Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and Clean

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Off-season late checkout policies.
The hotel is well kept and the cleaning staff was very diligent. I like the hotel's bright colors and the proximity to the beach is as good as it gets. The staff was friendly and greeted as you entered and departed. I marked down this Holiday Inn Express by one star due to: - The staff being inflexible on extending our checkout beyond 11:00 am, because we were not in their rewards club. We asked to stay until noon, as we were returning from the Outer Banks Marathon and wanted to shower before leaving. Its November and there was clearly no push for guests coming in on a Sunday evening, so it was just unnecessary not to extend check-out. Seems they might make an accommodation for a marathon event in the off season. - The walls were quite thin and you could easily hear conversations in the rooms from the hallways as you walk to/from your room. - The fire alarm went off once due to someone smoking in their room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Pros: Beach access
Great location beach access and room views excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near the beach

Posted Oct 9, 2017
On 2nd floor, could hear the ocean and could see it just over the sand wall. balcony recv'd shade during the day, so it made it nice to sit on. Pool was a bit small, but just like other Holiday Inn Express properties. Breakfast was nice as well. Eggs done just right! Enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from marietta, ga

nice hotel in Outer Banks

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: comfortable bed, clean room, direct access to the beach
Cons: The door to the balcony viewing ocean was not functional. We could not lock this door.
Location: We visit light houses, Wright Brother Flight Museum, Duck town, Morehead city.
This is our first time to Outer Banks, NC. The hotel is very nice. There is a wash off for guests to clean feet after returning from walking the beach. Our room has ocean view. We visit light houses, Wright Brother Flight Museum.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wyckoff,NJ

Reasonable beach hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: Close to shops and restaurants . Hotel price includes free Parking, free Wi-Fi and free breakfast.
Cons: The Air conditioner in the room was rather noisy .
Location: See above
We stayed 3 nights at this beach front hotel and from here we were able to take excursions to Manteo, Jockey's Ridge and Kitty Hawk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Wonderful!

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Great hotel, one of the best kitchenettes- cabinets, micro, mini fridge! Friendly staff!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arlington, VA

Need to up their ante

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Newly renovated, close to beach
Cons: stop selling the rooms vis-a-vis from the breakfast room, make staff care to swap your room if they complain about soiled mattresses and noise
The hotel is much better on the inside than what it appears to be on the outside. It is also close to the beach, which is nice. However, and maybe it was just us because we booked through expedia (which they told us at least three times we shouldn't do next time) but our stay was not the kind that would lead to visiting again or recommending this hotel. I did not have the opportunity to check in or select my room via the IHG app. We arrived later than planned due to inclement weather but it was not even 6pm. Nevertheless, we got what they said was the last beach view room (which I paid for), and the room was right across from the breakfast area. They told us we'd be fine, they never had any complaints. We found that hard to believe after we woke up at 630 when breakfast service began (on a weekend?) and people shuffled their chairs around. So, nice early waking up on both last days of our vacation. The person at the front desk didn't even apologize. Also, one of the mattresses smelled like urine. Finally, our 'beach view' was very low (2nd floor) and had a fat bar right on eye-level so that you didn't see any beach or sea from the balcony. Standing up you saw a little, but the dunes were too high. I would definitely not book 2nd floor beach views in that hotel, and do refuse the rooms around 201. They should turn those into a business center or the like. Given I paid 500 bucks for two nights, this was one of the absolutely poorest hotel experiences we've ever had.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Everything was newly updated and fairly clean. The pool and gym areas were nice. It has a nice area to wash sand off from the beach.
Location: Well located to surrounding restaurants. Close to the aquarium in Manteo.
Listing said shower/tub combo which is the only reason I picked this hotel because of our 3yo. Room only had a shower, so we had a hard time with nightly baths . Also, the beach was pretty rough, so not great at all for a smaller child. However, this might have been more to do with a hurricane out at sea then typical conditions. Nags head was actually under a riptide advisory one of the days we were there. Easy beach access and a really nice outdoor shower area for getting all the sand off. The pool was a little smaller than expected, but we still used it a ton. Lots of available parking. We got a partial view room, but since we were on the second floor, you couldn't see over the sand dune. Upper floors probably have a nice view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Everything was excellent, except for the breakfast. Everything was extremely clean and convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect!!!

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Friendly staff, very comfortable stay. Everything was great