Ratings based on 1,306 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well worth the price

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Nice. Clean room. Front desk person was very kind and helpful. Glad to see there was coffee & an iron/ironing board in the room. The light over the vanity didn't work but I assume that the bulb was out.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from f

Criminals

Posted Feb 27, 2017
"I don't know what to tell you, myvscreen says I must collect from the customer" even though I paid through Expedia. Dirty criminal tried to double charge me, a nice lady (who had been staying there a month) confirmed this was common practice for this hotel. My friends in law enforcement informed me that they get called there a lot. Please stay away from this place folks, I only went because I have very little money and I'm military so I'm not really afraid of some loser gangbangers but this is no place for a family to be.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: I like that this hotel is located off the highway but it set back from the road, so it is actually very quiet!
Location: Shopping, the Mystic Aquarium, Old Mystic Village. Mystic Seaport
I have stayed at this hotel a few times now and I have never had any complaints about the service or my room prior to this visit. Before the rooms were always clean, smelled clean and everything worked well. This is visit I was disappointed, upon my arrival for check in (my reservation was for two nights) the clerk checked me in and asked me to swipe my credit card, and I had to point out it was charging me for one night and I was staying for two. The clerk seemed flustered that I pointed out the error. When I got to my room it smelled like wet dog and cigarette smoke. I know that pets are allowed to stay in the hotel, and I don't have an issue with that, but you should have means to properly clean and air out the room to rid it of the smell. The AC was extremely loud and when I was running it to help air out the room it also smelled musty for the first half of my stay so that did not help the smell in the room. As I said at the beginning I have stayed at this hotel two other times prior and my rooms each of those visits was wonderful, which is why I kept returning. I won't let this last visit prevent me from giving them one more chance, but it is my hope that my next trip resembles my first two visits and not my last one.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Decent pet friendly hotel

Posted Feb 14, 2017
This is a decent hotel for the price and the convenient location. I brought my dog with me which was nice as there is no fee for that. The room itself was kind of small and somewhat close to the picture. The heat took a while to kick on which could have been weather related. Not bad for quality and price. A step above Holiday Inn that's for sure.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Haverhill, MA

Never again

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: The check-in was fine. Very friendly staff
Cons: I don't know. Seems like a place that the homeless stay at
Location: The distance from Mohegan Sun, as listed on the website was wrong. They must have measured "as the crow flies".
I requested the 2nd floor as the rooms open into the parking lot. Upon returning to our room that night (around 9:00) there was a very large woman in sweatpants and a hooded sweatshirt sitting on the stairs. I was a looking for another set of stairs, but she got up and moved. The next thing we heard was yelling and screaming laced with profanity. The person on the stairs was being yelled at by a man about her leaving the room and he kept screaming. We are not used to this type of clientele in places we have stayed before.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location and Affordable

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: location, good size room
Cons: the one thing i didnt like was the room smell, it smelled like the classic hotel smoker room
Location: quick drive to mohegan
I booked this hotel for one night because i was going to Mohegan sun and literally just needed a place to sleep. the room was clean, nothing fancy but thats what i was looking for. staff at front desk was nice, no issues, had a great sleep and went on my way. this location is about a 20 min drive or so to Mohegan and i was fine with that. their wifi wasnt working in my room but i didnt really need it or else i would have called them to see what was up. they had bath soap to use which is always nice. i would come back again to save money and stay a night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will not stay there again!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
The room smelt horrible, even after we got home and were unpacking, our luggage still smelt like the room. There was a party in one of the rooms across the way in the other building. They were up partying until about 4am. We slept about 2 hours. Very loud area, and we could hear a person in high heels walking back and forth above us around 3am. The young girl at the counter on the night shift was incredibly unfriendly. Very poor experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Perfect for the price! Quite area. 15 min from Mohegan Sun.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2017
I've stayed at Red Roof Inns before. This one was still in need of a renovation. Room was not that clean. Heaters made too much noise that made it difficult to sleep.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never Again

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: appearance, upkeep, and if you offer free Wi-Fi make sure it works. couldn't hold a phone call.
Location: not much, very boring
No Wi-Fi at all. floors were scratched all over. room looks nothing like what's advertised. the bathroom. was in terrible condition and very small. holes in wall. staff was polite, but my stay and the conditions of the hotel were terrible