Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moscow

Nice 3 star hotel woth 4 star facilities

Posted Jan 14, 2017
I stated only for one night. I enjoy the stay, staff were extremely humble. Fast check in, clean, bit old bed sheet cover, good breakfast, choice of fresh juices etc. would like to stay back.
3 out of 5
by Gerhard from Stellenbosch

Business Travel

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
Really very good service, but the hotel is somewhat run down, no aircon in the rooms. Was not bad for now (winter), but I do not thinkk I will stay there in summer. Also good value for money, and very good neighborhood for walking to good restaurants. Also seems close to many businesses for my meetings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent hotel well located, nothing fancy.

Posted Jul 27, 2016
We really enjoy this hotel and have found it much more reliable and sound than higher priced ones.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Great hospitality in worn but maintained property

Posted Jul 20, 2016
I booked a room at Jacaranda at the recommendation of a colleague who's extensive network of Africa-based aid workers and academics suggested it as a safe, comfortable, and affordable option in Nairobi. I was attending a conference in the city center each day, and the front desk staff arranged a driver for me. The area is not one I'd walk around, but it was my first time to Nairobi so maybe I'm a wimp. The place had excellent security and the rooms were fine, though a bit dated. The pool looked nice, but it was too cold to swim. The gym and spa on site were great. The onsite restaurant was adequate. The service was excellent. Everyone was very attentive and kind. This is a great place if you are looking for a secure hotel in Nairobi and don't mind taking a driver when you go out. The only contraindication is that there are lots of stairs and seemingly no ADA-like accommodations, so disabled travelers may look elsewhere.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nairobi Business Trip

Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
Good comfortable stay with caring and diligent staff. Keep up the good work!
3 out of 5
by Jennifer from UK

It's ok.

Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
The room was ok, had everything it needed, but it wasn't plush or modern. I've stayed here before, so knew what to expect, however my room was at the front of the hotel and I was faced with the music from the nightclub over the road which kept me up until it stopped at 1:30am on the Thursday. The hotel did move my room the following day, after requesting a quieter room. The service from all the staff was very friendly, but not the most efficient, and I was made late to work on my last day as the check out took nearly 30 minutes to complete. The outdoor areas are lovely and peaceful, and the breakfast was ok. I got a good rate when I stayed, but if I paid more, I think I would expect a little more.
4 out of 5
by J from Bedfont, Middx

Convenience, Central and Enjoyable

Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed our stay at the Jacaranda as its location is very central to loads of activity. The staff are superb and friendly, and the food just great and grounds very relaxing...
4 out of 5
by J from Bedfort, Middx

Relax in peaceful environs

Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed our stay at the Jacaranda as its location is very central to loads of activity. The staff are superb and friendly, and the food just great and grounds very relaxing...
2 out of 5
by Safiyya from Dar es Salaam

All we wanted was a clean room and working shower

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Room was too small for a triple. They just squeezed in a third single into a double room. Showers did not work well and we had to move rooms as a result, after waiting for over half an hour in my towel. It was also suggested that the fault was ours, although the maintenance staff himself could not resolve the matter.
5 out of 5
by Carrie from California

Lovely hotel in nairobi

Posted Jan 28, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel in Nairobi. Nothing special for the price by U.S. standards, but a welcome respite from the Africa guest houses we had been staying at. Excellent service, beautiful grounds and pool, great breakfast. Loved the spa. Note to management- when I ran a tub of water, the water was brown. Consider treating your water. The pool looked cleaner than the bathtub.