Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Very nice ryokan

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Location: World-class skiing at a former Olympic venue.
Very friendly and helpful staff, better English than I expected. More or less traditional ryokan, with tatami floors. The room is spacious during the day when the futons are rolled up (the staff does that for you), and the futons are very comfortable to sleep on. Breakfast included in the price of the room was excellent. Dinner was extra, but not expensive--about $25 for a first-class, elegant Japanese dinner. The staff were very helpful, even picking us up at the bus terminal (much appreciated after a 16-hour journey) and dropping us off at the train station. Everything about this ryokan is first class, and we would stay again any time.
5 out of 5
by Lai Ping

Very nice local stay with fantastic host

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
It was amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Memorable stay

Posted Dec 22, 2016
We were made to feel like 6 star guests. Proximity to ski facilities was just 10 mins walk away. Kaiseke and breakfast was way above average. Since there is little else to do but ski and stay in the hotel, it made a huge difference that it was marvellous. I will make a trip back next time I'm in Japan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The staff make this place! Can't do enough for you

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Great staff, clean and tidy traditional Japanese hotel. The Onson is slightly small but modern and tidy.The staff make this place! Can't do enough for you! Would recommend to others.
5 out of 5
by Iris from Orange County

Hot springs traditonal hotel super comfortable

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely perfect!!! We loved this place. The innkeeper's are super nice and helpful. Very humble family. I was worried about sleeping on the tatami and mats on the floor, it turned out to me more comfortable than regular beds and mattresses. We slept very well. Hot springs bathhouse inside hotel was super nice, luxurious and clean. Love it! Highly recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

One of the best hotel experiences I have ever had.

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Location: ski resort, snow monkeys, nice cafe's and places to eat. great transport by rail or road
This is a FANTASTIC hotel, we stayed for just 2 nights, but wished we could have stayed longer. I don't usually rate hotels on any site, actually this is my first ever rating. But it deserves a 5 star rating. Very helpful, delicious food, warm cosy room, super clean, all in all a top place.
5 out of 5
by Stu

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highly recommendable!

Posted May 20, 2015 on Hotels
It is a lovely, elegant ryokan with a beautiful onsen and very nice and helpful staff. The dinner was very delicious and absolutely worth the money. Unfortunately, we stayed only one night. If we were to come back to this part of Japan, we would definitely stay in this ryokan. It has our highest recommendation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bend oregon

great place

Posted Apr 29, 2015
what a well ran hotel. this place tops 5 star resorts as far as service. They went above and beyond as innkeepers.
5 out of 5
by Sebastian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels