Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Nice central location.

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Great setting, comfortable, clean and surrounded by wonderful people.
Cons: I would have liked Indian food. Perhaps there could be more choice for vegetarian people.
Location: Central location opposite to Nairobi University. Easier to get to Parklands where there is great variety of Indian food, National Park and Museum.
Wonderful experience. We spent a few days in Nairobi and chose this hotel as it was in the heart of Nairobi. We felt it would be easier to get to other places. The hospitality was great and everyone went an extra mile to make the stay memorable. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I would have preferred more choice of Indian food being a vegetarian but overall the food was great. Room service was quick and satisfactory. The taxi service attached to the hotel was again very good. We used the same driver for most of our stay and he also took us outside Nairobi as a trust had been established. His knowledge of the area and experience were very helpful. This made a difference. Overall a wonderful location, peaceful and very hospitable staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet

Posted Jul 6, 2017
A lovely quiet place in a bustling city. The staff are so friendly and the restaurant Tatu is very impressive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Moshi, Hotel Management
Dear Sir / Madam, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your Fairmont The Norfolk experience, especially the service from the staff at Tatu Restaurant. We do look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards, Moshi Perera General Manager, Fairmont The Norfolk & Fairmont Mara Safari Club
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
Good stay at Norfolk Fairmont Nairobi
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Fairmont The Norfolk. My team and I appreciate your feedback and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do look forward to welcoming you to the hotel once again in the near future. Best regards, Moshi Perera General Manager, Fairmont The Norfolk & Fairmont Mara Safari Club
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
Norfolk is a really nice and quiet hotel. The staff/service was excellent. At the same time, there were about 5-6 dead mosquitoes on the bathroom walls and the furniture was kinda old and stained. Frankly, I could care less about the old furniture but if I have to pay almost $200 for a room, I certainly expect more. Nice hotel but grossly overpriced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at Fairmont The Norfolk and for your candid feedback. We do appreciate your kind words on the hotel and excellent staff & service. Please however accept our most sincere apologies for all the above-mentioned shortfalls experienced. This is not in keeping with the standards we are renowned for and this isolated experience does not exemplify what we can deliver. We would welcome an opportunity for us to restore your faith in us and experience the level of service we are accustomed to; as seen from the many reviews we have had. To this end please contact my office so that we can assist you further. Best regards, Moshi Perera General Manager, Fairmont The Norfolk & Fairmont Mara Safari Club
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
Good enjoyable comfortable stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Fairmont The Norfolk The team and I are delighted to read that you had a good, enjoyable and comfortable stay with us. We do look forward to an early opportunity to welcome you back. Best regards, Moshi Perera General Manager, Fairmont The Norfolk & Fairmont Mara Safari Club
4 out of 5
by Carole Anne

Stay out of the city.

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Just an overnight- but wouldn't go again. Better to stay out of the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Carole Anne, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent overnight stay in our property. We are sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay and would be grateful if you could provide us with details to assist us understand why. We look forward to another opportunity to host you. Best regards, Moshi Perera General Manager, Fairmont The Norfolk & Fairmont Mara Safari Club
4 out of 5
by Simon

Pleasant hotel but the service is really slow

Posted Jan 28, 2017 on Hotels
Pleasant hotel but the service is really slow
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Simon, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our property and for sharing your concern. We take all our guests’ feedbacks very seriously. We are glad to hear that your stay was pleasant. Please however accept our most sincere apologies for the slow service. Remedial steps are being taken to avoid such situations in future and we look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards, Moshi Perera General Manager, Fairmont The Norfolk & Fairmont Mara Safari Club
5 out of 5
by PERES

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017
Dear Peres, Thank you for your feedback and for rating us with 5 stars. We thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Moshi Perera General Manager, Fairmont The Norfolk & Fairmont Mara Safari Club
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tanzania

Nice hotel close to shops and restaurants.

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: The insulation in the room is fantastic. The gym is excellent. The staff are generally quite helpful. The garden looks peaceful and well maintained
Cons: The management could have been better. There should have been more interaction or resolution coming from managers to resolve issues. Food is expensive
Location: Excellent location. Close to shops, restaurants and bars.
Overall our stay at the Fairmont, The Norfolk Hotel is a little bit disappointing because we were expecting a 5star hotel. In our own travelling experience we have stayed in far better hotel than this one. Fairmont realistically is a 4star hotel. Firstly, when we booked we were not informed that there is a renovation happening within the hotel; i.e. hotel swimming pool is not available, painting inside the hotel is happening, at the front by the gate, the ground area is being resurfaced, a little bit of inconvenience. Inside our Double deluxe room, the shower head, towel rails and the connection for international plug all need maintenance. We informed the front desk and it was immediately resolved. But for a 5star hotel these minor issues should have been looked into by the manager. On our last day, after being out enjoying the sites of Nairobi we came back to the hotel and painting on the floor where we are staying is currently going. We could not stay in our room because of the smell and fumes was incredibly bad. We were not informed that it was happening that day. We asked for a change of room and it took more than 2 hours and we have to keep on following it up from the front desk. Yes, we were upgraded to a suite with bath (which is what we asked and booked for prior to arriving at Nairobi) but once again, the room appears to be outdated and needing an uplift. 5star hotel rating for Fairmont, The Norfolk should be reviewed or reassessed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by Moshi, Hotel Management
Dear Stephen, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in our property. We are delighted to read that you were pleased with the gym, the gardens and the service from the staff; but are sorry to read about the disappointing experience during your stay with us. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences experienced during your stay. We do take pride in the property and endeavor to retain its natural heritage and charm for a 112 year hotel. Since we are operational all year round, we do try to restrict any down time we have in any area to a minimum to continue the upkeep of the property to meet our client expectations. There is never really a good time to do any work in public spaces being operational all year. The driveway entrance was only affected for a couple of days whilst we rectified the uneven interlocking bricks which were uneven and posed potential hazard to pedestrians. However we did ensure that the other access gate was operational as well as a pedestrian access gate at all times. Please accept our apologies if the arrival sequence was not to your expectation during this rectification process. We did need to do some unforeseen remedial works to the heating system of the pool and took the opportunity to recycle the water and rectify some other areas at the same time. We appreciate that you were disappointed with the facilities not being available whilst we endeavored to retain standards in the best interests of our guests. We will also review how we can expedite the communication of unplanned or short lead time maintenance with our third party providers to avoid disappointment going forward. Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we do hope you allow us an early opportunity to restore your faith in our product to us all our facilities. Best regards, Moshi Perera General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel which catapults you back in time

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Special hotel with lovely staff. Everybody goes the extra mile to make you feel comfortable and happy. The ambience is amazing and throws you back in time.