Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from berlin

sehr gutes Stadthotel

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Location: gute nähe zum flughafen
wir haben uns wie immer sehr wohl dort gefühlt kommen schon das 3. mal hier ins hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from münchen

wir sind schon das 2. mail in diesem jahr hier

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: aufmerksamer service und freundliche mitarbeiter !!!!!
Cons: das hotel hat uns sehr gut gefallen wir kommen wieder!!!!
Location: gute lage, mit fughafenservice
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Very nice hotel and very safe!

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Staying at the Fairmont after returning from our safari was an excellent way to end our stay in Africa! Our flight was delayed by 3 hours- landing around 1:30 AM-and still our driver waited for us with a big smile on his face! In fact, he greeted us the following morning ready to drive us around to visit our last sites in Africa. Considered a Western hotel, The Fairmont had robust security at the entrance, yet not intrusive.The room was clean, the bed calling our names, and the breakfast was top-notch! We would definitely go back, without any hesitation!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2016 by Moshi Perera, Hotel Management
Dear Heather, Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay with us. The team and I are delighted to read that you appreciated our overall service starting from the airport to your experience. We strive to ensure guests overall experiences are surpassed. We We do look forward to welcoming you back when in Nairobi for your next visit. Best regards, Moshi Perera General Manager, Fairmont The Norfolk & Fairmont Mara Safari Club
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from La Canada, CA

Overnight stay in Berkeley.

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Lovely old building with a great tradition of service.
Cons: Get the wait staff in the main dining room more on the ball.
Location: Handy for UC Berkeley and Mills College.
Beautiful classic old hotel. Staff are up to excellent standards with the notable exception of the wait staff in the main dining room. It took over an hour for your dinner to arrive and they weren't busy. Also the place is a club resort and out of the people in the pool, etc were locals. This is great for business but not so much as a hotel guest getting jostled in the pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2016 by Moshi Perera, Hotel Management
Dear David, Many thanks for posting a review on Fairmont The Norfolk. The team and I are delighted to read that you appreciated the historic building and great service. We take note of your feedback regarding dinner taking longer to be served. It is through such feedback that we strive to ensure our guests expectations are surpassed. In light of the above please accept my sincere apologies. I have put in place measures to avoid such occurrences in future. Thank you once again and we do hope that we will have the opportunity to host you once again in the near future. Best regards, Moshi Perera General Manager, Fairmont The Norfolk & Fairmont Mara Safari Club
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Darmstadt

Gut

Posted May 7, 2016
Wlan nicht so optimal hinsichtlich Funktion, ansonsten gutes hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2016 by Moshi Perera, Hotel Management
Dear Valued guest, Thank you very much for choosing Fairmont The Norfolk for your stay and more so for taking the time to post your feedback. We appreciate your overall positive comments regarding your experience with us. We also note your comments regarding our Wi-Fi connection. I have followed up with the IT team and this has been sorted out. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Moshi Perera, General Manager, Fairmont The Norfolk & Fairmont Mara Safari Club
5 out of 5
by Daniel from Hong Kong

Don't even consider anywhere else in Nairobi!

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
What a perfect African hotel. The staff are outrageously friendly, the food and drinks delicious, and the setting straight out of a novel. Would consider only staying here when in Nairobi.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Enjoyed the Fairmont Norfolk hotel.

Posted Feb 24, 2016
Pros: Gardens, staff, services
Cons: The hotel room could use a bit of maintenance in the bath room. The wood through out was beautifully finished.
Location: It was recommended that I do not walk the streets alone. I hired a private driver and enjoyed visiting the Nairobi Historical, Karen B, Elephant orph
Wonderful, friendly staff. The Health center was inviting, and I had a 5 star facial and massage. When I return to the Norfolk, I will definitely schedule both again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2016 by Moshi Perera, Hotel Management
Dear Valued guest, Thank you for taking time to write a review on Expedia.com. We are delighted to read such positive feedback. The team and i work extremely hard to ensure our guests moments are made memorable. We take note of your feedback regarding the bathroom. The team have worked on it and is now perfect. We are proud of our oasis in the heart of the city and we do hope that we will have the opportunity to host you once again Best regards, Moshi Perera General Manager, Fairmont The Norfolk & Fairmont Mara Safari Club
5 out of 5
by Brian from Denver

Highest quality

Posted Jan 31, 2016 on Hotels
Very clean, comfortable, and safe. Spa and gym services are a real bonus. Terrace restaurant was wonderful. Bar restaurants had good food and selection but slow pace. Rooms along the street can be noisy, but insulation is above average. Staff went out of their way to return a forgotten item to me, much appreciated.
4 out of 5
by Megan from South Africa

Fantastic service - but comes at a price!

Posted Dec 6, 2015 on Hotels
The Norfolk Hotel is truly a gem when it comes to service. By my second day at the hotel everyone from the doorman to the front desk staff was greeting me by name and asking me how my day was.The security is very tight - with suitcases and taxis being scanned on the way in. The food was excellent. My only two criticisms of this hotel were the price and the noise in my room. This hotel is EXPENSIVE - compared to other similar hotels in other major cities. At the price I paid I would have expected breakfast to be included - but found out that it would be an additional $35. My room - 720 - must have been next to the pump house for the hotel. I battled to sleep with the intermittent sounds of pumping and whining motors coming through the walls. The door on to my balcony also did not lock and I had to ask maintenance to fix it for me.