Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moscow

Nice 3 star hotel woth 4 star facilities

Posted Jan 14, 2017
I stated only for one night. I enjoy the stay, staff were extremely humble. Fast check in, clean, bit old bed sheet cover, good breakfast, choice of fresh juices etc. would like to stay back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent hotel well located, nothing fancy.

Posted Jul 27, 2016
We really enjoy this hotel and have found it much more reliable and sound than higher priced ones.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Great hospitality in worn but maintained property

Posted Jul 20, 2016
I booked a room at Jacaranda at the recommendation of a colleague who's extensive network of Africa-based aid workers and academics suggested it as a safe, comfortable, and affordable option in Nairobi. I was attending a conference in the city center each day, and the front desk staff arranged a driver for me. The area is not one I'd walk around, but it was my first time to Nairobi so maybe I'm a wimp. The place had excellent security and the rooms were fine, though a bit dated. The pool looked nice, but it was too cold to swim. The gym and spa on site were great. The onsite restaurant was adequate. The service was excellent. Everyone was very attentive and kind. This is a great place if you are looking for a secure hotel in Nairobi and don't mind taking a driver when you go out. The only contraindication is that there are lots of stairs and seemingly no ADA-like accommodations, so disabled travelers may look elsewhere.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Money-hungry a lot. Almost charge to pee.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Definitely won't go back. I had a five day short stay and it seems like if I cleared my throat, there definitely was gonna be a bill.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Henry from Canberra ACT 2601, Australia

Jacaranda Hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2012
Pros: Classic atmosphere
Location: Good for west end of town. Close to good shops.
Pleasant old hotel. Location good for western end of Nairobi, but crossing town to business in eastern part can be very slow. Direct booking with hotel is expensive. Usual glitches for the region - telephones and internet not always working. Established gardens.
2 out of 5
by Rima from Based in Denmark. Work location: Somaliland

Not the best for business travellers

Posted May 24, 2012
Pros: The gym, where I go to keep fit and sweat off the stress caused by the internet and other service issues of the hotel!
Cons: The food and the internet - which I am dependent on for business.
Location: Across the road from Sarit Center with a super market, book store, clothing, pharmacy, fast food outlets, telecom shop and an internet center.
The Deluxe Rooms are better than the standard rooms. Most of the staff are extremely warm, welcoming and helpful, however, there are a few who are at the other end of the spectrum. If you are here for business. Internet is atrocious. If you have deadlines and you depend on the internet...the Jacaranda might not be the best option. Internet at the business center will cause hypertension. My airport pickups did not show up on two separate occasions. Rooms are small. Telephones in the rooms don't work. Cost is at the high end, for a hotel that is a bit "weary" and has seen its hey day. In between stays, I stayed at the Amman Sheraton, and for the same price, it was paradise. Food service, particularly at dinner is extremely slow, and can take up to 45 minutes. I ordered a banana smoothie which did not show up even after half hour, and I had to cancel. The best part about the hotel, is the gym, for those who like to keep fit. Other pluses: it has a nice garden, you can walk across the road to the Sarit Center where there is a super market, a book store, clothing store, a pharmacy, some fast food outlets etc, as well as telecom shop and an internet center.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Quentin from Europe

nice hotel for business travellers

Posted Feb 3, 2012
Nice hotel, very good location, and the food is just OK (I'd recommend to eat outside, many places nearby). The internet connection is good though it's a bit expensive. But what I appreciate the most is the garden and the nice swimming pool where you can relax after a long day at work. For people who do sport, you'll find a good gym there (free access during your stay). I recommend it for business travellers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

Jacaranda, Nairobi

Posted Jul 8, 2011
I returned to the Jacaranda - a hotel I have visited fairly regularly over the past 20 years - but little in the past 3 years. It has been up-dated, and refurbished, which has enhanced its charm. The facilities were excellent, the staff exemplary, friendly and helpful. The location was ideal for me - but it is not one the mosey around in if you are new to Nairobi. The food had improved, and it was good to see more Kenyan food offered, rather the more usual bland international fare.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Adrian from Saskatoon, CANADA

Good Nairobi hotel - if you don't like the downtown

Posted Apr 6, 2011
A good hotel with quite surroundings and very good service. There is no AC so if that is important to you stay away. But there are good beds, in large rooms, with ceiling fans and bed nets. They look after you with rapid service on issues in your room, and a very good breakfast with great coffee!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Adrian from Saskatoon, CANADA

Adrian Johnston

Posted Jan 11, 2011
This is a well managed hotel, in a quite area. Excellent gym, pool, breakfast and fairly good internet connection (could not use Skype). This hotel has no AC, so beware if the use of a ceiling fan, bed netting and open windows is not to your liking. Very nice gift shop and adjacent mall provided good shopping.