Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and staff, but rooms are miniscule

Posted Oct 5, 2017
See above. the rooms are so small they use children size beds Staff were great and location, with a walk to hiking trail was very scenic
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by Dísa Rún Jóhannsdóttir, Reception Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Gígur and for leaving a review. I will forward your lovely comments to our staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Turkey

Very nice view

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: The location
Location: walking around the lake
The hotel location on the lake of Myvatn is very good especially the restaurant has a very nice view. The room was small but very clean and comfortable. I stayed 5 days and very pleased with everything especially with the people who were employed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by Dísa Rún Jóhannsdóttir, Reception Manager, Hotel Management
Dear banu, We appreciate you taking time to write a review. It is delightful to see that you were pleased with your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bermuda

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Had a pleasant stay. The restaurant is great. Lots to do and see in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Ran out of cold water. Tiny spartan rooms.

Posted Aug 6, 2017
The rooms in this hotel are so tiny there was room to lay down only one person 's suitcase. "Decor" was nonexistent. The hot water is sulfurous - not their fault. But both mornings we were there the cold water pump broke. I almost scalded myself in the shower the first morning, and had to towel offf my soapy body and dry my wet, unwashed hair; the second morning I realized it had happened again, and didn't even try. It is nasty to be unable to shower in your hotel room. One more thing: The hotel is expensive. Our 2 night stay was about 610 Euros, through Expedia. At checkout I received a bill for about 840 Euros. I presented my Expedia reservation form and the bill was promptly corrected. Be sure to keep your reservation form!!! The staff was very pleasant. The food was very good. The area is very interesting. But the hotel rooms and state of repair are poor. No, I wouldn't return or recommend it for anything other than dining.
5 out of 5
by George

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
The room was so small that it was uncomfortable for 2 people. Terrible value for the money. I would not recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Not good enough to justify the price

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: Hotel wasn't fancy but was nice. The dinner food was good. View from dining room and lake view rooms was good. Good location.
Cons: Rooms too small. Need a filter for the water to reduce smell (if possible). New servers need better training. No hot food at breakfast. Too expensive.
Location: Great location. Most lake Myvatn attractions are around this hotel.
Room was very small, too small. Only twin beds. Shower stank of sulphur, but I suspect that would be the same of all hotels in this area, it's a very volcanically active area. Our room had a bad view of the parking lot, so ask for a lake view. Hotel wasn't fancy but was nice. Our dining room experience was mixed, one bad server and one good. The dinner food was good though. The view from the dining room was stunningly beautiful. There was a good selection of cold items for breakfast, but there was no hot food other than Luke warm porridge. Overall, it seemed too expensive for what we got.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok for just a quick stay

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
Room is very very small. Just enough for one full size and one twin size bed. Barely has room for luggages. Tap water has strong sulfur smell. No shampoo and shower gel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HKG

Nice and comfort stay

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Comfort, good service, nice restaurant, no coffee and tea amenities, smell of the water is acceptable, remote location, nice view to the lake
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
The lake view was really beautiful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking time to review our property. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your room with a view. On behalf of the Keahotels staff, Ester Stefánsdóttir Reception Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2★ hotel with a 4★ price and a 0★ experience

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
Hands down the worst of all our stays in Iceland. In fact, it was the only place on our entire trip that left us feeling we had wasted our money. We were allotted a tiny corner room with 2 single beds despite booking/specifying that we wanted a queen bed. When we asked the guy at the front desk about it, he said that we were expected to just push the beds together ourselves!!? Then why not pay for the difference in room type himself? Anyway after a full day of trekking and sightseeing, my wife and I were trying to push and fit the beds together in a space that's tinier than an average restroom. And the water! Okay I'm all for experiencing the sulfur springs in Myvatn, but I'd like to keep it out of my tiny bathroom. Definitely out of my drinking water! Not cool. Also unnecessary. Since we had stayed at another hotel at Myvatn and we knew that it was possible to get a fairly potable glass of water and a less suffocating shower in the same location.