Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Disappointing.

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Wanted just short getaway but a little disappointed with the hotel. The staff was accommodating but there were a few issues with the hotel. The furniture was dated; the bathroom door was skewed and produced a gap; the pool was questionable (my husband usually likes to swim but he refrained for fear of getting an ear infection); I used the gym once and there were tissues all over and the garbage spilled over in the bathroom; I saw a used Band-Aid in the elevator floor--disgusting ! And the icing was.... on the day we were checking out; we saw a ?maggot (alive) on the foot of our bed...good God ; I hope it hadn't been our bedmate while we were there. We took a picture of it and showed it to the front desk; they just apologized and kind of shrugged their shoulders...Oh well..... oh well; won't be staying there again. Sorry they carry the Best Western name, we have stayed at other better/cleaner/well maintained facilities ....there's always a rotten apple in a bunch.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 19, 2016
The hotel is ok. The staff is nice, but... they get everything wrong. You call them to confirm your stay, they cancel it (by accident); you call them to adjust something, they do, but the price gets changed to a different rate; you asked them to re-activate your cards to finish getting your stuff from te room at the check out, they think you're checking out; etc. Or, and their restaurant - quite terrible! And they also get everything wrong - like the orders for a big party.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brownsburg, IN

Christmas in Conn.

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: Everything was just fine
Location: See above
We checked out some other hotels in the area, in particular those near Mohegan Sun and found the prices for this Best Western were much more reasonable and had breakfast, free wifi, work out room and pool. It is still only about 20-25 minutes to either casino. We were primarily there for family visiting and this BW in Groton was conveniently located between all my relative's homes. It is easy off and easy on to I-95 and near the US Sub Base. We would definitely stay there in the future.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by kenneth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Nice hotel close to Naval Sub Base

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Pros: Proximity to our destination and the staff was great.
Cons: Towels should be provided in the pool/hot tub area. Please change the bed pillows to something more comfortable!
Location: Close to Naval Sub Base, USS Nautilus and the submarine museum, short drive to Mystic.
We booked two rooms for a one night stay to visit our sailor at the Naval Sub Base in Groton. The staff that we dealt with very pleasant and helpful. Our rooms were clean, well maintained and, for the most part, comfortable. Although they looked nice on the made bed, the small, square bed pillows were not great for sleeping. The kids used the pool and hot tub and completely enjoyed them. The only downside was that they had to take towels from the rooms to use at the pool. Overall, we were pleased with our stay and would definitely stay again.
2 out of 5
by Scott

Not Clean Hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
The room was not clean and my daughter (10 month old) seems to have caught something from the pack-and-play that was provided. Spiked a fever a few days later. They do have routers in the rooms and free breakfast.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by David from Boston

Meh

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
This was just a hotel for us to visit local casinos and area. It was a simple hotel, needing some updating, but good for just a night like we used it for. The rooms smelt like smoke, and the facilities are a bit run down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waterbury

Close to Foxwoods

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Great Value, breakfast was very good. the staff was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would stay again

Posted Oct 25, 2015
The staff were very efficient & pleasant upon check in. The room was clean & comfortable although the bathroom area was a bit dated but, nothing to complain about. Only complaint was, the walls were very thin & I could hear the conversations in the room next to me. Like they were in my room instead of next door
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Nice stay and pool area, Room was clean and comfortable,