Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Adrian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveler from Naples

Comfortable hotel that makes you feel at home.

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, good Hungarian food in restaurant downstairs, and pleasant outdoor recreation area.
Cons: Accessible soap in the shower.
Location: Lake Balaton is primary nearby recreation opportunity.
Hotel is clean, with plenty of amenities such as a restaurant, recreation area, and pool table. Family-owned, the staff bring a personal touch to the stay. Perhaps a bit dated, the rooms are nonetheless spacious and clean.
1 out of 5
by Brijesh from London

Unreliable & night porter does not speak English

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
We booked this hotel a few days in advance and the hotel manager/ owner gave away our room. We arrived at midnight from 300miles away and we got stranded, we had to find another hotel which cost us twice the price as it was last minute. Hotels.com did not help.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, when you reserved the room we did not have any avaiable rooms , so we did not give away your room, it was not empty that time. Right after we got your reservation, we called you several times and as nobody answered, we sent an e-mail to you to the e-mail adress which you provided. In this e-mail we offered for you to help to find an other hotel. You did not answer this e-mail. We have reception only until 22:00, after we have a night guide, who really does not speak English but he called me to help and I was talking with you at midnight and try to help you to find an other accomodation. All after this I cannot understand your negative comment, as we tried to do everything to inform you about our full-house but you did not provide valid contact information. If you want to avoid this next time (in any hotels), I can suggest you to provide valid contact information.
4 out of 5
by John from Dallas

Nice place to rest when you are on the road.

Posted Nov 1, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed here off-season. Nagykanizsa is not an exciting place but if you need to stay somewhere this is a reasonably prices well run place. Next to a bigger road fairly easy to approach. Breakfast was superb, they even made omelets on order, no extra charge. It was a little difficult to get in at night but than again it was off-season.
1 out of 5
by Natalia from USA NATALIA


Posted Jul 20, 2015 on Hotels
Serviced by one of owner's he was sneaky. Be aware demand a receipt before occupying the room. Because first he act really nice and at the time of paying he charge for everything that supposed to be with the room. He hates Americans.Breakfast sucks.it is not a buffet. Reception and eating section us the middle. and this establishemente is not even one star. Far from the route. I would not ever rebook in this minus hostal. He insult clients in front of them especially if client does not speak the language.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2016 by Laslo Gelencser, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! You reserved your room for 2 adults and at check-in you asked for an extra bed for your child. I told you that we can provide it only for 15 Euro extra charge. You agreed and asked for the extra bed. At check-out you did not remember for this and you did not want to pay for the extra bed. I believed you may have language problems so I tried to explain it for you in Hungarian, as you are from Romania, I hoped you understand the language more or less. At breakfast we have a bufet and we provide additional hot breakfast for our guests so they can ask almost anything from our kitchen. For you this meant you asked everything piece by piece and you wanted everything right in time. We provide the best quality for our guest so we do not keep the hot breakfast on the bufet for hours but prepare everything in time when our guest ask for it and on the way they like it. All of our guest like this kind of solution so
4 out of 5
by phillip from taree

great hotel

Posted Mar 2, 2015 on Hotels
great room, plenty of room. Staff very friendly.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kelowna BC Canada

Over acceptation...

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Autstending food in restaurant. Cruise like breakfast included...
Excellent friendly Service. Spotless room. Easy access to everything. Close parking to hotel room...
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stopping place

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Nice rooms and restaurant
Location: Very pleasant oasis in the middle of the countryside, near a park and lake
We were working our way across Hungary and were very pleased with the choice of this hotel. We were there on a Sunday so access to main shops was irrelevant, but we were able to walk to a local shopping area and to a lovely lake nearby. Restaurant meals were good.
5 out of 5
by jere from bratislava

good value for money

Posted Jul 13, 2014 on Hotels
Breakfast was simple but good. Good value for money.
5 out of 5
by RJN from Bedfordshire, UK

Good rooms great sauna

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels
Good base camp for a motorcycle trip around the Balaton. Great little hotel and fantastic food!!