Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Heidi from Ft. Myers, FL

Wonderful!!

Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels
What truly makes this hotel is the staff. They are wonderful! So kind and helpful. From arranging a taxi to selecting all the particulars of your breakfast, they will make sure you are happy. When I arrived at midnight at the Nairobi airport for my first trip to Africa, I was nervous if someone from the hotel would really be there to meet me This hotel is such a safe and comfortable place. Super yummy breakfast. Thank you to everyone at Khweza! Heidi
3 out of 5
by Xin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, bc

as expected for short stay in Nairobi

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: as advertised
Cons: room 17 was next to kitchen and on front street so it was a bit noisy. However, not much can be done about that.
Has to find an inexpensive place to stay while in between flights. Nairobi was not a place we wanted to be a tourist in and this hotel location did not alleviate that feeling. To kill the time, the taxi ordered from front desk took us to Nairobi National Museum for a couple of hours. The driver came back to pick us up and even took us to a pharmacy which was open on Boxing day to get me some cough medication. The hotel was ok but roof-top restaurant needed lots of patience as service was slow and not all items on menu were available. This was ok for us but as we had nothing else to do. Tusker beer was inexpensive though. They thoughtfully brought breakfast to our room at 5:30 am on the morning we were to catch our flight back to Amsterdam.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Suitable with few frills

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels
A stopover no-frills hotel. Staff friendly and accommodating. Have their own airport shuttle is convenient. Breakfast pre-ordered and was delivered right on time. The cavernous centre court may interfere with sleep for light sleepers. Decent value. Prepare for tons of traffic if going to airport in the morning. Leave plenty early
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent, but would not return

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels
Decent hotel, but extremely loud. The kitchen started up around 5:30am, and I heard every movement. Room was in acceptable condition, and rooftop restaurant was nice. But, there are better hotels in the price range.
4 out of 5
by Julia from Doha

Value for money

Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels
Great value for your money if on a tight budget. Not very pleasant surroundings, however the police station across the road gives some sort of peace of mind....ish. Helpful staff from driver to porters et al
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from Arlington VA

good value for the money

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: dining for good free breakfast on roof top/pay for dinner or lunch again on roof top. Great, friendly and helpful staff. Wi-Fi and free one computer
Cons: intermittent computer outage. little noisy d/t staircase and breakfast dining.
Location: crowded, told need transportation for sure after 5 p.m.
I stayed at end of building with spiral staircase. Noise at times as people went up/down the staircase. Noise from my room position from breakfast rooftop dining. Only lukewarm showers
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by S from San Francisco

OK hotel, GREAT staff

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: The staff, they were all great! Rooftop restaurant was a nice convenience & the food was good & reasonably priced.
Cons: Lights were very dim. Restrooms/showers were...well...not western standards.
Location: appears to be in a busy commercial street; we did not venture out as we were there for an overnight stay before our safari & b4 going to the airport
Unless you want to pay top bucks, you are not going to get western standards for cleanliness & functionality. All that said, this hotel is reasonable for the price. Comes with a large breakfast & they accommodate you even if you have to leave super early (even before the normal breakfast hours). Wifi is weak & spotty. Avoid rooms near front reception as it can get noisy even during the wee hours of the night. The staff is very friendly & professional. They treat you even better the 2nd time you stay there. We wanted to upgrade our room & they gave that to us free during our 2nd stay. The cost of the airport shuttle to & from the airport is reasonable. The traffic during commute hours is ridiculous. We thought we avoided it when we left early but there was 1 accident in the other direction & traffic in both directions came to a shrieking halt. Our driver was amazing and scary at the same time as he tried his best to get us to the airport on time. We were late but so was everyone else, including the pilot so the flight was delayed & everything turned out fine.
3 out of 5
by Brenda Wanjohi from Winnepeg, Manitoba, CA

Comfortable but...

Posted Mar 3, 2014 on Hotels
Khweza is a nice little place, a bit hidden but convenient. I did have a few problems with the rooms however, such as: lack of air conditioning or a fan during those very warm nights; the bed sheets were very itchy, as though they are hardly ever changed; the position of the socket in Room 16, which I stayed in, could not be accessed by the television cable AT ALL. If these small issues could be looked into, I would look forward to another stay at Khweza when next I'm in Nairobi as well as recommend it to anyone visiting Nairobi for a short stay.
5 out of 5
by gemmamay21 from london

Good value for money

Posted Feb 13, 2014 on Hotels
Great value for money as breakfast is amazing and you can have it in your room or on the amazing rooftop bar. drinks are very reasonably priced and its close to town. Neighborhood not so good but there are matatus and the guys here will escort you to the shops if you need anything.