Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from minneapolis, mn

Enjoyed the short stay

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Breakfast buffet
Friendly staff, amazing breakfast. Overall worth the money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Crown Plaza Nairobi

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Cons: Breakfast. Restaurant menu.
Location: Good location. Elephants, Jirafes, Parks places are located ~ 20 min in taxi. Malls are located ~ 20-40 min in taxi. Both airports are located ~ 30 mi
Reasonable close to the airport. Room services and accommodation are standard so nothing impressive. For some reason when you request Expedia to include breakfast, it does not appear on the hotel system so you need to carry on your Expedia voucher just in case. Hotel is pretty well located in relationship to the main points you want to visit in the city. Watch out for the traffic! It can easily change your plans. Do not visit the city during weekdays, you can spend 3 hrs in 5 km!!. When you leave Nairobi, expect traffic, before arriving to the airport (3 km before) all passengers in the taxi must pass thru a security point which causes a disaster in traffic. People pass the street walking. It is dangerous and causes traffic jams but I was glad to see how Nairobi takes Security very seriously after the sad event occurred in 2013.
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Good, but recent changes were not improvements

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
The Crowne Plaza is a comfortable hotel in Upper Hill, but there is not much to do in the neighborhood. The food in the hotel is pretty good, although recently they have made some changes and now there is a different room service company for after 11pm and that food was pretty bland and not accurately described on the menu (e.g. "pesto" turned out to be cream sauce, "loaded baked potato" was just a baked potato with a little bit of canned tuna on top, pretty gross). The room service before 11pm is much better. I believe they may be under new management because another change was that the price increased dramatically with new service charges I do not recall seeing before, and they used to allow free late checkout but this time they charged $15 per hour. This is the norm at other hotels, but the free late check-out had been one thing that set the Crowne Plaza apart. Oh well, hopefully they will go back to the way they were before.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing except that breakfast is not included... Seems rather pricy for not including breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Kennedy, M Manager
5 out of 5
by Robin

Convenient, safe and great quality

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
Perfect city centre hotel - usual Crown Plaza quality
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Allan,C General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid this hotel

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
Extremely poor service.Was checked into the new Wing of the hotel and the AC was not operational. After almost 1hr of check in the mechanic cam to repair it and was not repaired finally.House keeping came in 20.mins later to clear the mess. All this at 11.30 PM at night. Next was was shifted to the old Wing and hoped it would be comfortable. And guess what, AC did not work in that room as well. Despite repeated requests to the hotel staff to set a meeting goes with the GM of the property, all excuses were made of him being in meetings and leaving for the day. Finally I accidently met the GM in the coffee shop who.assured us he left late and apologised on behalf of his staff. Would suggest this property be best avoided . Breakfast spread is also very average.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We understand and apologize for the inconvenience caused by the construction. We are currently working to make enhancements to deliver a more comfortable stay for all of our guests. We hope for the opportunity to make this up to you the next time you are in the area. Sincerely, Allan C, General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Titus K
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience. Sincerely, Titus K,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gurgaon, India

Very comfortable stay, well worth it

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Comfort, quality, ambience and service quality
Cons: None
Location: Located in a quiet street away from road noise which is plentiful in Nairobi
We are a family of 3 that stayed here for 1 night at the end of June straight after arrival in Nairobi before heading out to Maasai mara for the safari. The stay was quite expensive, rivaling some of the big city hotels in the US. However, after having stayed there, I can say it is well worth it. We had a very comfortable stay, recharging before a long road trip. The breakfast spread was incredibly good - lots of variety, very good quality. The price we paid (separately for breakfast), though on the higher side was worth it. The room and beds were very comfortable, the staff were very friendly and always helpful and cheerful, the wifi worked well, the fitness center was very good. I would gladly stay there again and recommend to friends/family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by Titus K, Hotel Management
Dear Rajesh, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Titus K
5 out of 5
by Janet

Posted Jan 30, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Titus K