Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Netherlands

Bergland in september

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Hakuba bergland is a very friendly japanese style hotel mostly aimed at the wintersport crowd. I went in the summer and still had a very good short stay. The hotel is halfway between hakuna station and the gondola's, across the road from an onsen. This made the location ideal for me. The place is a bit older looking (build during nagano olympics '98?) But kept in good shape by the elderly couple running the place. So in short, also a very good stay for the summertime!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great little get away

Posted Jan 19, 2016 on Hotels
Berg-land was close to everything...really enjoyed staying in Japanese style comfort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Perfect for Ski Vacation in Hakuba with the family

Posted Feb 27, 2015
We stayed at this great local hotel right next to the information center in Hakuba for a long weekend of skiing. The location is fantastic, as you can take care of any gear rentals there and it's the hub of all of the buses to the various resorts as well as the express bus from Nagano. It's also easy walking distance to restaurants, convenient store, etc. The hotel itself is basic and a little older, but it's well taken care of and the couple who runs the place couldn't be any nicer or more helpful. It also has an onsen on the top floor, which is really convenient to take a soak after (sometimes also before) a long day on the mountains. We stayed in a typical Japanese tatami room and really enjoyed it -- my son said it was like camping out (positively). The room was very comfortable, as long as you're familiar with sleeping on futons on the floor -- not necessarily a western hotel experience. I believe they may have western-style rooms as well, but that wasn't important to us. Overall, my family really enjoyed staying at this hotel and will put it at the top of our list when we return to Hakuba.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great little Gem.

Posted Feb 4, 2015
My Family and I had a great stay at Bergland. Close to all shops and ski slopes. The owners were fantastic!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great for families. Will come back!

Posted Dec 28, 2014 on Hotels
Great hosts. Felt like home. The onsen also is great after a full day in the snow! Pluss it s close to the tourist office, the free shuttles, restaurants... love it! Full Japanese experience combined with great ski!
4 out of 5
by Luis from London

Fantastic service

Posted Mar 19, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel staff were fantastic. They were helpful, informative, extremely friendly and hospitable. The hotel itself was comfortable. It has traditional Japanese accommodations (sleeping on the floor in a futon, rather than a bed), but it was comfortable and I loved the experience (plus, I like camping).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good location

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: The onsen was very nice. It was well run by the very friendly and helpful owners.
Cons: We would have liked breakfast.
Location: Good location, although ski-in/ski-out would have been better. All the buses stop next door -you take your skis inside the bus -difficult at times!
We had a Japanese room with great views of the mountains. The duvets were lovely and warm, as was the room but sitting on a cushion on the tatami floor was tough for the first few days with sore muscles from skiing! The onsen helped and it was nice to have a yukata to wear. There is a Lawson convenience store across the road and also a nice café with excellent Wi-Fi close by. The Wi-Fi reception was variable in our room. Being right next door to the Information Centre was great. There is a cash machine inside (many restaurants won't accept card payments) and the free ski buses stop there as well as the Shinjuku bus. We walked to many nearby restaurants and some will come and pick you up. For us, the best thing about this place was its location. We wish that breakfast had been included in the price, other than that it was a pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
by Tom from Shanghai, China

Good location, that is all

Posted Feb 12, 2014
The rooms did not get cleaned everyday, they simply replaced towels and emptied the bins. The owner spends all day smoking in the hotel lobby. The smoke rises up the stairwell and fills every single room with the smell of smoke.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Snow trip

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Great staff, right next door to the info centre bus stop, walking distance to resteraunts. Great for a traditional Japanese style stay at the snow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Judy from China

Convenient location, lovely staff

Posted Feb 8, 2014
Pros: The owners are lovely. Breakfasts are great.
Location: Excellent location, next to Information Centre and ski shuttles and buses to Nagano. There is a great noodle house and a supermarket nearby.
Hakuba Bergland was exactly as we expected from reading the reviews. The owners of this family-run hotel are lovely. We had a Japanese style room and it was warm and comfortable. Breakfasts were very good. The hotel is right next to the Information Centre and very convenient for getting the ski shuttle to the gondola, and transport to Nagano. Would definitely stay there again.