Ratings based on 160 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Charming but dated.

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: The price. It was a quiet "nest" above the tree tops. Beds and pillows were great.
Cons: Decor needs updating---professionally.
Location: Close to all of South County activities and beaches.
This sweet little place was tidy and clean. The proprietors were helpful and friendly. Bed and pillows were wonderful. Extra large flat screen TV and free WiFi were a plus. Above the highway and the tree tops this place was quiet, with seasonal flowers and quaint benches at each door. They don't provide ice, but a beverage vending machine was convenient, as well as a dorm room fridge in the room. The potential for this place to really shine is very evident for someone with a little decorating skill. They should find that person.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not recommend this motel.

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
The only plus thing about the motel is that it was close to where my sister lived. Price was the only other thing I thought was positive. The motel needs to be updated to the 21st century. No coffee in room, no ice to keep sodas cold. There was a small refrigerator, but wasn't plugged in. No other amenities.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virgina beach, VA

Sand dollar does not care about your stay!

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: it was clean
Cons: improve your electronic brosher its false advertising
Location: not much
The electronic brochure (web link) states that wifi & continental breakfast are available, once you arrive and have checked in you find out nighter are? why cuase its out of season? how is WIFI out of season? I had a long discussion with the front desk & they weren't going to be accommodating. The only comment was if i walked outside i might be able to get the wifi signal better. Its late at night and cold. Sand Dollar is run by people that just don't care! You also need to run the sink bathroom to get hot water in the shower
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
Convenient location for exploring the beach. The front office interior and motel exterior could use a makeover.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicopee, MA

No, to national chains

Posted Oct 4, 2016
I love staying off the beaten path. Thes mom and pop hotels/motels/inns are the way to go.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disrespectful staff

Posted Oct 3, 2016
I would never want any of my friends or family. My family felt discriminated against and humiliated
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Near scenic RI coast/beaches, Watch Hill
2 out of 5
by Matthew

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
The owners seemed rude and tactless. constantly monitoring and staring from the office. They don't clean the rooms until you leave. Rooms are ridiculous linoleum floor but initially are clean.
3 out of 5
by Margaret A. from Massaachusetts

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
While the owners were very pleasant, and accommodating, I thought it was way over priced just to sleep. When I booked, I was under they assumption that my 16 yr old was a child, to be charged an additional $20.00 when I arrived because they considered her an adult, making the room 195.00 for 1 night.