Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Start of safari

Posted Jan 17, 2017
We started a 10 day safari with a night in the hotel. It was the perfect way to start- good clean and efficient place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by Kelvin, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us and for your positive review! We do our best to ensure our guests satisfaction and we appreciate your feedback.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Terrible value

Posted Dec 15, 2016
20 min to check in, shabby hallways, tepid and plain food, rock hard mattress. All this is ok if your paying $100/$120 but NOT $180.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2016 by esales@ekahotel.com, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to make better our services for your comfort. We would be honored to host you during your next visit to Nairobi and as always we strive at offering better service and experience at the Eka Hotel. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable Nairobi Layover Hotel

Posted Dec 14, 2016
With a 12-hour overnight layover in Nairobi, did not want to stay in an airport terminal. Just a short 10-minute drive from airport, the hotel provides transport for a modest fee. The hotel has a modern Afro-centric decor. We enjoyed a delicious dinner buffet at the hotel restaurant. After a nice shower and restful sleep in nicely appointed rooms, we were fully refreshed to continue our journey and early AM flight connection.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2016 by Mourine Oloo, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I'm sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit to the hotel. Take care!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not so good

Posted Mar 3, 2016
Check in: lady very condescending staring at me and not welcoming at all. Asked for them to book a cab to the airport: was sent to the concierge who told me to go back to the reception. Was not allowed to call a cab that did not belong to the hotel. At the end nothing was the following when I did the check out. Food and cocktails too expensive for what they serve. The driver on my way back to the airport and the lady at the shop were great.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2016 by MO, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to make better our services for your comfort. We would be honored to host you during your next visit to Nairobi and as always we strive at offering better service and experience at the Eka Hotel. Thank you Warm Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Good, efficient hotel. The restaurant served a delicious meal promptly. We were very satisfied.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2016 by Director of Sales, Hotel Management
Dear Happy Guest My sincere apologies for the late response. Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our meals. We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. If you're traveling to our area again soon, don't hesitate to call us. Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A perfect overnight when arriving in Nairobi

Posted Oct 18, 2015
Pros: Can't really think of anything negative
Cons: Air conditioning could be more responsive to the controls
Location: We used it as an overnight in Nairobi when travelling. A great place for that purpose
Everything was great and comfortable. Can't think of more to say!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice hotel close to Airport

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: The closeness to the Airport. The service and friendliness.
Cons: Everything was splendid.
Location: As we only arrived very late at night and had to leave very early the next morning, I will have to go back and explore.
We arrived very late but regardless of that everyone and everything was just great. The driver that the hotel had provided to pick us up at the Airport was patiently waiting for us even though our flight was an hour and a half late! The room was clean and comfortable and spacious. The hotel was quite new and everything was really wonderful. I will recommend this hotel for sure to all my friends. A great place to stay, and very quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UAE

Nice hotel not far from Nairobi airport

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Good business hotel, excellent breakfast, very secure. Its not far from the airport.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Ordinary -far too expensive for what it was!

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Very average hotel - nothing exciting about it. 7km from airport on busy road
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto canada

Rooms fine, service mediocre

Posted Aug 30, 2014
This hotel is conveniently close to airport, about 15 min by taxi. Rooms clean and nicely decorated. Staff professionel but not overtly friendly. Absurdly, hotel airport shuttle not free and actually 3 times more expensive than regular taxi. I also stayed at other hotel in Nairobi which was much cheaper with better service.