Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great little get away

Posted Jan 19, 2016 on Hotels
Berg-land was close to everything...really enjoyed staying in Japanese style comfort.
5 out of 5
by YUK MUI

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Shinobu from 堺

Posted Jan 14, 2016 on Hotels
一月の連休にお世話になりました。 インフォメーションセンターの横なのでスキーの移動にとても便利でした。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect for Ski Vacation in Hakuba with the family

Posted Feb 27, 2015
We stayed at this great local hotel right next to the information center in Hakuba for a long weekend of skiing. The location is fantastic, as you can take care of any gear rentals there and it's the hub of all of the buses to the various resorts as well as the express bus from Nagano. It's also easy walking distance to restaurants, convenient store, etc. The hotel itself is basic and a little older, but it's well taken care of and the couple who runs the place couldn't be any nicer or more helpful. It also has an onsen on the top floor, which is really convenient to take a soak after (sometimes also before) a long day on the mountains. We stayed in a typical Japanese tatami room and really enjoyed it -- my son said it was like camping out (positively). The room was very comfortable, as long as you're familiar with sleeping on futons on the floor -- not necessarily a western hotel experience. I believe they may have western-style rooms as well, but that wasn't important to us. Overall, my family really enjoyed staying at this hotel and will put it at the top of our list when we return to Hakuba.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great little Gem.

Posted Feb 4, 2015
My Family and I had a great stay at Bergland. Close to all shops and ski slopes. The owners were fantastic!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great for families. Will come back!

Posted Dec 28, 2014 on Hotels
Great hosts. Felt like home. The onsen also is great after a full day in the snow! Pluss it s close to the tourist office, the free shuttles, restaurants... love it! Full Japanese experience combined with great ski!
4 out of 5
by Luis from London

Fantastic service

Posted Mar 19, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel staff were fantastic. They were helpful, informative, extremely friendly and hospitable. The hotel itself was comfortable. It has traditional Japanese accommodations (sleeping on the floor in a futon, rather than a bed), but it was comfortable and I loved the experience (plus, I like camping).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good location

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: The onsen was very nice. It was well run by the very friendly and helpful owners.
Cons: We would have liked breakfast.
Location: Good location, although ski-in/ski-out would have been better. All the buses stop next door -you take your skis inside the bus -difficult at times!
We had a Japanese room with great views of the mountains. The duvets were lovely and warm, as was the room but sitting on a cushion on the tatami floor was tough for the first few days with sore muscles from skiing! The onsen helped and it was nice to have a yukata to wear. There is a Lawson convenience store across the road and also a nice café with excellent Wi-Fi close by. The Wi-Fi reception was variable in our room. Being right next door to the Information Centre was great. There is a cash machine inside (many restaurants won't accept card payments) and the free ski buses stop there as well as the Shinjuku bus. We walked to many nearby restaurants and some will come and pick you up. For us, the best thing about this place was its location. We wish that breakfast had been included in the price, other than that it was a pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
by Tom from Shanghai, China

Good location, that is all

Posted Feb 12, 2014
The rooms did not get cleaned everyday, they simply replaced towels and emptied the bins. The owner spends all day smoking in the hotel lobby. The smoke rises up the stairwell and fills every single room with the smell of smoke.