Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by PERES

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017
Dear Peres, Thank you for your feedback and for rating us with 5 stars. We thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Moshi Perera General Manager, Fairmont The Norfolk & Fairmont Mara Safari Club
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tanzania

Nice hotel close to shops and restaurants.

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: The insulation in the room is fantastic. The gym is excellent. The staff are generally quite helpful. The garden looks peaceful and well maintained
Cons: The management could have been better. There should have been more interaction or resolution coming from managers to resolve issues. Food is expensive
Location: Excellent location. Close to shops, restaurants and bars.
Overall our stay at the Fairmont, The Norfolk Hotel is a little bit disappointing because we were expecting a 5star hotel. In our own travelling experience we have stayed in far better hotel than this one. Fairmont realistically is a 4star hotel. Firstly, when we booked we were not informed that there is a renovation happening within the hotel; i.e. hotel swimming pool is not available, painting inside the hotel is happening, at the front by the gate, the ground area is being resurfaced, a little bit of inconvenience. Inside our Double deluxe room, the shower head, towel rails and the connection for international plug all need maintenance. We informed the front desk and it was immediately resolved. But for a 5star hotel these minor issues should have been looked into by the manager. On our last day, after being out enjoying the sites of Nairobi we came back to the hotel and painting on the floor where we are staying is currently going. We could not stay in our room because of the smell and fumes was incredibly bad. We were not informed that it was happening that day. We asked for a change of room and it took more than 2 hours and we have to keep on following it up from the front desk. Yes, we were upgraded to a suite with bath (which is what we asked and booked for prior to arriving at Nairobi) but once again, the room appears to be outdated and needing an uplift. 5star hotel rating for Fairmont, The Norfolk should be reviewed or reassessed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by Moshi, Hotel Management
Dear Stephen, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in our property. We are delighted to read that you were pleased with the gym, the gardens and the service from the staff; but are sorry to read about the disappointing experience during your stay with us. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences experienced during your stay. We do take pride in the property and endeavor to retain its natural heritage and charm for a 112 year hotel. Since we are operational all year round, we do try to restrict any down time we have in any area to a minimum to continue the upkeep of the property to meet our client expectations. There is never really a good time to do any work in public spaces being operational all year. The driveway entrance was only affected for a couple of days whilst we rectified the uneven interlocking bricks which were uneven and posed potential hazard to pedestrians. However we did ensure that the other access gate was operational as well as a pedestrian access gate at all times. Please accept our apologies if the arrival sequence was not to your expectation during this rectification process. We did need to do some unforeseen remedial works to the heating system of the pool and took the opportunity to recycle the water and rectify some other areas at the same time. We appreciate that you were disappointed with the facilities not being available whilst we endeavored to retain standards in the best interests of our guests. We will also review how we can expedite the communication of unplanned or short lead time maintenance with our third party providers to avoid disappointment going forward. Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we do hope you allow us an early opportunity to restore your faith in our product to us all our facilities. Best regards, Moshi Perera General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel which catapults you back in time

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Special hotel with lovely staff. Everybody goes the extra mile to make you feel comfortable and happy. The ambience is amazing and throws you back in time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in Nairobi

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
I really loved staying here and would recommend it. Check-in didn't go particularly smoothly, my room wasn't ready and I was continually told it would only be 5 mins, when in reality it took 50 mins. Had I been told this in the first instance it would have been absolutely fine and not an issue, this did get my stay off to a bad start.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Nice hotel, atmosphere and good food

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Style, furnishings, lounge, food
Cons: Front desk should answer calls from rooms
Location: Fairly central spot in Nairobi
Location is pretty good. The building itself is very nice and staff are pleasant. Nice restaurant and bar. Good and timely room service. Only thing is the front desk didn't pick up my calls so I had to go to the front desk to book a wake up call. Otherwise it was great!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay in Nairobi

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel. Great for a stopover after a long journey.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Be aware of older wings - mosquitoes

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
Initially, I was allocated with a room in older wing. There were so many mosquitoes, I woke up with at least 10 bites. When I contacted the reception, they have organised to move me to the latest wing with a balcony. I had no problem with mosquitoes then and enjoyed comfort stay and sleep.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dilapidated property, poor staff quality

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
Aging property, that used to be nice,but now looked pretty run down. Lots of mold in the grout in the bathroom and chipped tiles. And the drain was so clogged that quickly you were standing in pool of water that threatened to overflow into the bathroom floor. Hotel service was also not good. Items (of low value) were missing from the room after first servicing of the room. Hotel did not properly address this issue, came back to us and said, no the housekeeping did not take the items.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Very nice hotel and very safe!

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Staying at the Fairmont after returning from our safari was an excellent way to end our stay in Africa! Our flight was delayed by 3 hours- landing around 1:30 AM-and still our driver waited for us with a big smile on his face! In fact, he greeted us the following morning ready to drive us around to visit our last sites in Africa. Considered a Western hotel, The Fairmont had robust security at the entrance, yet not intrusive.The room was clean, the bed calling our names, and the breakfast was top-notch! We would definitely go back, without any hesitation!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2016 by Moshi Perera, Hotel Management
Dear Heather, Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay with us. The team and I are delighted to read that you appreciated our overall service starting from the airport to your experience. We strive to ensure guests overall experiences are surpassed. We We do look forward to welcoming you back when in Nairobi for your next visit. Best regards, Moshi Perera General Manager, Fairmont The Norfolk & Fairmont Mara Safari Club