Featured Image

Reviews of Eastland Hotel

4 out of 5
Eastland Hotel
Ring Road Kilimani, P.O. Box 35240, Nairobi

Overall score and ratings

3.5

Good

Rating 5 - Excellent. 5 out of 27 reviews
5 - Excellent 19%
Rating 4 - Good. 11 out of 27 reviews
4 - Good 41%
Rating 3 - Okay. 6 out of 27 reviews
3 - Okay 22%
Rating 2 - Poor. 3 out of 27 reviews
2 - Poor 11%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 2 out of 27 reviews
1 - Terrible 7%

3.5/5

Cleanliness

3.7/5

Staff & service

3.2/5

Amenities

3.0/5

Property conditions & facilities

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The room was comfortable, though the sheets had a couple of burn marks on them. The arrival of breakfast at the door at 7:45am was an unwelcome surprise on my first morning, jetlagged and hoping to sleep in. The breakfast itself was also a bit disappointing...just boiled eggs (no salt), plain toast, and hot milk (no coffee or tea). Overall though, my stay was perfectly pleasant. The wifi worked well, and the hot water was good.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2021

1/5 Terrible

Business traveler
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
This hotel takes reservations and payments even though in reality is closed. This made my whole stay in Nairobi quite complicated.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021

2/5 Poor

Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2021

4/5 Good

Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2019

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
The stay was generally good. I ordered room service and it was speedily delivered though the portions were too large. The bathroom could do with an update.
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2019
Response from Sam Mwangi - Sales & Marketing Manager on Nov 21, 2019
Dear Joe, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking time to review our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your outline on our services and can assure you all necessary measures have been taken to ensure we continue exceeding our guest’s expectations. With best regards

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2019

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Decent hotel but not terribly cozy
Hotel is fine although not very cozy. The Chinese casino on site gives it a strange feel. Food was average, staff was friendly.
Stayed 4 nights in Jan 2019
Response from Monica on Jan 31, 2019
Thank you for your feedback! Looking forward to see you soon!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 6 nights in Nov 2018
Response from Monica on Jan 16, 2019
Thank you! Looking forward to see you soon!

5/5 Excellent

Cozy Chinese Hotel
Clean and spacious room. The breakfast has a great variety of options.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2018

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Absolute shocker. I read that this hotel has a large Chinese clientele which, being Chinese by birth did not worry me greatly. However, what was not mentioned was that the hotel was very out of date and the rooms I used (I asked to be changed because of the smoking smell) all reeked of people smoking. One advantage of the palace is that there is a casino next door that serves good Chinese food and, being Chinese I did not have to pay.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2018

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
I enjoyed my stay at Eastland hotel
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2017

3/5 Okay

Disliked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Good value for money
Thought the condition wasn't great. Maintenance felt a bit neglected. But building great, overall good value for money. No bacon + sausage at breakfast!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
convenient neighborhood, but cautious for noises
It's close to Yaya shopping center and a few other supermarkets. Quite a number of restaurants are within walking distance. The hotels itself has a Chinese restaurant in its yard. The worst thing is that a night club is located nearby. The first two nights I could not rest well because of the noises until 3 am. I requested for changing the room, but the hotel staff did not do that until the third day.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Great Chinese Hotel with EXCELLENT Staff
The Eastland Hotel is a great value for the money. The staff is most helpful. Good Chinese food in the restaurant. No air conditioning. Safe and secure. Would recommend to friends and would stay here again!
Response from RDM on May 31, 2016
Dear Sir/ Madam, Greetings from Eastland Hotel.We appreciate your feedback and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, it is unfortunate we do not ACS in our rooms but however we do have portable acs that a guest can always request for. We also appreciate you recommending us to your friends and look forward to welocming you back to Eastland Hotel.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Warm Showers and Great Internet Connection
Good hotel overall, warm water for the shower and great internet connections which is not always a given in Kenya! The hotel has a Asian theme and if you don't most of the communications throughout the hotel being in Chinese I would definitely would recommend this hotel for a very inexpensive business trip!

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
So so
Friendly staff. Poor internet, as slow as the service in the restaurant. Restaurant slow and very complicated to get something. Breakfast good. I believe it is a management problem. Everything seams to be micromanaged.

4/5 Good

Liked: Room comfort
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
A mixed bag
Hotel feels a bit rundown. Bed is comfortable but BRING EARPLUGS to try to drown out the thumping music from the club next door. Local Kenyan staff are Amazing - friendly, helpful. Chinese staff seem largely disinterested and don't speak a word or English.

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
I will never return here
Not a good experience at all. Bathroom was leaking so i changed rooms, then toilet was leaking in the new room too. Bathroom looked and smelled nasty. Also, for room delivery, you don't get to select what you want for breakfast, they choose for you and this is their process.

3/5 Okay

Disliked: Property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Very poor internet connection for a 4 star hotel
The staff was friendly. However the internet was not working at all. No minibar in the room as indicated on the hotel description. Overall nice hotel to stay in.

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
酒店装修风格和各种设施都太老了,水很小,不热,也没有空调,没有开窗透气外面又是马路就很吵
Stayed 1 night in Nov 2019

4/5 Good

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2019
Response from Sam on Nov 21, 2019
Thank You Lei for the posisitive rating, we shall be honoured to host you again at Eastland Hotel.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2019

4/5 Good

Liked: Staff & service
肯尼亚东土酒店入住体验
中国同胞开的酒店,酒店位于yaya附近,这个区域中国同胞较多,酒店有中餐,同时配备有Casino和KTV、当地特产商店(黑木雕、辣木籽……等)、旅行社等,配套较齐,服务尚可。但作为四星级酒店,酒店设施稍显陈旧,早餐略差,不尽如人意。
Stayed 7 nights in Oct 2018

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Helt ok hotell som transit.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2018

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Buona scelta
Hotel pulito e confortevole, buona zona.

3/5 Okay

Liked: Staff & service
Hotelli hyvällä alueella
Hotelli oli lähellä sukulaisiani hyvällä alueella, joten se oli suurin syy valintaan. Henkilökunta oli todella mukavaa ja hotellin vieressä oli pari kivaa ostoskeskusta. Paljon kiinalaisia vieraita ja aamupalakin oli kiinalainen. Tilat olivat hieman vanhahtaneita, mutta siistit. Ei ilmastointia. Laiton klubi hotellin vieressä oli häiritsevää. Ei mikään luksus, mutta OK.

3/5 Okay

Disliked: Staff & service
decent but no more.
Owned and run by chinese it settels itself within that boundarys. The staff whom are local are super nice abd really try hard. A casino within the premises attracts the chinese community. When working in Kibera the hotel is really close. A fairly noisy area with a local pub and casino visitors keeping the volyme up til 4 in the morning and the traffic starts at 5.30.