Ratings based on 664 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

UNSATISFIED!! POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!FOULSMELL

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Ocean Front
Cons: Customer Service(Front desk representative lied and said he offered things that he did not)!! Update Rooms. Hotel Odor.
Worst experience of my life !!!! Came here for a weekend stay and best decision I made was to check-out a few hours after checking in. Initially Annie checked me in and upgraded me due to it being my birthday weekend(she was lovely and had excellent customer service). When I got to the 6th floor it had a strong odor and well as the room. I had left the sliding door open for the room to air out while I ran some errands. When I returned the hallways smelled like marijuana and the room was still unbearable . I decided to go to the front desk and check-out and request immediate refund. The front desk attendant Quintain was rude and had poor customer service. He didn't inquire why we abruptly wanted too leave and when we informed him of the issues with the room he didn't even suggest a room change. After 25 mins of him "typing on his computer" he finally informed me he is unable to refund me due to it being an Expedia reservation. He instructed me to contact Expedia directly and he will inform them that I had checked out. Fast forward 30'mins I contacted Expedia to obtain my refund and this is when the nightmare continued-Expedia attempted to contact Quintain who continued to hang up on them. I contacted Hotel in the AM to inquire and was informed by front desk manager Jen that Quintain had wrote in his notes that he had offered us an upgrade but we refused to pay. THIS WAS A LIE!!!!! He didn't even inquire or stop us from leaving!! SPEND EXTRA MONEY AND STAY SOMEWHERE PLEASANT!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by Westgate Resorts, Hotel Management
Everything that we do is designed to deliver superior customer satisfaction and it appears we have failed you. We can only address problems if we are aware of how our interactions are affecting the customer experience. What you experienced is not acceptable and we are working to correct it. Every customer deserves seamless customer service delivered with enthusiasm, accuracy and kindness. We hope that the experience that you had with this particular team member will not keep you from staying with us again. Anja
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Hot water and water pressure

Posted Jan 30, 2017
The hot water took a while to come on and the water pressure was awful. The only good thing was it was next to the beach. I was charged a resort fee for the stay but never had a chance to experience any of the resort activities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by Westgate Resorts, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and sharing a review of your stay. We are glad to read that you enjoyed our prime location sitting here on the beach; however, it was unfortunate that you were unable to take advantage of the onsite amenities we offer. They are a lot of fun! We regret to hear that you experienced some issues with the water temperature and pressure in your unit. We trust you brought it to the attention of our front desk so that we could have our maintenance team look into it for you as soon as possible. We apologize for any inconvenience and do hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future. Anja
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SC

Unsatisfied

Posted Jan 16, 2017
The first room we checked into had a stopped up shower and I was scalded by the hot water due to the shower dail not being adhered to the shower knob therefore you wouldn't know what side was hot or cold. We where switched to another room that shortly after waking up the next morning we unfortunately noticed there was blood on the sheets blanket that didn't come from us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by Westgate Resorts, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Westgate Myrtle Beach Resort. We are sorry to hear about the challenges you had during your stay. The comfort of our guests is a top concern for us. The challenges you have described are being reviewed by our management teams, as they share a common interest to ensure that issues are corrected. We remain hopeful you will give us a second chance to serve you again. Anja
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Good time but time share pressure

Posted Dec 14, 2016
We had a good stay except all the pressure to attend a time share presentation, which we kept having to avoid.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by Westgate Resorts, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the Westgate Myrtle Beach Resort. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us. It was disheartening to read that you felt pressured by our sales team and rest assured your comments will be shared with the sales manager for this location. Once again, we are glad you enjoyed your stay otherwise and hope to welcome you back again soon! Anja
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Nice hotel close to beach, employees are nice also

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Tons of activities to do, right on the beach and a nice variety of pools
Cons: Room updates could be improved
Location: location was super convenient, the board walk was in walking distance. The restaurant connected was also very nice, ordered breakfast one morning
The employees where very nice and personable. Location on the beach which was nice, the location was convenient close to stores and food. The only thing not pleasing was the smell of the hall was bad, like garbage. Our room had a little smell to it also.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2016 by Westgate Resorts, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guests and providing a review of your stay. We are glad to read you enjoyed our location. Westgate Myrtle Beach is a fantastic oceanfront location, conveniently located near famous Myrtle Beach attractions. We do apologize for any issue with a smell and trust you brought it to the attention of our front desk so that we could look into it for you. We thank you again for sharing your review and hope to have you stay with us again soon! Anja
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Walk on the sand

Posted Nov 29, 2016
It took longer than I expected during check-in. Otherwise, the hotel is great because it is next to the beach/ocean. I would recommend it for friends due to its price
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2016 by Westgate Resorts, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review and recommendation. As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a happy guest. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Westgate Myrtle Beach Resort. Anja
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Place

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Do not stay here! The staff is rude and the rooms are infested with cockroaches! The hotel would do nothing about it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2016 by Westgate Resorts, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to communicate to us why your stay at the Westgate Myrtle Beach Resort did not meet your expectations. We regret to hear that you found unwanted visitors in your unit. We take all reports of pests seriously. Rest assured we have a pest control company that comes frequently for preventative treatment and again whenever pests are found inside the resort. We apologize for any inconvenience and do hope to have the opportunity to restore your confidence in us. Anja
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not friendly

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Pros: The price
Cons: Staff customer service
Hotel staff not friendly would never stay at this location and definitely not recommended it to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2016 by Westgate Resorts, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest. We do regret to hear of any issues you may have encountered whilst staying with us. Although we are uncertain of what the circumstances were at that time that may have caused this – we do apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused. We appreciate you choosing Westgate and hope to serve you again soon! Anja
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brown Summit, United States of America

Will not use Expedia again

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Comforter was dirty! Sheets terrible! Ocean front was ocean view! I will not book through Expedia because I was mislead that I booked an ocean front and it was not!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2016 by Westgate Resorts, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies that your suite was not clean when you arrived. Cleanliness is a priority and our housekeeping team is there to ensure that each unit is spotless and ready for our guest’s arrival. We will review this with our team, as we are always looking for areas in which to improve. We hope to have another chance at providing you with a wonderful stay! Anja
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Ocean Front

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: I Like That The Room Was Neat And Clean . Just A Nice Place To Stay
Cons: Spray For Bugs
Location: Myrtle Beach And I Could Go Eat , Go To The Ocean And Go Play Put Put
I Love My Hotel , They Were Friendly Nice And Respectful. But They Charged Me Twice And Didn't Pay Me My Money Back . The Room Were Very Nice And Beauitful But I Woke Up In The Middle Of Night And Found Little Baby Roaches In The Bathroom Running Around But Other Then That VERY NICE
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2016 by Westgate Resorts, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for letting us know what parts of your stay and our property were to your liking and of course, not to your liking. Feedback like this helps us to identify areas in which we could improve to make future guests stays all that much better. We appreciate your help in this manner and hope to see you again soon! Anja