Ratings based on 427 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Lovely hotel near the harbour. Very close to tram stop so easy access to all amenities. Room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sasebo

Comfortable hotel at a good price

Posted Jul 19, 2017
We stayed over a weekend in May. The location was great for sight seeing - close to Glover Gardens and for the Ferry to Battleship Island. The courtyard was great for breakfast and the room was spacious enough for my husband and two kids under 5. Across the street is a great little pastry shop and a British tea shop. While the décor was a little dated, it was a comfortable stay and we are looking for other hotel Monterey locations in other trips throughout Japan.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Delux rooms not worth the extra

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: price.
Location: 10 mins walk from the centre or Y120 tram ride.
Hotel is OK but a looking a little worn. We had a delux room but I would suggesst the standard rooms are as good if a little smaller. Our delux had a balcony on the inner courtyard but was a bit dingy, and the extra floor area was mostly lobby area. I had a look at a standard room across the hall and it was nice and bright and not too small by Japanese standards. Breakfast is so so but the hotel is well located for the downtown sites. Also management sem determined to price it keenly, so it certainly is good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Douglasville, Ga

Nice hotel for overnight

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Nice staff. Held our luggage while we toured the city.
5 out of 5
by Wu

Wonderful stay!

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was located very near one of the tram station and the port where we took the ferry to the Hashima island. Hotel has a European theme which was unique. Room facilities were in good condition. We had a very good stay here. Will be back to stay if I go Nagasaki again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Great location, room and breakfast

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Nothing
Location: See above
Hotel Monterey Nagasaki offers clean and modern room. Breakfast is delicious. You have choices of Japanese breakfast and continental breakfast. Having breakfast in the courtyard provides a quiet ambience away from the city-like location of the hotel. The hotel is most conveniently located to most of the places of interest in Nagasaki. You can walk to the Dutch Slope, Chinatown, Dejima, Kura Church and Glover Garden. The hotel is also close to the ferry terminal and a very nice waterfront park that you can enjoy a stroll and take in the water view. The street car station is about a five-minute walk from the hotel. The street car will take you to Nagasaki Station to connect to JR lines at the train station or connect with other street cars to visit the Atomic Park, 26 Martyrs Monument and museum. Overall, I believe Monterey Hotel played a part in making my visit to Nagasaki most enjoyable.
5 out of 5
by Jason

By far the best horel on my trip!

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
Loved this hotel! So much character and style. So quiet and and friendly. Great and friendly and engaging of you wish to practice your Japanese. Room very clean and quiet. Location great.
5 out of 5
by Shaina

Excellent hotel, staff, and location!

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
My husband and I had a great experience at Hotel Monterey in Nagasaki. We loved the atmosphere, and the customer service was outstanding! We had a little hiccup during our stay, but the hotel staff was very apologetic and more than made up for the small inconvenience. The breakfast buffet was also very good, and worth the money, especially since many restaurants in Nagasaki do not open until 10:00. As for the location, it was great! It's within walking distance of Dejima, Chinatown, and Glover Garden. All of the other attractions are easily accessible by the various tram stops even though the tram map itself is very confusing. (If using the tram, walk to the station by Chinatown or Dejima to avoid having to transfer. This will help you make the most of the flat fare.) Overall, very satisfied with our stay at Hotel Monterey.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
Very near streetcar stop and thus access to tourist places and Nagasaki station. Easy walking distance to Glover Garden and Oura Cathedral. Convenience store very close, but only one moderately priced restaurant nearby which was so-so. More restaurant options at Nagasaki station shopping mall. Monterey itself was expensive for meals although the European ambiance was nice. Internet access.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Historical European hotel feel in Nagasaki

Posted Feb 18, 2017
The rooms are small by western standards but similar to others that we stayed in Japan. We really loved the feel of this hotel, the courtyard, lobby, elevators and rooms all have a older Mediterranean style which is nice considering Nagasaki's history. It is a short walk from the Streetcar you can catch from Nagasaki Station, or you can transfer to another Streetcar and end up right outside. Close to Chinatown so lots of options for food close by.