Ratings based on 391 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL USA

Potential for greatness

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Property and grounds are beautiful. Spacious, clean, comfortable room.
Cons: Get the staff up to the same high standard as the hotel. Dining staff should know the menu. Front desk staff should be familiar with hotel amenities.
Location: While Nairn isn't in Inverness, it's still close to many attractions. The quiet hotel location is a plus.
This is a beautiful hotel located off the beaten tourist track in a quiet neighborhood of charming Nairn. Our stay would have been perfect if hotel staff had been better trained. Dining room staff did not know the menu. Further menu items were unavailable but staff were unaware until well after the order had been placed. This happened 3 times during our two day stay forcing us to reorder. The hotel hosts large tour bus groups which completely swamps the kitchen to the near exclusion of other guests. Food once received was good, but service flubs marred the experience. Also when the large groups are in-house it is near impossible to use the one small lift. Rooms are spacious and comfortable and for this alone we would stay again. But staff training needs serious attention. With good staff and a beautiful hotel, this could be a great hotel not just slightly above average. I
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet coach tour hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Room very disappointing for a superior room, very dark, no view. Staff efficient and helpful. Hotel orientated towards coach tours and functions. Suited to people wanting a base to explore the area as there are no real amenities within the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Castle

Posted Aug 23, 2017
A bit pricy, but it was high season. Clean and comfortable, roomey rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana, USA

Wonderful quiet setting in easy access area

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Beautiful grounds
Cons: Our smoke detector had been covered due to room being painted and hadn't been uncovered yet.
Location: Easy walk to the shore. Several nice dining options in town. Close to sightseeing such as Cawdor and Brodie.
Our room was a twin, recently painted, and clean. The beds were very soft, but comfortable. One small issue is that our room windows were next to the kitchen exhaust fan(?) at the back which ran from 5:30 am until about 9:30 pm. Noticeable as it was warm and we had the windows open for air, but did not detract from sleeping due to the hours it was running, and being a "white" noise. Staff very nice. We enjoyed walking around the property, but found dining elsewhere since we wanted to explore. Did notice tour buses there but never felt crowded nor noisy due to that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brief Visit

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: No hassle no fuss nice helpful staff, just what you want after a long drive, very Good
Location: It is ideal if you are a golf buff. Two great courses nearby and a few other top glass courses a short drive away.
We got a nice friendly welcome, a lovely bite to eat then bed after a days travel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Murray, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay Kind Regards Murray McPhee General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Australia

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Beautiful hotel, very friendly staff, gorgeous room
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Murray, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind feedback
5 out of 5
by April

Nice and quiet

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful hotel to visit. Very quiet place to rest and recharge. Dinner at the hotel was a nice experience, and we had the restaurant to ourselves. Breakfast was wonderful the next morning as well. Enjoyed sitting in the bar area after dinner. We even saw some deer the next morning grazing as we left. Overall a very lovely experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017
Thank you for posting a review We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and dinner at the hotel Kind Regards Murray McPhee
5 out of 5
by Ariel

Old fashioned perfection.

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
If I could choose one place to stay in the entire world, it would be here. This is not a shiny, brand new, perfect place to stay. This is a perfect, quiet, well loved, lived in, place to stay. The bed is comfortable. The rooms are spacious and SO quiet. The food from the restaurants is delicious and well prepared. The bathtubs are perfect for soaking. The grounds are beautiful and peaceful. A "secret" path leads you through the forest to the ocean. The birds sing musically in the trees. When you stay here you feel like you have stepped back into a simpler, more peaceful time. Is every piece of furniture and paint perfect? No, but it's clean and taken care of. It doesn't have to perfect to be utterly perfect. I have never enjoyed a place more in my life.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017
Thank you for your kind review,We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Best Wishes Murray McPhee General Manager
5 out of 5
by Deborah

2 American sisters

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
We got the last room for the evening. Stayed in a converted stable. Great atmosphere. Very large room. No stairs to climb . Walked down to the water front and saw breath taking views. Lovely gardens and beautiful homes all around the area. Took a walk through the town the next day and had a lovely breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017
Thank you for your kind comments .We are delighted you enjoyed your stay Kind Regards Murray McPhee General Manager
5 out of 5
by Christina

Posted Jun 8, 2017 on Hotels
A lovely surprise to see the hotel, old world with beautiful gardens quiet area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017
Thank you for posting a review of your stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us Kind Regards Murray McPhee General Manager