Ratings based on 1,212 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Haven, CT

nice hotel. walking distance to beach.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: I like the many different options but I didn't receive what I paid for.
Cons: I want what I paid for.
Location: plenty of things to do. many things in the area.
Nice hotel. Great value for my dollar. Driving to distance to the strip!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Statesville Nc

Very nice loved it will stay again

Posted Feb 5, 2017
It was beautiful. Staff are very nice rooms are gorgeous..everything you want and more for the money..will be staying again in future
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Expedia you tried us!

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Staff, Judy and Stevie breakfast was fair
Cons: Too many things to count
Location: Very close to attractions, easy to get around North side of Ocean Blvd.
Expedia didn't allow to make decision on stay knowing The Caravelle was going through MAJOR renovations. The hotel is 2/3 closed. Only bright spot was the staffers Judy and Stevie who operate the breakfast bar. Both were extremely nice, went out of their way and were attentive. The male clerk was adequate but one lady clerk placed us in the St. John's INN. Under NO circumstances should anyone be placed there, it looks like something out of a horror movie. Bottom line wait until May 17 to go to The Caravelle to avoid construction. If you go now, get placed in St. Clemmons the nicest part of the hotel block. We were in Caravelle Towers, had a small kitchen but really needed upgrades from the furniture to the full bed to the bathroom equipped with metal shower caddies. Well, Hotel Impossible would have a field day with this hotel as it speaks of hotels in general-most have seen their hey-days and have not upgraded with the times, 4 times over. BTW, we got into a shouting match with the materials handler on Monday morning around 10am. He would not allow us to pass, says he was just doing his job(shouting a mouth full of curse words). Oy ve.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Beverage machines didn't work.

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Hotel only has one beverage machine and it did not work. Had to walk down the beach and go to another location to get a drink. Very inconvenient. Not to mention the construction going on was very loud at 7am. Hammers banging. Workers yelling. Crane going up and down. Very loud at 7am.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

awesome hotel stay!

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
We were upgraded to the Carolina Dunes. We had 3 disabled adults with us. The staff was awesome with us needed daily linen. Ocean view and washer in the unit was awesome. I plan on going again. Only downside was the inside pool & hot tub were not working so we missed out on some swimming because weather was nippy! I would of liked screens in doors to deck so I could of slept with the doors open to listen to the ocean and enjoy the breeze.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
I was piut in a different building than the main building after I was shown to be in main building. The room they gave me had the dirtiest carpet that I have ever see and several spots on ceiling that had mold. No other rooms were left that were any better.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

HONESTY IS THE BEST POLICY

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
My stay at Cravelle was not disappointing but it could have been better. I was greeted by a very polite lady at the front desk by the name of Amber. Upon my arrival I was under the impression that I would be staying on the beach, however, the Cravelle have approximately four building on or near the beach; each with a different name and appearance from what I have previously view on the website. I felt a little deceived because I was under the impression that the tower was a part of the Cravelle building on the beach not behind a building that was on the beach. The room was clean but the tiles on the floor were loose mostly because of the grout that’s used to seal the flooring was coming apart. The room was smaller than what is shown on the website so don’t have big expectation about the pictures that are shown on the site. However, when making my reservation for this Hotel I requested a late check-out time but had to remind the receptionist about my request before it was approved. I would say that “HONESTY IS THE BEST POLICY”! If you are reading this review, please call the hotel and ask questions before and after you reserve your room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
I asked for Ocean view which a got but there was a building directly in front of mine which I asked to get switched to another room because I did not have a view of the beach in front of me. I got switched to another floor up and it was the exact same view. I was not happy with the view of a rooftop. Everything else was excellent . I wanted the balcony so I could sit out there and see the beach not set back with a building in front of me and looking down to see a rooftop and not the beach. Yes it was ocean view but nothing I expected it to be. Very disappointed in that.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
I have stayed here frequently because of the location. On the last full day of my stay I ran in to the housekeeper in the hall. She confirmed my room number and that she was responsible for the service. Returning to the room at 9 pm I found the room had not been cleaned or serviced. I talked to the manager on duty, Susan, who was very apologetic, and she sent someone up immediately. There are many other great hotels near the Caravelle, and I may choose another place for my next visit.