Ratings based on 1,152 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Outside area beautiful, inside not.

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: The view of the ocean is breathtaking. The pool area is clean and fun and a few steps from the ocean.
Cons: New chairs on balcony are needed. It would be nice if an extra charge for early check in or late check out but not 1 full day charge.
No accommodations are made for early check in or late check out unless full payment of 1 extra day - NO EXCEPTIONS! Not happy with front desk service at all. We had a group of 9 with 3 double rooms each with an ocean view. The ocean view was beautiful. The pool was clean and lovely. The chairs on the balcony are old and extremely uncomfortable. Our party was disbursed on 3 different floors. One of our rooms had to be moved because of bathtub overflow and leakage. My room had to call maintenance 3 times during a 6 day stay to unclog bathtub. No apologies were made. Housekeepers are wonderful but only have so much to work with. One of the most pleasant and hardworking employees we met was Karen, the bartender. However, after my sister witnessed Karen being publicly humiliated from a man "from corporate" for not measuring "the new way", we stopped going to the bar.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Don't stay here.

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Pros: The ocean view.
Cons: Needs major updates!!!!
Location: amusement park,waterpark and lots of souviner shops.
We felt very unwelcomed during our stay at westgate.This resort caters to the timeshare and owners only.A majority of the lobby/dining area is for gatherings interested in purshasing timeshare and owners.Plenty of food & drinks for everyone except guests!As a guest you have to walk a few blocks for food & drink and parking is across the street...not in the resort lot!As for the room,very outdated & the maids do a quick,cheap job on the cleaning!The handle on the toilet broke which was fixed fairly quickly and we also had bad leaks coming down onto our balcony from the air conditioning above and that was never fixed even after a few complaints!There is absolutely no night life at this resort...not even music by the pool during the day.There's alot of cutting corners at this resort and it shows!Stay at the coral beach resort down the block...night and day for same amount of money!Wish we would have know.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2015
I did get 2 ocean front rooms for me and my parents. Location is nice and view is gorgeous, however housekeeping is horrible - room are not being cleaned well, not at all. it took me 90 min to check in, front desk very pleasant but limitted staffing and very slow. I
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Great hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Great room, large oceanfront balcony, many swimming pool options, friendly staff, we will come back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Friendly staff, real close to the beach, ocean view villa was great (recommend getting the full kitchen, really nice!).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

West Gate Hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: Near to most activities. Centrally located. Directly across the street from a water park and an amusement park.
Cons: Everyday there was a towel shortage. You have to call 2-5 times and wait for clean towels. Parking on site was a challenge late-evenings.
Location: Malls, boardwalk, amusement parks, souvenir shops, dining all nearby.
Overall the stay was good. The staff were very accommodating. The view of the beach was a great bonus. The pools onsite were nice for kids and adults.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2015 by Westgate Resorts, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review of your most recent visit to the Westgate Myrtle Beach Resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed everything about your stay with us, from the view from your room to the service provided by our staff. It would be an honor to welcome you back again soon! Sincerely, Anja
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Great location, horrible room.

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Location was perfect. Hotel staff was great. Room wasn't vacuumed, curtains ripped, could use a lot of improvement.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2015 by Westgate Resorts, Hotel Management
We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review on the Westgate Myrtle Beach Resort. Please accept our apologies if for any reason the condition of your unit did not meet the normal Westgate standards. We will certainly be looking into this further. As always, it was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our scenic location and our terrific staff. Please come back to stay with us again soon! Sincerely, Anja
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Oceanfront hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2015
I had booked a oceanfront double for a couple days in the sun. When we checked in, we were upgraded to an oceanfront villa at no extra charge. The room was nice. It has a small kitchenette with all the amenities. The bedroom was bright and had an outside balcony overlooking the beach. We were taken to the room by Laquesha, a very nice young lady! She gave us lots of ideas on where to shop and eat. She was very personable and made us feel at home. The hotel has nice pools and a hot tub. We had one complaint about the trip. The hotel has an attached bar & restaurant. The restaurant was not crowded by any means but it took a while to get served and it took a really long time to get a simple burger and fries. Other than this, the trip was great!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Partial room cleaning

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Easy access to beach
Cons: Cleaning should be done everyday.
Full cleaning happens only after 4 days, which mean if your stay is less than 4 day then they will do the partial cleaning which includes only making beds. But the staff is nice, on request they did the full cleaning for me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2015 by Westgate Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you sharing your feedback with us. As a timeshare resort, our housekeeping schedule does run a little differently however we are happy to know that our staff was able to provide you with the cleaning that you requested. Daily cleaning does come at an additional fee at this location and payment is accepted at our front desk. We are happy to know that you were able to take advantage of the ease of access to the beach. We hope that you had a great time and look forward to your future return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mount Pleasant

Unpleasant

Posted Jul 26, 2015
All perks only apply to owners. Description of rooms are not what they describe on web. First and last visit. Overly priced standard rooms! Not even a microwave...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2015 by Westgate Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We certainly offer a variety of accommodations that include a microwave in your unit. You are more than welcome to visiting our lobby and using our microwaves for free. We hope that you can find a great deal in the future to visit us again soon