Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Disappointing hotel overnight transit

Posted Aug 24, 2017
No free wifi as advertised & shuttle ride round trip should have been $25US - there was no such thing I paid to & from $50US. I paid $73.00 & it was only 55000 Tz shillings - so will not recommend to anyone - it was also around an hour from airport. Unsatisfied customer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Operations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kris Hamilton, Firstly, my sincere apologies that we did not manage to meet your expectations as stated by your overall experience. We have noted your comments regarding the free WiFi with great concern.Kindly note that the hotel has WiFi access in all rooms,we however do emphasize that this may not have worked during your stay and we will look into resolving any network issues in all the rooms. Please note that the hotels normal charges for a one way trip to or from the airport is $25.We apologise if there was any miscommunication on the total price for the round trip. I do sincerely hope that we can host you in the near future as we strive to improve our service standards from our past experiences. Kind regards, Kenneth Waweru Operations Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Probably more of a 2* hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Affordable price.
Cons: Cleanliness of walls, towels and drapes
Location: It was close to a street side market if that was something you'd like to explore.
The hotel was rated higher, but I thought it was in the 2-star category. Dirty walls in the lobby and hallways, curtains and towels stained in the rooms etc... and small cockroaches in the rooms. The sheets were clean though, and for that I was appreciative. But the hotel needs to be better managed overall and be prepared for some surprises in terms of quality lapses
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Adequate hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2017
This is an e adequate hotel for the price; located on a noisy street.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Botswana

Nairobi accommodation.

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: It is classy but in a wrong location.
Cons: There is need for entertainment within the hotel to keep the guests occupied since the area / location is not clean.
Location: There is the Nairobi national museum which is worth visiting. The fresh produce food market is good ,I was hopping to see a craft market but i didn't.
A hotel near the airport with some activities near it :- Museum excellent. food market good too. It is in a noisy neighborhood and taxi from and to airport is costly. Good view opportunity but only public transport station and street vendors meet the eye.
1 out of 5
by Carina from London

Dingy and dirty

Posted Sep 21, 2014 on Hotels
I read the reviews for this hotel and thought it sounded like the perfect hotel for just one night. I was wrong. We got there and one person in our group had to change rooms 3 times before they found one with clean sheets. Our room had no pillows nor sheets when we got there, that we had to ask for. Shower was dirty so we didn't feel like showering in the morning, plus the night before I had the conditioner stolen from my room whilst we were having dinner. There is a tv but no remote and only one channel was working. Hotel is dirty and not modern at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2015 by NTH Management, Hotel Management
We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay at Nairobi Transit Hotel. We maintain high standards at Nairobi Transit Hotel and we take standards of cleanliness extremely seriously. All rooms (including linen) are cleaned thoroughly before they are made available to guests. Some provisions such as mosquito nets and extra pillows are provided to guests upon request. Thank you for your review and we will look into the issues raised as we continue to improve our services.
1 out of 5
by Carina from London

Glad it was just one night

Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels
Dirty dirty dirty. The hotel is not modern at all and it is dirty and worn down. Our bed had no beddings when we got there and our friend had to change rooms three times before they found a bed with no blood on the sheets. We were a group of 17 and no one had a shower in the morning due to the fact that the showers were rank. Staff is friendly though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for a short stay

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels
The Hotel staff was very helpful to us and we enjoyed our short stay in Nairobi. The Hotel is located a short walk away from the National Museum, a worthwhile place to visit. We asked the front desk about walking there, and they told us it was not safe and arranged for a younger brother to walk with us. He took us to the museum then by bus to the central business district. It was a very pleasant day experiencing the city. Then we took the short walk together from the Central Business District to our hotel. We would recommend this hotel to travelers. Everything was clean. The internet worked well. The restaurant had a good breakfast and dinner.
2 out of 5
by w

Good for a night or two on a budget

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels
Not so bad neither good. Just enough to spend a night on a budget
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2014
Nice property, but in very unsafe area. No restaurant or fast food options other then on-site bar
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2015 by NTH Management, Hotel Management
The Nairobi Transit Hotel has security officers on site to ensure the safety of our guests at all times. CCTV is also in use throughout the premises to further ensure the safety of our guests. We also have an onsite bar and a restaurant which provides a range of both African and European meal options.