Ratings based on 640 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2016
The hotel was nice but in the middle of the night I wanted to take a shower and it was no hot water and the guy at the front desk wasn't pleasant when I told him. He was actually nonchalant about it. But when the manager came in at 8am she fixed the problem but we were already checking out. So she gave us free breakfast at the hotel restaurant. Otherwise the hotel was nice
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Most considerate staff

Posted Sep 26, 2016
I truly hope the property owner values these people, I do. Thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by Westgate Resorts, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words! We are pleased to know you found our staff was exceptional. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our area. Anja
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Don't Do It!!!

Posted Sep 26, 2016
This hotel is so obsessed with selling their timeshares that the guests who come for a visit are totally dismissed. What once used to be the hotel restaurant is now their corporate center for signing up suckers for a timeshare. What they proclaim to be a one hour tour is more like a three hour tour and only those people are entitled to a free breakfast buffet. If you are a paying guest at the hotel, you are not entitled to a beach chair and umbrella unless you pay $28 a day, this is ONLY for timeshare owners. Although the hotel has two elevators, there was only one working one so the average wait for an elevator was 3-5 minutes. A huge palmetto bug was found in our room which totally creeped me out however they were nice enough to send up an exterminator. They advertise a Tiki Bar but because the weather was "cloudy" for four days, the bar never opened!! The list goes on and on and talking to other guests in the hotel, they were as unhappy and dissatisfied as our final visit there!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run. Run away

Posted Sep 25, 2016
After 2 room upgrades and an additional 800.00 we were finally able to get a room (villa) we would feel ok with sleeping in. The staff was friendly but the accommodation are old and run down, the pools were filthy. Don't try and save a buck to stay here, in the end its not worth it. Oh and if you don't pay for a villa you can't use the packing lot, you have to park 2 blocks down the street.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sterling Heights, MI

Close to the beach

Posted Sep 24, 2016
We had a great vacation. Did everything ee gad planned
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H.

Close to beach

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Our room was beautiful, stayed in a deluxe villa. We were very close to the beach. We had an ocean view, can see the ocean and attractions. The staff was awesome and friendly. Our getaway was amazing. To the point westgate resort will be the place for us when we want to have our romantic getaway.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Very Clean
I would especially like to thank Jane (Manager) for her exceptional hospitality. I was on my 28th wedding anniversary and had the best time ever. Look forward to returning real soon. Thanks Westgate
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude staff not helpful to tourist questions at all

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Very rude customer service . Will not recommend to anyone to stay and my family will not stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MD

Great Babymoon Getaway

Posted Sep 13, 2016
We drove down from Maryland for a few days to getaway prior to our first child. The staff was great, and even though they had timeshare things everywhere, no one was pushy. I really appreciated not being hounded as I have been in the past. Resort it great, literally right off the beach. The food you can order directly to your room is cheaper than most and the location is close to everything in south Myrtle.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2016 by Westgate Resorts, Hotel Management
We thank you for visiting the Westgate Myrtle Beach Resort, as well as for taking the time to share your experience in this review. It is very much appreciated and at the same time very helpful for future guests. Coupling exemplary service with praiseworthy facilities is all part of our mission to provide you, our guest, with an excellent vacation. We are thrilled you had a great stay and look forward to your return. Anja
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price!

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Very old hotel and outdated hotel. It's not worth the money they charge at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2016 by westgate_customercare , Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. We are disappointed to see that you may have encountered some issues with your recent stay. Please be advised that we are currently working hard to update our resort, for the utmost comfort of our guests. We would always be happy to provide one of our already updated units, as long as our availability permits. It is our sincere hope that our resort staff was alerted to any possible issues that you may have experienced. We would be honored if you permitted us another opportunity to better impress you in the future. Nat