Ratings based on 265 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Great Hotel. Nice view of the Park. Accommodating staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Comfortable and hospitable

Posted Aug 23, 2017
My 16yo daughter and I stayed at The Ole Sereni in Nairobi. We enjoyed our stay; the hotel is nice, the staff are pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the airport

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: rooms close to the animals at the park and clean.
Cons: the staff waiting tables
Location: animal park and shopping.
great visit except for the kitchen staff never getting the bill right and taking forever to do anything the rest of the staff and the rooms were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

Nice hotel overlooking national park

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Location (relative to airport and to Nairobi National Park), friendliness of staff, food variety and quality
Location: The hotel is reasonably close to the airport and sits on the edge of Nairobi National Park, with views into the park allowing for animal sightings.
The staff of the Ole Sereni were very friendly and professional. I was met at the entrance and escorted to the reception for check-in. Check-In was fast and easy, as was check-out. The 24-hour restaurant has a varied menu and a terrace that overlooks Nairobi National Park, allowing for some animal sightings during meals (I saw zebra, bushbuck, and Cape buffalo). My room, also overlooking the park, was clean and comfortable with all of the usual amenities. I highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Seattle, USA

Safe, relaxing location overlooking the park

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Good choices for food or beverage, good bed equals good nights sleep
Location: Half day safari in the park adjacent to hotel is a great option for business traveler
Safe, relaxing location overlooking the park. Great to be able to eat or drink at several spots within the hotel and not have to leave.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a value for money

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
Not really a value-for-money. Room was HOT - A/C did not work, Music blasting into the room from common areas most of the night and all afternoon on Sunday. Over priced and Overrated . No real viewing of animals possible. More or less just a view of a empty lot with some ground works. There are many other hotels in town much more worth the money. Look at the other ratings - much of the negatives stated are in fact true - few if any of the positives.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Isolated issue by hotel left me room-less.

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
I stay at this hotel during each of my visits to Nairobi. It's comfortable, and I'll continue to book here when the price allows. However, on this reservation, I arrived to the hotel at 24 hours of travel - only to be asked to wait for almost an hour due to a obvious "issue" with my check in. By the time I was told what was really going on it was Midnight - and the staff confirmed that they had made a mistake and overbooked the hotel. I didn't have a room. The manager was apologetic and I do believe this was a mistake. They booked me at another hotel to accommodate - but I was lost hours of rest and had to re-arrange my schedule based on this. Additionally, the hotel they put me in was not entirely comparable in cost or amenities to the Ole Sereni. As mentioned, I'll stay here again - but am waiting for a refund from hotels.com since I did not get the hotel, service, etc that I paid for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good overnight hotel close to the airport

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Staff, location
I have flown through JKIA a number of times, and this is the first time I've stayed at the Ole Sereni - it wont be the last. The staff are helpful, good comfortable rooms, acceptable food - especially for so late at night, and its closeness to the airport can't be beaten. It's so much easier than dealing with Nairobi's traffic and trying to get to some club or hotel in the centre of the city.
5 out of 5
by Masaru

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near the airport

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Close to the airport
Apparently the only good and decent hotel near the airport. A bit expensive for a transit night. Nothing to say about the service or the facilities as it is very good.