Ratings based on 818 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They did call...

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: People were mostly pleasant and the room was clean.
Location: Near MD Anderson.
AS we landed for our stay we got a call from the front desk saying that the elevator was not working. (I guess the hotel had been hit by lightening overnight.). They asked if it was ok since the only rooms left were on the 3rd floor. We said OK. We had to leave too early the next morning to have breakfast so we don't know how it was that day. Our second day we had breakfast of eggs and sausage that were pretty good (not really hot but warm enough). Unfortunately the 3rd day was not good at all. It was cold biscuits and very cold gravy. So I looked at the oatmeal. Also not hot and it was nothing more than water and a couple flakes of oats. Found no fresh fruit. Essentially there was nothing to eat. I take that back. There was waffle mix. Unfortunately there was no syrup. I was told someone had gone to the store to get some but they had no idea when they would be back. Most dissappointing. I tried to talk to the manager but they said they would be back later.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge, LA.

terrible hotel fairly close to hospital

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Running elavator, copy machine, wifi, telephone, smell, room update, price, shuttle service, cancellation policy, etc
Location: Not impressed
Terrible hotel, never will stay at a Mainstay Hotel ever again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Not worth it.

Posted Jul 4, 2017
First of all, and this saves the hotel in a lot of ways, the people were overall very friendly, including Corey and Elizabeth at the front desk (and everyone at the front desk, including those whose names I didn’t get). Two of three shuttle drivers were great (except when Gary (I believe, unless it's George…I might be messing his name up) forgot to pick me up when I called—however, he immediately remedied that and picked me up within fifteen minutes of my return call, and also provided me great directions when I needed to pick my friend up at St Lukes). Ed, on the other hand, was horrible, both as a driver and as a person. He was friendly to others, but rude and disrespectful to me. Whereas the other drivers were aggressive, as I saw one has to be in Houston, Ed was just a scary driver. The room itself was comfortable (although pictures make it seem larger than it is), and I had no issues with any of the room amenities. Breakfast was essentially no-frills, but served its purpose. Fitness room was also very good. While I appreciate the people (except Ed) and the comfort of the room, I doubt I’d go to this hotel again. First reason is, as others have mentioned, a $150 deposit that is not posted on the hotel’s website or Expedia. My hotel was paid for, but if I needed to pay for it and hadn't been made aware beforehand, I would have been annoyed, especially if it had caused me other financial issues. Secondly, I came in on a Monday and both washers were out of order. This was
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington

Staff were not friendly. Shuttle service poor.

Posted May 26, 2017
Staff raley smiled and acted like you were bothering them when you asked a question. Had poor customer service. The shuttle van service only ran once a hour.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from El Paso, TX

No Breakfast

Posted May 19, 2017
Breakfast was supposed to begin at 6:00 am. No breakfast at 6:15 and chairs were still on top of the tables. Front desk had no idea when or if breakfast would be available.
3 out of 5
by Vincent

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Judith

Phantom charge

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
Very simple accommodations. There was a problem after I checked out I had a $146.00 charge to my account from MainstY.. The room had been prepaid and the $150.00 deposit taken. No one could explain what it was. I had to contact my bank and put a fraud hold on it The charge disappeared after four days and talking to three people. I will not choose Mainstay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by karupiah

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
kitchen and fridge were very useful