevator was a little stuffy due to the hot weather. The hallway coming off the elevator was a little narrow and made it hard to get luggage carts on and off the elevators. The AC in the room was great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Great location. Lots of free parking

Posted Aug 19, 2016
We chose Surfside Beach Resort because of the high ratings on Expedia website. We were not disappointed! It was wonderful. We will definitely return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by l, Hotel Management
Dear Margaret, It is great to hear that you had a first class stay at Surfside Beach Resort! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and inform us about your recent stay. We are thrilled that you had a wonderful time while in the area and felt so highly of our gem of a hotel and our wonderful dedicated staff. We look forward to accommodating and serving you again on your next trip to the Surfside Beach area. Warm regards, Lori Posma AGM-Surfside Beach Resort 15 S. Ocean Blvd. Surfside Beach, SC 29575 843-238-4444
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Hotel is infested with roaches

Posted Aug 14, 2016
The hotel liked nice from the exterior and had a wonderful pool but the rooms are infested with roaches. The staff attempted to give us another room which also had roaches in it and thus was in another floor. Once we went outside in the evening their were flying roaches on the patio. We received a full refund and went to a new hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from indiana

Nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Nice hotel right on the beach. With in walking distance to many restaurants and bars. Got to have a River City burger if you stay. Free passes to the pier as well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close proximity to beach

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Stained carpet in hallway and room. Needs cleaning or replacing
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Housekeeping was very friendly....Real southern hospitality. The front desk staff was helpful. The hotel was in close proximity of the beach and good dining. I enjoyed my stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by lori, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, It is great to hear that you had a first class stay at Surfside Beach Resort! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and inform us about your recent stay. We are thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay with us and the real southern hospitality you received. We hope you enjoyed the new renovations, comments from you, our valued guest, are so important for us to continue to improve our product and services. We look forward to accommodating and serving you again on your next trip to the Surfside Beach area. Warm regards, Lori Posma AGM-Surfside Beach Resort 15 S. Ocean Blvd. Surfside Beach, SC 29575 843-238-4444
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MD

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: Pool.
Location: Bars closeby- I preferred the one across the street. Restaurants (on the pier and across the street).
Staff are excellent- so friendly. One of the Housekeeping staff even got my niece a bday present when we told her she was turning two. Rooms were renovated recently, as was the hotel and it is nice. Beach location is great. Several bars and restaurants to walk to. The only thing I was thrilled with is that the pool is really pretty small and if you are not traveling with children (I was) you will not be a fan of this pool. It looks decent sized in the hotel pics- IT'S NOT. It is so small and when you fill it with 30 kids, you will pretty much long for a drink which you won't find because there is no place to get one at the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2016 by lori, Hotel Management
Dear Kate, Comments from you, our valued guest, are so important for us to continue to improve our product and services. We take all comments seriously. We are pleased you enjoyed our recent renovations during your stay. We look forward to accommodating and serving you again on your next trip to the Surfside Beach area. Warm regards, Lori Posma AGM-Surfside Beach Resort 15 S. Ocean Blvd. Surfside Beach, SC 29575 843-238-4444
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Augusta, Ga.

Very good hotel on the beach.

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Good location, clean, good staff. Renovated in the last few years and looks up to date.
Cons: One note they do not have ocean front rooms, all rooms are ocean view.
Location: Good restaurants, bars within walking distance. Pier is next door you can fish. Beach has chairs and umbrella rentals, banana boat rides, parasailing.
We have been coming to Surfside Beach for years. This is a good family beach, not as crowded as Myrtle Beach. The Surfside Beach Resort has been our go to hotel most every time we go. I have never had a bad stay at this place (even when it was the Days Inn).