Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fairmont the Norfolk, Nairobi

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Pros: Stately hotel with very good service and charming grounds,
The hotel is situated in the University district of Nairobi not far from the museum. The hotel is lovely, with a very good restaurant and a bar that also serves food. There is a welcome heated pool. There are lots of repairs being done in various parts of the hotel. Lighting along the paths to the wings was very limited and a potential hazard given the slippery surfaces of the walkways and construction materials along the way. Our room in a further wing was quite dated, though very spacious. There were noise problems somewhere in the system that were quite annoying and forced our friends to relocate to another wing. The hotel mentioned that they were going to shut down that wing due to persistent issues with this. We did not experience that noise until the final night but it was significant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sarasota fla

Nice grounds. Otherwise terrible

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Bad food poor service small room needs updated but was clean
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2017 by Moshi, Hotel Management
Dear Gary, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our property and for sharing your concerns. We take all our guests’ feedbacks very seriously. We are disappointed to learn that you received poor service, and the quality of the room was not your expectation. We assure you that this is not our standard and would appreciate if you could provide us with more details in regard to the room and the outlet you dined at so we can check the food and the service. We have different categories of rooms and we invite you to have a look to see which you would prefer as they have different aspects and sizes with the history of the building making each room unique in its own way. We would welcome an opportunity for us to restore your faith in us and experience the level of service we are accustomed to as seen from the many reviews we have had. Best regards, Moshi Perera General Manager, Fairmont The Norfolk & Fairmont Mara Safari Club
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Nice central location.

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Great setting, comfortable, clean and surrounded by wonderful people.
Cons: I would have liked Indian food. Perhaps there could be more choice for vegetarian people.
Location: Central location opposite to Nairobi University. Easier to get to Parklands where there is great variety of Indian food, National Park and Museum.
Wonderful experience. We spent a few days in Nairobi and chose this hotel as it was in the heart of Nairobi. We felt it would be easier to get to other places. The hospitality was great and everyone went an extra mile to make the stay memorable. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I would have preferred more choice of Indian food being a vegetarian but overall the food was great. Room service was quick and satisfactory. The taxi service attached to the hotel was again very good. We used the same driver for most of our stay and he also took us outside Nairobi as a trust had been established. His knowledge of the area and experience were very helpful. This made a difference. Overall a wonderful location, peaceful and very hospitable staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Moshi, Hotel Management
Dear Harcharan, Thank you very much staying with us and for taking the time to give us your feedback. We do appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay with us and are especially glad to hear that you enjoyed the ambience, comfort, cleanliness, location and hospitality of the staff. Our menus try to offer a balanced international offering and we do provide that in our menus. However we would be happy to offer you some bespoke vegetarian food on request which our chefs would be happy to assist you with on a future stay. We hope you will stay with us again in the not so distant future. Best regards, Moshi Perera General Manager, Fairmont The Norfolk & Fairmont Mara Safari Club
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Ebookers
lovely hotel. good location. helpful staff. rooms clean and quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Moshi, Hotel Management
Dear Sir / Madam, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay; especially the clean and quiet rooms, good location and helpful staff. We look forward to hosting in future. Best regards, Moshi Perera General Manager, Fairmont The Norfolk & Fairmont Mara Safari Club
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet

Posted Jul 6, 2017
A lovely quiet place in a bustling city. The staff are so friendly and the restaurant Tatu is very impressive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Moshi, Hotel Management
Dear Sir / Madam, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your Fairmont The Norfolk experience, especially the service from the staff at Tatu Restaurant. We do look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards, Moshi Perera General Manager, Fairmont The Norfolk & Fairmont Mara Safari Club
5 out of 5
by Zoe

An enchanting oasis in the heart of Nairobi.

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk is an oasis of comfort and beauty in Nairobi. To be honest Nairobi itself leaves much to be desired - the best things to do are the giraffe sanctuary and the David Sheldrick trust for the baby elephants ( you can foster one for $50 a year and then you can go at 5pm to watch them run in from the bush to go to their beds and have supper - an absolute delight). Back to the Norfolk though which has been there since colonial times and still has that grandeur. The heated pool and free spa is a great bonus too, especially after coming back from a safari. We loved it and were sad to leave.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017
Dear Zoe Thank you for choosing to stay at Fairmont The Norfolk and thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your kind words on the grandeur and comfort of the Hotel and the pool and our facilities. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best regards, Moshi Perera General Manager, Fairmont The Norfolk & Fairmont Mara Safari Club
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
Good stay at Norfolk Fairmont Nairobi
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Fairmont The Norfolk. My team and I appreciate your feedback and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do look forward to welcoming you to the hotel once again in the near future. Best regards, Moshi Perera General Manager, Fairmont The Norfolk & Fairmont Mara Safari Club
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
Norfolk is a really nice and quiet hotel. The staff/service was excellent. At the same time, there were about 5-6 dead mosquitoes on the bathroom walls and the furniture was kinda old and stained. Frankly, I could care less about the old furniture but if I have to pay almost $200 for a room, I certainly expect more. Nice hotel but grossly overpriced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at Fairmont The Norfolk and for your candid feedback. We do appreciate your kind words on the hotel and excellent staff & service. Please however accept our most sincere apologies for all the above-mentioned shortfalls experienced. This is not in keeping with the standards we are renowned for and this isolated experience does not exemplify what we can deliver. We would welcome an opportunity for us to restore your faith in us and experience the level of service we are accustomed to; as seen from the many reviews we have had. To this end please contact my office so that we can assist you further. Best regards, Moshi Perera General Manager, Fairmont The Norfolk & Fairmont Mara Safari Club
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2017 on Hotels
Good enjoyable comfortable stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Fairmont The Norfolk The team and I are delighted to read that you had a good, enjoyable and comfortable stay with us. We do look forward to an early opportunity to welcome you back. Best regards, Moshi Perera General Manager, Fairmont The Norfolk & Fairmont Mara Safari Club
4 out of 5
by Carole Anne

Stay out of the city.

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Just an overnight- but wouldn't go again. Better to stay out of the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Carole Anne, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent overnight stay in our property. We are sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay and would be grateful if you could provide us with details to assist us understand why. We look forward to another opportunity to host you. Best regards, Moshi Perera General Manager, Fairmont The Norfolk & Fairmont Mara Safari Club