Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westchester Co., NY

Excellent Hotel in Central Nairobi

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Everything..!
Cons: As much as I would like to provide helpful criticism, there isn't any improvement that I can think of.
Location: The hotel is in central Nairobi and relatively easy access from Wilson and Jomo Kenyatta airports....
I stayed 4 nights and found the hotel excellent for a number of reasons: the staff are truly friendly and helpful, and very well trained. Although the hotel is undergoing renovation/expansion, the construction work did not inconvenience guests in the slightest. The room and bathroom are excellent, very comfortable and spacious. The hotel has a spa with steam room and sauna that I used most days of my stay. Dining facilities are very good indeed, and the overall Kenyan-inspired decor make the hotel stand out from the "modern" cookie-cutter crowd. Overall, very pleased indeed.
5 out of 5
by bonnie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Anna

Nairobi Serena

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful hotel with gracious and helpful staff
4 out of 5
by Nelly

Great Hotel but currentlyl in renovations!

Posted Jan 14, 2017 on Hotels
Did not get my early check-in despite asking in advice. The hotel is in renovations so there is construction noise from 9AM throughout the day...if you are not at the hotel during the day, then that should not be a problem. Otherwise, this is a signature hotel, with great staff and excellent customer service. Great amenities as well and a legendary breakfast spread! I still recommend it anytime!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Customer Service Wins the Day

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
The Nairobi Serena is conveniently located in the Central Business District (CBD) in Nairobi. To save time, I'd often walk to the KICC venue for meetings - it's about a 15 minute walk. I'd say that the best features of the hotel are the excellent customer service, Cafe Maghreb, and on-site spa facilities. The rooms are of a comfortable size and include gratis mini-bar, and tea/coffee making facilities. The bathrooms are average (3 out of 5)- in particular, the shower and toilet could be enhanced to match the quality of the room and status of the hotel. In summary - a solid 4 out of 5 overall for the hotel, with 5 out of 5 for the customer service and spa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J

Exceptional service and safe for solo female.

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Lovely people and comfortable spaces.
Cons: Internet cut out frequently in my room, and location did not seem amenable to walking around the city.
Location: I only took transports - - very atypical for me.
Meticulous service with smiling staff! I felt pampered after 17 days in Madagascar. The hotel concierge made arrangements for very affordable day trips to major highlights of Nairobi. The food was delicious. Lovely pool and lounge areas to hang out. They also kept track of my flights, making sure I left in time for the airport.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Waitng far a flight

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed while waiting for an early flight the next morning. Very nice hotel with an excellent dinning room and a great bar. Room was comfortable, clean and more than adequate in size.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and comfortable stay

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay at Serena. The rooms were comfortable and I particularly enjoyed accessing the free workout classes.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Odiham

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
I was only there one night but all was excellent for last night stop to the airport - wonderful Born Free Safari - long live the wildlife and the Parks.