Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Very clean

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Clean, close to everything., Room is small, but has tv, full bath, and fridge. Only stayed one night, but good for the price
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Middletown, CT

Posted Oct 18, 2015
The stay was comfortable. Only real complaint was that I couldn't control TV volume nor change channels with the provided TV remote. And honestly for the same price paid (with a corporate rate) at extended stay America I could also get "grab 'n go" breakfast.............
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Quaint and nice.

Posted Oct 12, 2015
This place has an older family owned vibe. Very quaint and was just what we needed at a reasonable price. Definitely would go back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away! This place is horrible

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
I read the negative reviews and should have listened. I only needed a room to sleep on a fishing trip so I thought it wouldn't be that bad. This place is horrible. The room smelled like something died, although it was nonsmoking, smoke poured in from the neighboring rooms, there were rats in the ceilings running around all night and bugs. I was kept awake from the drunk underage neighbors all night. They were asked by the motel employee to leave and didn't. It got to the point where I had to call the police. I got no sleep and requested a refund. They refused. This was indeed the worst place I have ever stayed. Don't even consider it!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Tony G. from New York

Very poor

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
Very poor, small room in bad condition, couldn't get the bathroom door to close. Would not recommend it. I would not stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2015
We just stayed one quick night. Nothing special but it was comfortable enough and clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

late summer stay

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Pros: Clean,had a fridge.
Cons: Outdated.
Location: Location is great.Close to beaches
Clean,cheap room.Outdated but was fine.Friendly owners.If your looking for a place to just rest your head you should consider The Sand Dollar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice motel beautiful view

Posted Sep 25, 2015
Just a place to sleep and shower. You get a little less tha. What you pay for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Great, accommodating staff.

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Clean room with helpful staff
Location: misquamicut very near without the crazy price of some of the hotels on the sand
Nice little spot less than ten minutes drive from misquamicut. Very modest, to the point, little rooms. Lost the key late at night and staff went out of their way to help me out. Then made it very easy for me to replace. only five dollars for a permanent key with an attachment. make sure you ask for chris if you use the local taxi. Great guy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ma

"Heartbreak Hotel"

Posted Sep 18, 2015
Pros: The Manager, Roberta, who was filling in for the owner's did her best for us, although she had been left in a very difficult position.
Cons: Just about everything including the character and demeanor of the owners.
Location: Stayed at the Sand Dollar for a special event. Never again!!
I wouldn't have a healthy rat stay in this place. The room was filthy with fruit flies everywhere. The refrig was broken. The fold-out was broken. The knobs on one of the closets were broken, and the other closet had no door. The shower handle fell off, and the door locks did not work properly. No continental breakfast the 2nd day although advertised. The owner was rude and condescending. The proprietors appear to have "price gouged" because of a special event that was occurring. My next door neighbors were from "The Shelter" as they told me, and were paying $150 weekly. For one night, I paid nearly $225 for this beauty!!!! I came away feeling that the owners were dishonest. The Sand Dollar's depiction on the internet of what the facility has to offer its guest is untrue and deceiving.