Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: Beautiful ponds, nice restaurant looking out at the beach.
Cons: The bathroom. Toilets getting clogged up even with small amounts of toilet paper is annoying, and the shower should have consistent temperature.
Location: Not much nearby, be prepared to travel quite a bit. Hire a motorbike, or download their Navigo Thailand app (similar to uber, but with much less cars)
This hotel is great value for price (not the best, but decent) if you are staying in the Taling Ngam area. This area is quite secluded and far away from the nightlife (in Chaweng), so it has some ups and downs. There's hardly any restaurants nearby, nor a convenient store. Travelling around, either try to rent a scooter, or download the "Navi Go Thailand" app (their version of uber, but there aren't many cars around so be prepared for 10min waiting time) as that's cheaper than the hotel taxi. I got a Standard Double Room, the beds were nice, room was clean, though the spa on the balcony was a tad dirty. Bathroom is clean, though the shower is a bit small. A couple of annoying things were 1) the shower seemed like it had a temperature timer where it would give out nice warm/hot temperature for about one minute, then it would turn cold for 30 seconds (even if you put it up to max hotness it's still cold), and repeat that hot-cold cycle. 2) Seems like the toilets cannot handle 2-3 wipes of toilet paper, since the pipe kept on getting clogged. If you like a quiet getaway at Taling Ngam, then this is cheap and decent.
1 out of 5
by Michael

Terrible

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Terrible in every way possible, Resort & rooms were nothing like the photos. We left after one night even though we booked & paid for two
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2017
The staffs here are very nice. The room and the pool is clean.
4 out of 5
by Stephanie

Beautiful hotel!

Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Hotels
Loved this hotel! Wish we stayed another night. When we arrived, they upgraded us to a room closer to the beach. We had great views from our room, and the room itself was beautiful. Loved the 4-poster bed and beautiful bathroom. The staff were also very friendly and helpful during our 1 night stay. Would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Very peaceful and quiet on the far side of the island. But it's an hours drive from the airport. Staff is super nice facilities are ok our room shower did not work had to bathe in the jacuzzi tub with a hand held shower with very little water pressure
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is not a 4 star spa resort.

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
After a very pleasant and reassuring welcome we experienced a sharp decline in the standard of the hotel comparing to how it was advertised. The room was slightly damp, the air conditioning was very loud and utilities were of a poor standard, even when they were working. For example there was no hot water and the spa was only open upon request and overpriced as were the food and beverages. Location and hotel were peaceful and isolated which was what we were looking for but having a means of transport is essential if looking to leave the hotel, which you will want to do. The hotel overall has a lot of potential but 4 stars is extremely generous and we felt that the price did not reflect the quality of the accommodation. Although offering a beautiful beach area, the atmosphere was somewhat lacking and we found ourselves walking to other resorts in the area. Overall we were disappointed as it is nowhere near the standard advertised and would certainly not consider it a spa resort. We have never left a negative review before but we really felt that we could have got a nicer resort for half the price on Samui. Other guests clearly felt the same as there was someone complaining every time we walked through reception.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel in a quiet resort

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Hotel was located in a quiet resort but with its own beach frontage and within walking distance of a couple of roadside restaurants. Rooms and the hotel in general were of a good condition but could do with some modernising. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Reasonable price and great if you are looking for a very quiet relaxing hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

A Couple's Retreat

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: I liked the professionalism and cleanliness of this hotel, was extremely close to the beach and the staff were all friendly! Free breakfast too!
Cons: The location, I wish there were more bars and activities in the area, but that wasn't the hotel's fault, i should have done my research!
Location: The hotel offered a spa, gym, pool and kayaks but there wasn't anything to do nearby away from the hotel.
A Couple's Retreat, a perfect hotel on a beautiful island which opportunities to relax. Unfortunately, I was not in a couple, I was travelling with a friend and had booked this hotel because it was close to Nathon Pier, where we were next travelling from. After the antics in Bangkok this place was perfect to just relax on the beach but I very quickly got bored and apart from the use of the gym and the kayaks there wasn't much else on offer and the nearest busy beach with bars and other travelers was on the other side of the island. However, this wasn't the hotels fault at all, who offered free travel to Chaweng (not back, that would have been helpful though) and were always on hand to help with any questions. I wish I had done more research before booking. Nook, one of the women on the reception was particularly helpful, always greeted us with a smile, spoke fantastic English and always tried to help as much as she could to resolve our boredom, one day booking an excursion for us. A great hotel for couples, NOT TRAVELERS, unless you want to get away from loud noises and the hustle of travelling.
4 out of 5
by Anish from Delhi

Very comfortable stay with a lovely view of beach

Posted Sep 7, 2015 on Hotels
My stay was very comfortable at Kanok Buri. It has an amazing beach side view. The breakfast could have been better in terms of taste.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A peaceful week at Kanok Buri

Posted Aug 28, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed for seven nights with my three children. Reception and housekeeping staff were extremely helpful. Swimming pool and beach never crowded. The meals in the hotel are overpriced, however there was a small restaurant just outside that served lovely food at a more reasonable price which we used on a number of ocassions. Although there is not a large selection of food for breakfast (compared to most hotels we've stayed in before) it was sufficient as there was a choice of hot and cold options. The atmosphere at breakfast time was also always very calm and never over-crowded.