Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tanzania

Nice hotel close to shops and restaurants.

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: The insulation in the room is fantastic. The gym is excellent. The staff are generally quite helpful. The garden looks peaceful and well maintained
Cons: The management could have been better. There should have been more interaction or resolution coming from managers to resolve issues. Food is expensive
Location: Excellent location. Close to shops, restaurants and bars.
Overall our stay at the Fairmont, The Norfolk Hotel is a little bit disappointing because we were expecting a 5star hotel. In our own travelling experience we have stayed in far better hotel than this one. Fairmont realistically is a 4star hotel. Firstly, when we booked we were not informed that there is a renovation happening within the hotel; i.e. hotel swimming pool is not available, painting inside the hotel is happening, at the front by the gate, the ground area is being resurfaced, a little bit of inconvenience. Inside our Double deluxe room, the shower head, towel rails and the connection for international plug all need maintenance. We informed the front desk and it was immediately resolved. But for a 5star hotel these minor issues should have been looked into by the manager. On our last day, after being out enjoying the sites of Nairobi we came back to the hotel and painting on the floor where we are staying is currently going. We could not stay in our room because of the smell and fumes was incredibly bad. We were not informed that it was happening that day. We asked for a change of room and it took more than 2 hours and we have to keep on following it up from the front desk. Yes, we were upgraded to a suite with bath (which is what we asked and booked for prior to arriving at Nairobi) but once again, the room appears to be outdated and needing an uplift. 5star hotel rating for Fairmont, The Norfolk should be reviewed or reassessed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel which catapults you back in time

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Special hotel with lovely staff. Everybody goes the extra mile to make you feel comfortable and happy. The ambience is amazing and throws you back in time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Nice hotel, atmosphere and good food

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Style, furnishings, lounge, food
Cons: Front desk should answer calls from rooms
Location: Fairly central spot in Nairobi
Location is pretty good. The building itself is very nice and staff are pleasant. Nice restaurant and bar. Good and timely room service. Only thing is the front desk didn't pick up my calls so I had to go to the front desk to book a wake up call. Otherwise it was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Very nice hotel and very safe!

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Staying at the Fairmont after returning from our safari was an excellent way to end our stay in Africa! Our flight was delayed by 3 hours- landing around 1:30 AM-and still our driver waited for us with a big smile on his face! In fact, he greeted us the following morning ready to drive us around to visit our last sites in Africa. Considered a Western hotel, The Fairmont had robust security at the entrance, yet not intrusive.The room was clean, the bed calling our names, and the breakfast was top-notch! We would definitely go back, without any hesitation!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2016 by Moshi Perera, Hotel Management
Dear Heather, Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay with us. The team and I are delighted to read that you appreciated our overall service starting from the airport to your experience. We strive to ensure guests overall experiences are surpassed. We We do look forward to welcoming you back when in Nairobi for your next visit. Best regards, Moshi Perera General Manager, Fairmont The Norfolk & Fairmont Mara Safari Club
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from La Canada, CA

Overnight stay in Berkeley.

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Lovely old building with a great tradition of service.
Cons: Get the wait staff in the main dining room more on the ball.
Location: Handy for UC Berkeley and Mills College.
Beautiful classic old hotel. Staff are up to excellent standards with the notable exception of the wait staff in the main dining room. It took over an hour for your dinner to arrive and they weren't busy. Also the place is a club resort and out of the people in the pool, etc were locals. This is great for business but not so much as a hotel guest getting jostled in the pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2016 by Moshi Perera, Hotel Management
Dear David, Many thanks for posting a review on Fairmont The Norfolk. The team and I are delighted to read that you appreciated the historic building and great service. We take note of your feedback regarding dinner taking longer to be served. It is through such feedback that we strive to ensure our guests expectations are surpassed. In light of the above please accept my sincere apologies. I have put in place measures to avoid such occurrences in future. Thank you once again and we do hope that we will have the opportunity to host you once again in the near future. Best regards, Moshi Perera General Manager, Fairmont The Norfolk & Fairmont Mara Safari Club
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Enjoyed the Fairmont Norfolk hotel.

