Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

no frills, serves the purpose

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: VERY large rooms. Also nice to have the small window at the back of the room facing the woods. Refrigerator & microwave good to have.
Cons: Could use new carpets & fresh coat of paint, and add some grab bars in the bathroom. Also should provide 4 pillows per bed instead of only 2 per bed.
Location: Convenient to I-95, casinos, & Mystic tourist attractions.
Rodeway Groton seems to be a small, family run franchise rather than corporate owned. Front desk staff seemed genuinely friendly, although my wife felt that it was a little exaggerated. It is an old style 2-story motel with outdoor "hallways" and stairs (no elevator). Rooms are VERY large. In our room the walls & carpet were a little scuffed/ beat up, but overall fairly clean & in good repair. Furniture is more modern & in good condition. Bathroom is very basic, no frills, but recently renovated & in good condition. Could have used another grab bar in the shower, and a larger vanity top would have been helpful. Our heater/ac unit was not functioning properly and was very noisy. We reported it upon checkout & were thanked for our feedback. We booked through Expedia and check-in & check-out were very easy. Price was very reasonable, and I felt this place was cleaner & in better condition than other no-frills hotels we have stayed at, including a recent visit to a nearby Sheraton, which was more expensive & very run down. We were arriving late at night and only needed a clean place to sleep & shower before continuing on our way, and the Rodeway Groton served that purpose just fine. We would probably stay there again under the same circumstances.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very comfortable and staff was pleasant to meet!!

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Enjoyed the stay, conveiant to stores and food. Hotel has no accommodation for continental breakfast only coffee and juice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Rugs and tub
Location: Little shopping
Hair and urine on toilet rugs dirty and lots of stains and for a non smoking room it smelled like a smoking room
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We take your response seriously and will put an extra focus on the issues you raised. Again, thank you for giving us your feedback and we hope you give us another opportunity in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reserved non-smoking and got smoking

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Expedia changed my reservation from non smoking to smoking. No other room was available so we were stuck. The room reeked of cigarette smoke. We were very displeased.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Sorry for change in reservation as we try our very best to accommodate our guest even when 3rd party websites makes an error in allocating reservations in our system. We hope you give us another opportunity in the future as we have been trying to improve our property aggressively with brand new furniture and carpet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Groton, CT

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Room smelled bad. Tub wouldn't hold water. Caulking was moldy. Tub wall had cracked in it. TV was fuzzy. Very noisy until 1am.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you can afford a better nights stay, go for it.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Good location to highway and reasonable driving distance to Mohegan Sun.
Cons: The entire facility needs to be made over. It comes down to economics and who you are trying to attract for customers.
Location: Mohegan Sun.
I am a value oriented traveler. I have stayed at facilities whose condition is substantially better for $41/night. Thought I will agree its rare and I got what I paid for. In fairness to the facility, it looks like I accidently errored by electing a smoking room. However, with that being said the room was extremley disappointing. Cracked door frames. Tobacco stains on bathroom door frame. Finger prints on bathroom door. Sticky rug. Wet spot on rug that got my socks wet. It got to the point i did not want to put my feet on the rug. Soft bed. Small pillows. Hair in bathroom drain that shows itself when you turn the water on. Poor directions into the parking lot. Everybody seems to go into the vacant parking lot and have to turn around. How the facility got a 3 customer rating is beyond me. I guess its what you compare it to in that price range. Sorry to be hard on the facility but a clean facility inside and out is an attitude issue and an approach. This facility just chooses to be a minimalist.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from groton,ct

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Location was horrible. Room had a very grose stench and staff did nothing about it. I would avoid this location at all cost.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I will not recommend this hotel.

Posted Jul 12, 2016
I really had a bad experience with one of the old lady staff there. She is so rude and talking to the customer and eating lunch at the same time. I asked for help about the laundry because someone's clothes been at the dryer for 4 hours and I need to use it because I'm leaving soon and her reply was she don't care because she don't want to be yelled up by the owner. My point is she can say it nicely but she acts like I'm not a gu st in that hotel and I'm asking nicely.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Priced well for convenience

Posted Feb 15, 2016
Staff friendly, room clean, property maintained for winter weather, room large in size, updated large flat screen tv. Would have appreciated more than 2 bath towels in room and warmer bedding. Quick drive to Mohegan Sun. Microwave and mini refrigerator were great. Great price for a safe place to sleep. I would stay again. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Groton, CT

Great price!

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: Location and cost.
Cons: Needs a little paint and the shower fixtures need to be cleaned from behind.
Location: Bowling alley, restaurant and highway right there.
I got what I paid for. Room was clean, the staff was friendly and the location is excellent.