Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Lee Ping

Charming and exclusive stay

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
The place was exclusive and charming. Great service, staff spoke good English. We booked the traditional room that comes with a private bathroom. Dinner in the ryokan was fantastic. Toiletries and yukata was provided. The public bath was very clean, the only thing to comment was the water had strong chlorine. They have bicycle rental, which was very convenient for us to use. 10 minutes ride to Nagoya Castle. It was quite a distance from the train station, but still walkable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Traditional ryokan experience

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Orbitz
Location: Owner provides a map of local sites and restaurants to visit
Beautiful, comfortable hotel room with a garden view. Access to onsite onsen experience and courteous staff.
5 out of 5
by Orasa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Quiet ryokan with friendly manager

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: Large room, hot spring bath in the ryokan, option to sample local food for dinner at hotel itself.
Cons: Nothing much, overall a pleasant stay here.
Location: Shopping at Nagoya station (Takashimaya), Sakae district, sightseeing at Nagoya castle.
Stayed at Kyoya ryokan with 2 other friends for 3 nights, in a Japanese-style room with futons. The room was large and could accommodate all our luggages. There was also an attached bathroom, and a hot spring bath (although you would have to walk out in the cold in winter for very short distance). We opted to have our dinner served by the ryokan on our 3rd night, it was certainly worth it. The manager personally served the dishes to us in the dining hall area, and we enjoyed some local food like Tebasaki (fried chicken) and Hitsumabushi (grilled eel in broth). Although the location is quite far off Nagoya station (15 mins walk through underground shopping alleys and 5 mins in open air), the quiet surroundings of the neighbourhood and the availability of food options nearby (coffee houses, ramen, rice bowls) and the hot spring bath made this ryokan a good choice for young travellers like us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DRMelo Music enjoyed Nagoya

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
Nagoya was a nice place and this hotel was cool because it gave you the Japanese experience. Nice spot i would recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2016
I stayed in a japanese style dorm. Ryokan was located in a quiet area about 20 minutes' walk from nagoya station. There were other subway stations about 7 minutes' away. It had a Japanese public bath facility as well as shared toilet and shower for the dorm. Could even borrow the bicyle to get around if you like. Comfortable experience. Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating.
5 out of 5
by Juan from Guatemala

Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Hotels
Great place to stay in Nagoya. The rooms are gorgeous, the staff is friendly and the beds are very comfortable. Recommended for couples.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My own private public bath!

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Kyoya Ryokan. I booked for a dormitory space for 3 nights and on one of the nights I had the place all to myself. The public bath was awesome – slippers, towels, comb, toe socks, razor, shampoo, conditioner – all included. Coincidentally, I had the public bath to myself (in the late evening) which made it less intimidating for first-time onsen user.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A big surprise for a "three star" hotel

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Pros: Breakfast, public bath, room layout, Japanese garden and friendly staff
Cons: check in time? maybe
In my opinion, this little traditional Japanese ryokan is much better than most 5 star hotels/resort that I’ve been. Staff are very friendly, room is very clean and comfortable with easy access to Japanese Garden. If you want to know what Japanese culture is, pick this place and you won’t be disappointed. Make sure you try the public bath house and traditional Japanese breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Traditional ryokan without blowing your budget

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Pros: facilities
Cons: a lift
Location: It's a fifteen minute walk from the main central station, which for us was fine. About the same distance to Nagoya Castle.
Helpful and courteous staff make your stay pleasant. Get the breakfast and watch the staff make and pour green tea. The onsen is small and private, and the garden quaint. Rooms are relatively spacious, clean and comfortable.