Posted Feb 24, 2016
Pros: Gardens, staff, services
Cons: The hotel room could use a bit of maintenance in the bath room. The wood through out was beautifully finished.
Location: It was recommended that I do not walk the streets alone. I hired a private driver and enjoyed visiting the Nairobi Historical, Karen B, Elephant orph
Wonderful, friendly staff. The Health center was inviting, and I had a 5 star facial and massage. When I return to the Norfolk, I will definitely schedule both again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2016 by Moshi Perera, Hotel Management
Dear Valued guest, Thank you for taking time to write a review on Expedia.com. We are delighted to read such positive feedback. The team and i work extremely hard to ensure our guests moments are made memorable. We take note of your feedback regarding the bathroom. The team have worked on it and is now perfect. We are proud of our oasis in the heart of the city and we do hope that we will have the opportunity to host you once again Best regards, Moshi Perera General Manager, Fairmont The Norfolk & Fairmont Mara Safari Club
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Top notch colonial hotel With great steaks!

Posted Oct 23, 2015
Steak restaurant rivals Those in NYC on quality, service could not have been better. Unfortunately, they had no (none,nada) dishes for my vegetarian guests otherwise I would have eaten there more often. Desserts looked so sinful, you would have to go to confession afterwards. Breakfast is buffet style for approx $30. I had difficulty ordering a la carte and pricing was a bit questionable how it was calculated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old colonial charm gone but still wonderful.

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: The staff is very helpful and friendly.
Cons: Food in Tatu was not worth the price. Did not come as requested.
Location: Takes about 1 1/2 hrs to get to the hotel from the airport as traffic is so heavy. Good location to take a wander around town.
The old colonial charm which used to be such a part of the old Norfolk is gone. Could now be any good hotel any where in the world. Rooms clean with all needed amenities, bar area nice good selection of wines, had dinner in their Tatu restaurant. Disappointing.. as fish over cooked, asked for fillet steak medium rare came medium well. No redness at all on meat. Service in restaurant was very good. Staff is excellent. Would definately stay again and recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2015 by Teresa Omari, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to review your stay at our property and for sharing your concerns. We are sorry about your disappointing experience at Tatu Restaurant we would like to assure that the necessary steps have been taken to ensure that this does not happen again. We are glad that the staff were pleasant and helpful, and that you would recommend us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Superb, safe, central location

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: Location, Safety, Comfort
Cons: no complaints at all.
Location: Very close to the University of Nairobi, easy walk to downtown and the City Market where I always shop, and to the Nairobi Museum.
I never stay in 5-Star, high-end hotels, too pricey. But the Expedia deal I got when buying my flights made this irresistible. This historic hotel surpassed our expectations for security, comfort, and location. We loved the quality of the rooms, the old photos from the British colonial era, the art, the lush grounds. People and service were excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2015 by Davide Bertilaccio, Area General Manager, Kenya, Hotel Management
Dear Marghe, Thank you for choosing Fairmont The Norfolk and for sharing your feedback. Your commentaries regarding your stay with us are very much valued. We are delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Nairobi! Regards, Davide
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great experience!

Posted Jul 7, 2015
I stayed at this hotel for 10 days while working at the National Museum up the street. The hotel is very posh - for the upscale crowd. The bathroom had a wonderfully large tub and separate shower, which I appreciated. A comfortable desk and chair were provided and the bed was perfect. The work-out facility was clean with modern equipment and delicious infused water for after workout refreshment. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is friendly. If you plan to eat here just be prepared to spend double what you would elsewhere. A Tusker at the bar here is 500, but if you wander down to the Boulevard down the street it is 250. But this is what I'd expect for any upscale hotel in any big city. The security is intense so you will definitely feel safe.