Ratings based on 923 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Handy for the Village

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Cons: Checking cleanliness of room and bedding before allowing the room to be used.
Location: Mystic seaport, Mystic village
Disappointed to find untreated bloodstains on the quilt when we left and didn't feel the carpet was as clean as it might have been. Handy for I-95 and sights of Mystic. Parking was good. Breakfast was good. Nice to be able to help yourself. A kettle to BOIL water for tea would have been much appreciated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from long island new york

Could be much better

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Thought it was going to good but overall I was disappointed. Staff was all very nice but two gripes made it bad. 1. We stayed two nights and after the first night we headed out early and came back late but our room was never cleaned or even looked at. It needed it bad too with garbage overflowing all used towels etc. 2. Air conditioning wasn't adjustable though it appeared it should be. Whatever we set it too it was reset to 72 degrees so we would have to unplug the unit to warm up the room (72 degrees is too cold for us)! 3. As for breakfast. Dining is way undersized for hotel even with an extra conference room there was not enough seating. Coffee horrible and caps not right size for cups so I spilt it on myself. Pool was nice and again staff was very friendly. Oh housekeeping asked if we wanted our room cleaned as we were about to checkout so maybe they just had their cleaning schedule messed up. Also paint is pealing off the outside of the building , not very attractive. So I would stay somewhere else next time though it appears most hotels in area are 2 stars so I worry the others aren't much better.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Clean rooms but unresponsive front desk.

Posted Aug 20, 2015
I accidentally booked a smoking room. When I asked at the front desk if there was a non-smoking room available they said no before I was finished with the sentence. Two minutes later I overheard him giving somebody a non-smoking room Who did not book in advance. Plus there seemed to be many rooms available. Also, I had asked for them to check very noisy air conditioning unit in my room. He said he would send somebody up immediately to check it. I'm pretty sure nobody ever came to my room to check.Plus I overheard two different guests complain that nobody came to their room as well to check on something they had reported. The overall room cleanliness was quite good but other areas of the Hotel were not so clean, plus as I said the staff seemed to be into giving a runaround.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mass.

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Nope. Smoke filled hallways. Staff is unacceptable. Key didn't work in am. Whatever.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall not bad.

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: Convenience and centrally located. Rooms were nice to stay.
Cons: Their amenities need replacement. The microwave could not be exchanged for a working one due to lack of a replacement available.
Location: Close to highway exit. Mystic Aquarium and Pequot Museum, Mystic Seaport along with Foxwood Casino are within a reasonable traveling distance. Area is
Not a bad place to stay. More attention should be paid to bathroom supplies and condition/ usability of amenities (microwave not functioning properly). Staff was courteous.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Room Not Ready

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Location: Very close to Mystic Seaport
I don't expect that much from a Comfort Inn, so I try not to be too judgmental. However, after 8 hours of driving, we arrived at 5:30 p.m. on a Saturday evening to find that our room was not ready! Several other groups also were waiting around for rooms. Check-in is listed as 3:00 p.m. It's a basic requirement for a reputable hotel to have the rooms ready, no matter how full you are. Comfort Inn Mystic did not meet that test. Other than that, a few problems...my sink was backed up and the air conditioner switched to HEAT when I raised the thermostat from 66 to 69. My companion's room did not have a working telephone. Beds were fine and the place was clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Updating needed badly

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Hotel is old. Inside needs a complete redoing. Desk staff was good. Breakfast and pool seemed to be an afterthought. Smoking rooms overpowered non smoking, although rooms marked non were used as smoking. (At least it smelled like it). Air conditioning worked great. Location good. Other people complaining about rooms. Won't stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very close to the aquarium, great location

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Upon arriving at the hotel with a friend, even though the hotel was sold out the front desk clerk put our rooms close together which was a nice gesture. Apparently my room had ust been cleaned by housekeeping, who's sprays the room with a hefty dose of Febreze when they finish cleaning. Upon arriving at the room, I couldn't even breathe, and my throat was extremely sore( I have certain sensitivities to smell though never have had an issue at a hotel) I had to leave the room for some air. After explaining to the housekeeping staff, it became clear that they were not going to help me, The woman was rather rude actually, I called the front desk staff and left to sit in the hallway away from the room. The front desk staff did not take care of the issue either, propping the window open, the use of a fan might have worked, but I did not hear from them even though I was sitting right there. I did however end up finding the manager who changed my room out for one that hadn't been sprayed recently and did not have any further issue. There are far more people who have chemical sensitivities in this world than I, perhaps this hotel should consider other ways to make their rooms smell fresh such as opening windows? The Febreze smell was in your nose etc, it was so strong you could taste it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Nice hotel close to everything I wanted to see

Posted Aug 13, 2015
nice place , the front end people where great,Wallace and the front end people where very professional
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

A big disappointment

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: bike rental.
Cons: think about your guests needs and requests
Location: minutes away from Mystic Aquarium. We actually rode the bikes to the seaport
I tried to check in alittle early and got told no. I was ok with that however the front desk clerk told me the rooms I was getting and that I had a refrig and micro that I requested in the king. That was great! I reserved a king with a sleeper sofa and a connecting dbl.non smoking when I went to check in at 530pm. the room I was told I had the only connecting rm was given to someone else that did not req. a dbl connecter. Then I was told oh don't worry it diagonal from the other. Not...It was down the hall and smoking! We are sorry nothing we can do! Then in the morning for breakfast! No plates any where in the hotel! very little food! The umbrella at the pool was broken! The grass at the pool hasn't been mowed in what appears to be a month! the next day they did put me in the room that was connecting to my children!