Ratings based on 1,964 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisville

Only care about the people taking the tours

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: The concierge staff were very helpful and courteous
Cons: I chose this hotel over every other in Myrtle beach - maybe focus on the customers that pick you rather than the ones you have to lure in.
Location: Amusement Park, Water Park, walking distance to shopping & Ripleys
I flew in &when my daughter and I first arrived I was excited however things went downhill FAST!! It was clear they only catered to those coming for the tours of time shares. They don't have a restaurant onsite but when I saw they were serving breakfast I asked how to pay and was told breakfast is ONLY for those taking the tours. The ONE time I left my purse out of the safe I had $100 taken out of my room - granted I should have locked it up & the security staff was great filing the incident report. Obviously not their first one. While at the pool the bartender refused to sell me a bottle of water (I don't drink) with a tip in my hand - she told me I could use the jug if I wanted water. I am supposedly a VIP Expedia member &was supposed to receive 2 complimentary drinks at the hotel. Remember, no restaurant onsite. I asked for a late check out because my flight didn't leave until 6pm & they couldn't do that but would allow us to stay until 11am complimentary, normally $75 (WHAT?!?) Even then they still deactivated my keys at 10am and my daughter and I got locked out. You can use the facilities while waiting to check in but you cannot take their towels to the beach. Be sure to pack your own beach towels if you fly in. This place is a joke!! I will not recommend to anyone not will I ever go back and stay in this hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Honeymoon

Posted Jun 30, 2017
After looking at all the hotels in the area this was my choice for our honeymoon. The location are perfect, the staff very friendly. I did it know this hotel/resort was part of a time share. It won't have changed our staying there. Tammy was a delight, sorry we didn't meet on Wednesday. Things we didn't like. In tower 1 the elevators...scary, the hallways to the rooms were not cooled...rather warm, the hot tub...I like hot tubs but something about this ones just made me, ugh. Otherwise a very nice hotel/resort. 3.5
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Castle, Delaware

Never Again

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Convenient location is not offset by the rest of the Westgate experience. In short: smelly and dirty, unhelpful and rude. When you arrive, you'll be charged a surprise, mandatory resort fee. For it, I got a "Resort Amenities Card," with a list of the amenities I got access to: an in-room safe, local calls, the kiddie pool (excuse me, "kids water park"), wifi, and pool towels. Sorry, but these are not perks. Then the wifi wouldn't connect and the front desk told us to call tech support, which couldn't help after 1/2 hour on the phone. And the pool towels? None. I went to the front desk three times to ask for some (after checking at the multiple pools down the length of three or four Westgate buildings), and they said that they'd send someone out. About 20 wet minutes later, a guy emptying the trash cans stops, asks me if I'm the one looking for towels (looking so much, evidently, that other guests were asking me for towels), and tells me that, "there aren't any towels; they're in the laundry." They call this a Resort! BTW, it's a timeshare operation, so be forewarned. The room was filthy and smelled like a gym locker. Dust and mildew were everywhere. When I have my initial poor Expedia score in the app, I quickly got an email from Westgate asking me to contact the desk about my complaints. Coincidentally, this email came about an hour after I was at that same front desk, being told that her manager wasn't there to help, despite its being check-out time. STAY AWAY.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Director of Ecomm Sales, Hotel Management
Thank you for your detailed feedback! Both of your reviews have been provided to the new General Manager of the resort and he is addressing each item directly with his staff. We sincerely apologize for all of the trouble you incurred during your stay with us, as this is not acceptable at Westgate. We have already refunded the entire resort fee to your AX credit card on file in the amount of $33.58 this morning. We greatly hope that you will give us a second chance in the future at any of our other 22 Westgate Resorts!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Good location

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Right next to a water park and across the street from the amusement park. Efficiency rooms are outdated but rumor is that will be torn down and another large tower will be built. Housekeeping staff was quite loud chatting in the hallway in the mornings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel near the beach

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Evereything
Cons: Nothing
Totally enjoyed the hotel stay and all the amenties. We definitely the fact that it was close to the beach. Enjoyed this stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Westgate Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your excellent stay experience at the Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort. We do look forward to your visit the next time your travels take you to the Myrtle Beach area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Great View, but rooms need updating!!

Posted May 29, 2017
Pictures we're not what you find in person. Everything looked run down, and needed attention asap. As soon as you walk in you smell a horrible smell. They could do better with the cleanliness. Seems more a motel then a 'resort'. Plus side was the balcony with the view. Although I wouldn't come here again. There is plenty of more options on the strip. The price I paid was ridiculous for what it was.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Westgate Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! We strive to make your vacation a memorable one. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay, but we regret that you had some issues throughout your stay. We would highly suggest staying with us again so we can exceed all of your expectations. Nicole
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach

Posted May 29, 2017
Eye sore of an unfinished garage, that we found out has been like that for years. Rooms need to be updated
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2017 by Westgate Customer Care, Hotel Management
Please accept our most sincere apologies for the circumstances you encountered during your recent visit to Myrtle Beach. We take pride in our service and strive to reach perfection so your experience was certainly the exception and not normal. We certainly appreciate the feedback as it is most important to us and helps us to ensure future stays are more comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean

Posted May 29, 2017
I had an overall great girls weekend get away. The room was clean but could use a couple of updates.. the staff was very helpful. I would give it 7 out of 10 stars..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Westgate Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your excellent stay experience at the Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort. We are thrilled to learn that you thought our rooms were clean and the staff helpful, during your weekend getaway. We do look forward to your visit the next time your travels take you to the Myrtle Beach area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was very close to the beach

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Everything was enjoyed about this hotel.
Cons: Nothng
Enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Everything was super and I will definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Westgate Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share information about your recent stay experience with us. We are pleased you have discovered the Westgate Myrtle Beach Resort. We offer the perfect place to stay for visiting the beach or any of the other fun local attractions. It was great to read that you enjoyed everything about our resort. We look forward to your next visit!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2017
Cons: This facility need to be re-modeled inside and out.
We had stayed at this facility about 4 yrs ago ago and found it to be very nice. close to most anything that you would want to do. We had requested a villa and was in the newer building and was nice, clean and comfortable. This time we were given a room in the older part where you checking in. The room was so small that you could hardley get the luggage cart in the door, there was a very strong odor in the room that was almost unbearable. The drapes had stains as if someone had been sick on them. The bathroom was very small and outdated and the fixtures were rusted and had pink mold on them.The second day we had to purchase Frebreze room deodorizer to be able to tolerate the smell. We tried to up date but was told that because we had booked through a travel co. that they could not do very much. They did tell us we could pay additional $75 per night and get another room which would have made our stay more expensive than a higher quality hotel. We have stayed at Westgate in other states and never had this kind of experience. This location needs a major re-model . w