Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Chi Hang

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A fine example of what Hakuba has to offer...

Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels
Interesting hotel in Hakuba. Pretty sure it was used during the olympics as athlete accomodations. Nothing too exceptional about the place, reasonably clean, but tiny, even by Japanese standards. Barely fit two skinny adults with luggage into the room. A little out of the way and off the main set of accoms and food (pro or con), but the hotel staff were beyond helpful when it came to providing free shuttles to restaurants, train stations, ski lifts, etc.
4 out of 5
by Jacquelyn from Victoria, Australia

Not a bad little place

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
So when my partner and I got to Hakuba we spent 1 x night at the 'wind jacket lodge' which was full of backpackers and not our scene so we cancelled that and booked this place. We were not disappointed. It is run as part of hotel keyakinoki or similar and this is where you check in. The red sun rooms are across the road to the back of the recording studio building. For a little over $100AUD per night you get a private room with a little kitchenette and bathroom. The building is quite old and the pipes smell a little but it was quite a decent place to stay I thought. About 2kms from the heart of the Hakuba snow fields which was a nice change from the hussell and bustle. The staff are brilliant and speak enough English to understand and will practically drive you to where ever you need to go. The onsen at the hotel keyakinoki is free and it is quite large and barely anyone used it everytime I went in there which is good if you don't like the whole nudity aspect. There are pool tables and table tennis at the reception. There is a drying room for all your snow gear and you csn rent it also. Breakfast is quite basic and only runs from 7:30 - 8:30am which was a little harsh I thought. But to be honest from our 1 x cruddy night at the wind jacket I really could not fault this place, it was great for the price and location. Made my stay at Hakuba a pleasurable one abd would definately stay again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from korea

verry kind HOTEL

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Pros: kind, include almost
Location: maybe... work for 15minete to Happo information center, convenience store..
thank you for ur kinds... so we are enjoy the trip thank u thank u... Thank you so much...
4 out of 5
by Emilie from france

Posted Feb 15, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice staff. Hotel is a bit far from Happo resort (20min walk). There were plenty of shuttle buses during the day, but nothing after 5pm. The hotel onsen was great too!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from w


Posted Jan 21, 2016
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Fine Hotel

Posted Dec 26, 2015
Pros: Staff were nice and helpful.
Cons: Correct address Better walkways Better wifi Perhaps some more cleaning to stop bugs
Location: Nothing.
First off, was a fine hotel, it's the cheapest one there so you go in expecting not much. However the hotel is NOT at the listed address. How is this possible? After a walk in snow (my choice as it wasn't far) we arrive at the location. Hotel isn't there so we asked the next hotel. They we're super helpful, called the Red sun team. To their credit they came and picked us up which was awesome. However this hotel is located way out of town with nothing around it, not ideal and not what we wanted. We get there and they weren't sure who we were and asked us if we were someone else. After waiting for 10 mins, they found us. Which is fine, things sometimes take time. Then taking us to our hotel on a ground that's covered in ice and the building looks to be half way through construction. Room and beds were average as to be expected. However there was a bug :( and the wifi didn't reach the room. so after sitting in the cold room for 30 mins my partner and I looked at each other and thought "we can't stay here".. Long story short we caught a cab back to the original hotel we walked to Hotel Hukuba and stayed there, it was brilliant.
5 out of 5
by Ian from Bangkok

Fantastic value for money!

Posted Mar 8, 2015 on Hotels
The owner of the hotel was one of the most helpful gentlemen we have ever met. People talk about the manners and hospitality of Japanese people, but he went out of his way to help us and do whatever he could for us. The hotel was a little dated, but was clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were true Japanese style, but again, very good value for money. On returning to Japan and specifically Hakuba, I will definitely be booking the same hotel for the same quality of stay. It was a little too far out of town if you didn't have your own transport, but we had hired a car so no issues there. The included onsen was a huge bonus after a hard day's skiing. Thank you so much for your hospitality! I would happily recommend to anyone looking for value for money and a true Japanese experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Darwin Australia

Family Snow Holiday

Posted Feb 15, 2015
The location was different to what is on the website. The staff were very friendly, helpful and could not do enough for us. Took us to many places we wanted to go without charge. We did have a little mix up with breakfast one morning but a great spread was put on.The room had decent WI FI. Would stay here again