Ratings based on 1,121 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This place stinks.

Posted Oct 3, 2015
This hotel has smoking rooms in it, and the halls and rooms smell like an old ashtray. Rooms are as clean as they can be, given the dilapidated condition they're in. Our room hadn't been decorated since 1990, the television was a circa-1990 relic, and the comforter had cigarette burns in it. In the morning, the elevator smelled like weed. Like, contact-high level weed smell. I've only mentioned the highlights, but I could keep going. Wish I could un-stay here.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod

Inexpensive place to stay

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Convenient location and a reasonable price for a place primarily to sleep. Housekeeping staff did a superb job.
Cons: Replace really old furniture - broken recliner, broken desk chair, and broken desk lamp. Perform basic repairs - sink stopper, toilet handle, etc.
Location: Seaport area with many things to do, decent restaurants, and 2 nearby casinos.
We were here for a weekend getaway and this place was reasonably priced. We didn't spend much time there except to sleep between daily excursions. We had a really bad experience here the last time we stayed about two years ago, and decided not to come back again. However, when we saw the recent reviews on expedia and other websites, decided to give it a try once again.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for over night stay

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Staff friendly and polite. Need more variety for breakfast ex: bagel, boiled eggs. . Great for over night stays.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Not maintained and not cheap.

Posted Sep 20, 2015
Pros: Clerks
Cons: Everything else.
Location: Convenient location for Navy families.
Desk clerks were friendly and efficient. Hotel in a sad state. The carpet may have been more comfortable than the bed. Very old CRT television not able to deliver a viewable image in darkened room . Poorly patched walls. Shower curtain rod sagging. Toilet tank not secured to bowl. This Super 8 had a nice refurbishment in the '95-2000 time frame. It appears to have had nothing but casual maintenance since. Pull this owners franchise and get someone in there who cares.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2015
Terrible hotel. The entire place smelled like smoke, including my "non-smoking" room. The breakfast choices were very limited, and the room it was served in was the size of a large closet. The floors of our room were not clean. The bath towels had hair wrapped in them. I would never stay here again. The staff was friendly, at least.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Hotel is ok. Found rust & mold in bathroom.

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Beds were ok, tv out dated. The lobby was clean but the computer in the lounge was not working. Since there ash trays by thr lobby entrance, people would gather and smoke there. Your hit with cigarette smoke when you walk into the lobby door which is not healthy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

For overnight stay

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Location, near to USS Nautilus, Foxwoods, Mystic & I-95
Cons: They should consider renovating the building and put on new sheets.
Location: Visit USS Nautilus Museum, Foxwoods, Mystic & New London
Booked the hotel for an overnight stay. We used it only for sleeping. It's an old hotel, with old bed sheets but the room and bathroom were clean. The only plus experience we have was their Front Desk Manager, Maribeth. She was very helpful in giving us our needs, giving us directions to the local church and restaurants.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

It's comfortable and convenient to everything.

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: The price
Cons: Carpets in the elevator needs changing. It's very torn up and dirty.
Location: good location, near Walmart, about 12 miles from Foxwood and Mohegan sun, Mystic seaport, the aquarium and the submarine.
I'll stay here again. For the price, one cannot go wrong. There's continental beakfast, adequate parking and convenient to everything. Good AC , elevator and a friendly staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Aug 21, 2015
The pictures of this place online do not match the rooms. The room was dirty! I opened the curtains to find 5 long pieces of duck tape on the snow where the glass was broken from top to bottom. Just replace it!!!. I had to plug in all the lights to turn them on and found electrical tape wrapped around the wire 2 feet from the plug. Then I realized that it was 2 different wires used to make 1!!!! The alarm clock started going off in the middle of the night and the button showed it was off. I unplugged to make it stop. The comforter and had several cigarette burns on it in a no smoking room. The bathtub had a crack in it so when you stood near it all the water would go through the crack. Ugh never ever again!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

What the crap!

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Pros: Absolutely nothing, will never stay there again. I take that back, the girls at the front desk were friendly and very pleasant.
Cons: Raze it to the ground and start fresh! It stunk of stale smoke everywhere. It was dirty so staff needs to be trained.
Skunks at back door, cigarette burns in blankets, floor not vacuumed garbage still in room. No clock, piece of paper for TV channel guide. Pillows were extremely hard and uncomfortable. Hair dryer came off the wall completely. Outlet plates were loose. Elevator smelled extremely bad of cigarette smoke. Second room we booked had faulty clock, no microwave and tub didn't drain.