Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Clean enough, very dated cheap motel asthetic. Closet door was broken, Heat barely worked. Not particularly cheap for what you get. Overall OK, but not nice by any means.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston

Very clean

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Clean, close to everything., Room is small, but has tv, full bath, and fridge. Only stayed one night, but good for the price
1 out of 5
by Deborah from New York

MOST DISTURBING VISIT EVER !!

Posted Dec 1, 2015 on Hotels
Most disturbing visit to a Hotel ever! My boyfriend and I had a lovely vacation in RI this summer, staying 2 nights at the Sand Dollar. Returning for a few nights over the Thanksgiving holiday, we wanted to give our business to the Sand Dollar again, and reminisce about our wonderful summer vacation. The exact opposite happened! We called the Sand Dollar on Thanksgiving night, at 7:45pm, to inform we were en route and should arrive between 9:05 - 9:10pm according to GPS. The woman was very rude and said that we MUST arrive by 9pm, no later and that we must understand that this is a holiday. WHAT? This is a HOTEL! I told her we would get there as soon as we could, could she leave the key in the room if necessary (I had already paid for the room!), she said I must understand this is a holiday. She repeated this sentiment a few more times, I told her I would give her a call at 8:45 to let her know our ETA. I phoned at 8:45 and a man answered. I told him that we were still estimated to arrive at about 9:10 and he yelled at me "Do not arrive at 9:12, you MUST be here by 9:10!.) I told him we would do our best and he yelled again, "If you are not here by 9:10, go somewhere else!" So rude and unbelievable. Luckily we arrived at 9:08 and were given our key. We will NEVER return to this hotel and cannot believe the experience we had considering that this couple is in the HOSPITALITY business.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Middletown, CT

Posted Oct 18, 2015
The stay was comfortable. Only real complaint was that I couldn't control TV volume nor change channels with the provided TV remote. And honestly for the same price paid (with a corporate rate) at extended stay America I could also get "grab 'n go" breakfast.............
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Quaint and nice.

Posted Oct 12, 2015
This place has an older family owned vibe. Very quaint and was just what we needed at a reasonable price. Definitely would go back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away! This place is horrible

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
I read the negative reviews and should have listened. I only needed a room to sleep on a fishing trip so I thought it wouldn't be that bad. This place is horrible. The room smelled like something died, although it was nonsmoking, smoke poured in from the neighboring rooms, there were rats in the ceilings running around all night and bugs. I was kept awake from the drunk underage neighbors all night. They were asked by the motel employee to leave and didn't. It got to the point where I had to call the police. I got no sleep and requested a refund. They refused. This was indeed the worst place I have ever stayed. Don't even consider it!
1 out of 5
by Tony G. from New York

Very poor

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
Very poor, small room in bad condition, couldn't get the bathroom door to close. Would not recommend it. I would not stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2015
We just stayed one quick night. Nothing special but it was comfortable enough and clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

late summer stay

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Pros: Clean,had a fridge.
Cons: Outdated.
Location: Location is great.Close to beaches
Clean,cheap room.Outdated but was fine.Friendly owners.If your looking for a place to just rest your head you should consider The Sand Dollar.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice motel beautiful view

Posted Sep 25, 2015
Just a place to sleep and shower. You get a little less tha. What you pay for.