Ratings based on 512 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: The staff was awesome.
Cons: There lots they can improve.
Location: Mystic seaport, Ferry rides from downtown New London also Navy submarine museum.
Very pleasant staff everyone was helpful and very polite. The location of hotel was perfect close to the thruway and the shopping mall right up the street from the hotel was great. Was a little disappointed with the hotel had that old smell as soon as you walk in. The breakfast was horrible I stuck with the yogurt and fresh fruit. I also didn't like that they had a sign in bathroom suggesting you use your towels more then once. Yuk! Also a few spider in the room one crawling in the bed. Pool did not look to inviting. I would not stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New London

Weekend getaway

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: Idea location for the beach and casinos
Cons: The fridge/microwave would have been useful in the room.
Location: This location was close to stores, the beach and casinos.
Our stay there was fine, the staff was friendly. The location of the hotel was near stores, both casinos as well as the beach. Perfect spot for a weekend getaway!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel okay but not top notch

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pool was closed, fridge broke,hard to plug in microwave,water in bathroom,old tv..for the most part was clean though
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sturbridge, MA

Costal visit

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: The hotel is conveniently located. All major roads and attractions can easily be reached. Easy access on and off the main road. Room was quiet.
Cons: Breakfast could be improved by having staff keep up on supply as needed. Running out of items and waiting to re-supply was a negative.
Location: Location is excellant. Ocean Beach Park, Mystic, Sub Base., Shopping, Outback steak house next door a big plus
Checked in on a Monday and checked out on Friday. Spent most of the time at Ocean Beach Park. One day in Mystic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2015 by Michael Casey, Hotel Management
We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. I am currently in the process of locating a new food vendor for our breakfast supplies as well as implementing new training techniques with our breakfast staff. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Kind Regards, Michael Casey General manager Clarion Inn, New London 860-442-0631
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waterbury, CT

convenient to shopping and seaport activities

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Location: Weekend activities at the seaport. We went for the food truck festival. Good time.
Overall good experience. Disappointed that we did not know the pool was being renovated. Clean , Comfy bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2015 by Michael Casey, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience on your recent trip to our hotel. I do apologize for the closure of our pool, however we are under new ownership and management and renovating our pool was our first priority in order to offer our guests in the future a more enjoyable experience. Michael Casey General Manager
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2015 by Michael Casey, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience on your recent trip to our hotel. I do apologize for the closure of our pool, however we are under new ownership and management and renovating our pool was our first priority in order to offer our guests in the future a more enjoyable experience. Michael Casey General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Disappointing

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Pool advertised was closed for renovations. Room smelled musty. Bathroom was not very clean. Flat screen advertised was an old box tv with poor picture and sound. Night checkin staff was friendly and helpful but a.m./ checkout staff was standoffish.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Good Price Bad Service.

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: Price
Cons: Room service
My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 days and 4 nights. The room looked decent with seemingly updated furniture. It had a really old beat-up mini-fridge and microwave but that wasn't a problem just a minor eyesore. More importantly, room service never came by to make the bed or replace any of the towels/soap/etc... When we asked them to at least replace the towels (the first time) they left them on the floor outside the room. The second time we asked for towels, since room service didn't come by again, they just handed them to us instead of bringing them to the room. So by the end of our stay we had a pile of towels in the bathroom. The tub also had a slimy mildew around it as though it hadn't been cleaned in a while. What a mess. Would not stay again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Bad Hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: Not much
Cons: renovations and staff retraining
Location: Location was fine it was near the things we wanted to see. Mystic Seaport, Aquarium and the submarine base in Groton.
Hotel is in dire need of renovations. Pool was unavailable (one of the reasons I chose this hotel was the pool). Took an hour to check in due to the hotel's computer system. The room was in need of updates and second day the room was not cleaned. Had to get new rooms keys twice because they stopped working.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, comfortable room

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Took a bit longer to check-in than usual because no one was at the desk for a few minutes. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. It had a old style TV, but it got lots of channels. The breakfast was not good. There were no plates, coffee, and other items. The toaster was not plugged in and was generally not clean looking. We opted to skip the free breakfast.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ellington, CT

Zero star rating

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Disgusting. 1st room was filthy second we were moved to was worse. Do not book this hotel!