Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HKG

Nice and comfort stay

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Comfort, good service, nice restaurant, no coffee and tea amenities, smell of the water is acceptable, remote location, nice view to the lake
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Great hotel for the price. Amazing view of the lake. The food served at the restaurant was of very high calibre.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by Ester Stefánsdóttir, Reception Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, I am delighted to read that you loved your stay with us. Lake Mývatn really is beautiful to look at and we are lucky to have a spectacular view of it. I am glad you liked our restaurant and hope you can visit us again in the nearest future. On behalf of the Keahotels staff, Ester Stefánsdóttir Reception Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, LA

Not One Staff Smile in Three Days

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Amazing location right next to long extinct mini volcano craters with absolutely beautiful mountain views from the large picture windows in the dining room. I had single room which was extremely small. Hotel was relatively new considering the age of a number of hotels around Iceland. Very clean and well maintained. Excellent breakfast. Very good price in very expensive Iceland however I have never seen such a dower bunch of hotel staff as not one smile from anyone in three days there
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by Ester Stefánsdóttir, Reception Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Skip, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to review our property. We are so lucky our restaurant has a breathtaking view over the lake and I am glad you were able to enjoy it. We will certainly use your comments to further motivate and encourage our staff, and we hope to see you again someday. On behalf of the Keahotels staff, Ester Stefánsdóttir Reception Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Cosy Little Hotel for a Stopoff to Next Location.

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel lobby and dining area was beautifully presented and room was fairly clean, but felt a bit dated. Service was ok as no one was manning the front desk when we arrived for check in around midday, and had to wait 5-10 minutes before staff came to greet us. Other than that the check in process was easy and quick. Hotel amenities were alright, but nothing special or above and beyond. Restaurant was nicely presented and served good food for breakfast. Location is a little bit off the beaten track. Still fairly easy to get to but it was away from the main town in the Myvatn area. It was a fairly clear and cooler night so we were lucky enough to catch the Northern lights when we stayed for the night. One thing to be wary of is the sulphuric water/smell from the taps. The hotel utilises geothermic heated water as a hot water source, which turned a couple pieces of our jewelery to different colours, so take your jewelery off when taking a shower. Other than that it was a good place to stay in the Myvatn area as a stopover to your next location!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for this wonderful review and rating. I am so glad you were able to catch the Northern lights - they are nowhere more beautiful than by Lake Mývatn. We hope to welcome you again to Hotel Gígur. On behalf of the Keahotels staff, Ester Stefánsdóttir Reception Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely small overpriced rooms

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
The positives for this hotel are the beautiful setting and a nice restaurant with a view. The rooms are a different story. I felt bad for the staff who did seem genuinely helpful and professional. I'm sure they have to manage a lot of complaints. This was one of the tiniest rooms I have ever stayed in, smaller than a college dorm room. There were two twin beds that could be pushed together, but if you did so I'm not sure where you put your luggage, possibly in the hall. The bathroom was very dated with moldy grout and mold on the fixtures. Once squeezed into the tiny shower the water would suddenly turn freezing cold for no apparent reason and then back to scalding hot. This was one of the most expensive hotels we stayed at on the Ring Road and definitely our least favourite. Would not recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We take everything our guests say seriously and it saddens us to see that you did not enjoy your stay at Hotel Gigur. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for coming to our hotel by lake Mývatn On behalf of the Keahotels staff, Ester Stefánsdóttir, Reception Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Daventry, UK

Great hotel staff but cramped room

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: The staff, the food in the restaurant, the setting, good breakfast.
Cons: Practically everything about the rooms!
Location: Fantastic location and views from the hotel. Convenient for visiting all Myvatn attractions.
The staff at this hotel are superb. However, our room was cramped with hardly enough room for our luggage - we have spent two weeks in Iceland in 12 hotels and this was the smallest room. The shower had very variable temperature and was small. The sink was too small to wash your face in without getting water everywhere. Sockets were not easily accessible and involved crawling on the floor underneath furniture. There was limited hanging space and no wardrobe. The room was hot and when you opened the window, even with the net blind done, the flies came in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by Ester Stefánsdóttir, Reception Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Hilary, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Thank you for you kind words about our staff. I will absolutely pass on your lovely compliments to all of them. We will take all of your comments to consideration and do better! Hope to see you again soon. On behalf of the Keahotels staff, Ester Stefánsdóttir Reception Manager
5 out of 5
by Laurence from Cambridge

A nice hotel for exploring the Mývatn area

Posted Aug 25, 2016 on Hotels
We really liked Hotel Gígur. The public areas of the hotel downstairs had a very nice and stylish design. The room itself could do with a little refurbishment, but it was still perfectly pleasant. The restaurant is really nice. It's nice that they have separate parts of the restaurant for groups and for individuals, so you feel well looked after even when there's a big group in the hotel. The staff were very welcoming to us, going to a lot of trouble to help us book a bus trip we wanted to arrange.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Laurence, What a fantastic comment to read! I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us and that my colleagues at the Front Desk were able to assist you. I hope you had a great time in Iceland. On behalf of the Keahotels staff, Ester Stefánsdóttir Reception Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel, great location, friendly staff

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Location, view, staff and restraunt
Cons: Shower temperature, and notification from staff for the high temperature change as it is a dangerous problem to scald yourself in the shower.
This hotel is in a great location. The dinning area has a great view of the lake. Breakfast was included and had a wide variety of fresh food to choose from. We had dinner at the hotel and the food was great. The room was not as clean as we would have liked. Dead little bugs in the window as well as water leaking from the window as well. The shower was an issue to me. When you take a shower the water goes from scalding hot to a freezing cold, to a comfortable temperature rotating every 25 seconds. The water is pumped from the lake therefore ,there is an over whelming smell of sulfur in the room after you take a shower. The staff helped us out and did offer and changed our room to another room which we did. That room sulfer smell was not as strong but the water temperature remained the same. I kept the bathroom door closed at all times and that did help.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

A nice hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Restaurant was the best thing about this hotel.
Cons: Room sizes are ridiculously small for the price paid. Offering non-existent rooms isn't good.
Location: Pseudo-craters were interesting.
Hotel restaurant was nice, but the rooms were small - had booked a queen room but was offered a twin with 2 beds pushed together, and was told this was all they offered (and that they did not have any queen rooms at all). Disappointing but the restaurant made up for it - both the food/ drink were lovely and the staff friendly and efficient.
3 out of 5
by Tang

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels