Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old colonial charm gone but still wonderful.

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: The staff is very helpful and friendly.
Cons: Food in Tatu was not worth the price. Did not come as requested.
Location: Takes about 1 1/2 hrs to get to the hotel from the airport as traffic is so heavy. Good location to take a wander around town.
The old colonial charm which used to be such a part of the old Norfolk is gone. Could now be any good hotel any where in the world. Rooms clean with all needed amenities, bar area nice good selection of wines, had dinner in their Tatu restaurant. Disappointing.. as fish over cooked, asked for fillet steak medium rare came medium well. No redness at all on meat. Service in restaurant was very good. Staff is excellent. Would definately stay again and recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2015 by Teresa Omari, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to review your stay at our property and for sharing your concerns. We are sorry about your disappointing experience at Tatu Restaurant we would like to assure that the necessary steps have been taken to ensure that this does not happen again. We are glad that the staff were pleasant and helpful, and that you would recommend us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Oct 15, 2015
Pros: プールやジムなどファシリティは清潔で素晴らしい。
今回の予約の中に朝食代が含まれていないことを失念しCheck-outの際に請求され、その金額にびっくり! 何と現地通貨で3,000シリング(3,000円)と東京の一流ホテル並みの値段。 その他のナイロビの物価に比べても高すぎる。
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2015 by Teresa, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at Fairmont The Norfolk and for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast and our Health club facilities. We have also noted your feedback regarding our prices and we shall work to review this.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Superb, safe, central location

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: Location, Safety, Comfort
Cons: no complaints at all.
Location: Very close to the University of Nairobi, easy walk to downtown and the City Market where I always shop, and to the Nairobi Museum.
I never stay in 5-Star, high-end hotels, too pricey. But the Expedia deal I got when buying my flights made this irresistible. This historic hotel surpassed our expectations for security, comfort, and location. We loved the quality of the rooms, the old photos from the British colonial era, the art, the lush grounds. People and service were excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2015 by Davide Bertilaccio, Area General Manager, Kenya, Hotel Management
Dear Marghe, Thank you for choosing Fairmont The Norfolk and for sharing your feedback. Your commentaries regarding your stay with us are very much valued. We are delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Nairobi! Regards, Davide
4 out of 5
by sylvia

Perfect hideaway

Posted Aug 6, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful atmosphere and setting. The perfect place to catch your breath and have meetings or relax before or after exploring dynamic Nairobi.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wien, Oesterreich

Hotel mit Kolonialflair

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Das Ambiente der ganzen Anlage
Cons: Fruehstueckbuffet preislich anpassen
Location: im Norden der CBA (Zentrum), in der Naehe ist das Nationalmuseum
Dies war 2015 mein zweiter Aufenthalt in diesem Hotel und im Gegensatz zu den vielen, weltweit identischen anonymen Betonkaesten fuehle ich mich im Norfolk mit seinem zentralen Garten und den max. 3 Stockwerken sehr wohl. Das Preis_Leistungsverhaeltnis ist in Ordnung, sieht man vom ueberteuerten Fruehstuecksbuffet ab (Alternative: Coffee/toast = Continental). Die Hotelanlage ist eine Oase der Ruhe, die Gartenrestaurants am Abend bieten eine angenehme Atmosphaere. Ein Bonus ist der im hinteren Teil der Anlage gelegene Pool.
5 out of 5

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by GERARD from lyon

Charme d'antan &Have de pays en plein centre

Posted Jul 20, 2015 on Hotels
Avons passé 2 jours très agréables, Hôtel au charme d'antan , très calme jardin tropical & piscine en plein centre. Préférence pour chambre avec vue jardin. Personnel souriant & efficace. Profitez des promos car assez cher !
5 out of 5
by Michael Sahl

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 16, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great experience!

Posted Jul 7, 2015
I stayed at this hotel for 10 days while working at the National Museum up the street. The hotel is very posh - for the upscale crowd. The bathroom had a wonderfully large tub and separate shower, which I appreciated. A comfortable desk and chair were provided and the bed was perfect. The work-out facility was clean with modern equipment and delicious infused water for after workout refreshment. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is friendly. If you plan to eat here just be prepared to spend double what you would elsewhere. A Tusker at the bar here is 500, but if you wander down to the Boulevard down the street it is 250. But this is what I'd expect for any upscale hotel in any big city. The security is intense so you will definitely feel safe.
5 out of 5
by Gregory

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 18, 2015 on Hotels