Ratings based on 419 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Basic hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Check in staff friendly and professional waiting staff not so good had to ask for things 2 or 3 times before getting it . family room very basic double bed was 2 singles put together carpet all stains bathroom floor tiles cracked and Brocken only 2 cups and 2 plastic glasses when there was 4 of us .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2017
A delightful place to stay. I picked it purely for the great price and convenient proximity to the airport, but I was hugely impressed with every aspect of my stay. Particularly the food served in the conservatory, which was exquisite. I'm planning to go back for a longer stay with my partner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth

Excellent, good value hotel.

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: The food was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Minor point. There were no power sockets beside the bed. This meant I couldn't charge my phone and use it as an alarm clock. It was one or the other.
Unfortunately, I only stayed one night. I say unfortunately because I would have liked to stay a few nights an explore the local countryside but, since I was travelling on business, this was not possible. If you are in a position to spend a few days getting to know the area, this hotel would be an ideal base.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Lovely hotel.

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Very relaxing stay. All staff friendly and efficient from check in to check out. Our room was perfect. I asked for a quiet room which it was. It was spacious and extremely comfortable. A very good night's sleep. An enjoyable breakfast and nice to be waited on for your hot breakfast rather than a buffet. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Doune Scotland

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Beautiful surroundings withe sea view
Cons: Basics like central heating to be working
Location: Great location Inverness nearby entertainment and shopping
Beautiful hotel in superb surroundings but unfortunately inside was quite tired bedroom no central heating portable heater provided bed and lighting in room need yo be replaced hotel staff friendly and helpful food was ok had to send main course to be reheated this hotel has so much potential
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huddersfield

Good clean hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Everything is nice about this hotel, the staff, the beds are comfortable and the show was great, the room size was good, a nice walk to the beach plus town, would stop again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Lovely setting, beautiful countryside. Would come back again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Needs some updates

Posted Oct 21, 2017
A beautiful building on beautiful grounds. The rooms and beds are a little run down and need upgrades. Seems to cater to bus and large groups. Had to move due to unexplainable noise plus walls are thin and you can hear your neighbors tv. Once I moved into separate building (cottages) everything changed; upgraded, quiet and nice. Requested cottage room and you'll be fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Macquarie NSW Australia

An Olde Worlde experience

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Beds need to be improved. Room furnishings need recovering or replacing.
This hotel evolved from a farm in the 17th century and there are Highland cattle to be seen nearby. The staff are pleasant and obliging for an early check-in. Room is large, but typically for English hotels has no refrigerator. Bathroom is good although the shower could be improved. Corner opening doors which close together are rarely successful in retaining water completely within the shower. Beds were a little on the soft side for my liking and springing was noisy when you rolled over during the night. The restaurant at the hotel does not have a menu available to peruse outside before you enter and discover all-too-late the pricing. For that reason it missed out on our patronage. Lounge chairs in the bedroom had arm covers which one rarely sees these days and upon investigation it is to hide fabric tears. All in all it was apleasant stay but the furnishings are in need of updating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

NOT WHAT WE EXPECTED

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Linen was clean and plain.
Cons: An upgrade is long overdue for parts of the hotel.
Location: Great for golf and and visiting Inverness.
We booked a standard room. It was located in the older part of the hotel. Its location would have been problematic for someone with mobility issues. Getting to the room seemed to involve a long walk through corridors with views of abandoned furniture piled up in corners and doorways. The room had not been decorated in a very, very long time. The wallpaper was peeling off the ceiling and its seams were discoloured. The walls were not much better. The floor boards in the room above were squeaky and we could hear the occupants move around as there was no sound insulation from above or indeed from below as we could hear conversations from the floor below. Some of the public spaces have been upgraded but the room we stayed in had been missed completely in any form of refurbishment for twenty or thirty years. The room and furntiure were well past the use by date.