Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel with hospitable staff

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Friendly and accommodation staff - ideal location
Cons: No
Location: Ideally situated - close to the market and restaurants.
I found the staff to be friendly and accommodating. I was particularly impressed when I requested a late checkout until 8:00 p.m. and they said "yes" Breakfast buffet - in my top 10 and I travel considerably
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to city centre amenities

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Nothing special to write about as my stay was an overnight transit layover. I have stayed at the hotel before and I am used to their good service. What stood out was the genuine focus on security including thorough car searches and luggage scanning at the gate. Whilst it is inconvenient if is very reassuring given the security incidents in Kenya. Great job Intercontinental! On a less positive side the hotel is looking tired and can do with a refurbishment upgrade.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

MITIGATED IMPRESSION

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: the personal, very kind and professional as well as the security around the hotel, not accessible by visitors.
Cons: It seems that some rooms need to be renovated, they moved me to another room on the 6 floor much better than the previous one
well I did not like the room I was on the third floor, too old fashion
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Japan

Location, Security and Resonable Price

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: It was very helpful that two complimental bottles of water were in the room every day. The goods in the bathroom were also helpful.
Cons: The shower was too old model to use comfortably.
Location: That is next to Uhuru Park. Please, however, keep in mind you cannot enjoy the view of the park from any place of the hotel.....
First of all, this hotel building is very old. We cannot expect them to improve the facilities. (I believe they can immediately change the threadbare curtain and chipped dish, though.) I did not think the staff was excellent. On the other hand, the location is perfect or this hotel is in the center of Nairobi. I was able to return to the hotel between my business appointments in a day. In addition, it had strict security. Body check was well done and there were gentlemen looking strong. Finaly, the price is much less expensive than other five star hotels. If you want luxury stay in Nairobi, I don't recommend this hotel. It is best for BUSINESS USE. What else do you need for your business trip rather than location, security and reasonable price?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2016
The room was very comfortable for sleeping and bathing. It was mort than big enough for us and our 16 year old daughter to spend the night in before our Masai Mara safari. We felt very safe and secure as the staff have a security screening, very similar to the airport, which you walk through and have bags screened before entering the hotel. Breakfast was absolutely EXCELLENT AS WAS THE POOL AREA FOR RELAXING AND SWIMMING.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay in Nairobi

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
Business hotel but still very accommodating to families. Excellent food, very friendly and helpful staff, excellent wifi and convenient location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good hotel in nice city

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
nice hotel with very professional staff from the hotel security to management (special thanks to receptionists and housekeeping staff) in a center of Nairobi close to almost most of attractions.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in good location for work

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing staff and building and facilities. Great for work as location and staff make it easy to get to meetings.
5 out of 5
by Terence

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 24, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by STEVEN from Dubai

Miles away from a 5 Star

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed for 9 nights at this hotel with my family. 40 years old run down building that definitely warrants a renovation, Roaches all over the property especially at the Safari & Makuti Bar, the Terrace restaurant nightmare with roaches near the omelette station. Receptionists weren't too friendly, however the concierge "Jacob" & Terrace restaurant Managers "Michael & Cecilia" very friendly and warm and went the extra mile, true asset I must admit and wish the other staff took a keen interest to improve their service level. Tried the Sunday Brunch which was absolutely fab with live music band, kids entertainment, BBQ station and a good buffet spread.