Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Close to Wilson Airport

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: The hotel was NOT bad. Staff was polite and spoke good English. We did not use any of the facilities besides room and restaurant. Food was decent from the a la carte menu, buffet didn't look so good. Room and bathroom were clean and the bed was not uncomfortable. The main selling point is that the hotel is accessed from Mombasa Road when coming from the international airport (NBO) which bypasses some of the worst city traffic. The hotel is even closer (15 min) to the domestic airport, Wilson, and is probably the absolute best choice if you have an early flight out.
Cons: Service at the restaurant was really slow and they weren't even particularly busy.
Location: Very close to WIL airport, relatively quick access to NBO airport, very close to Nairobi National Park as well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from delray beach

There was nothing special about this hotel.

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Orbitz
Location: Nothing
The rooms were spacious and comfortable but the hotel was in a crap location and food sucked. It was a crash pad to get over 24h flight and rest before safari but it wasn't anything luxurious at all. For the purposes of sleep it was perfect
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boca raton

We had a 2 day layover in Nairobi and ....

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Orbitz
Location: Not but near. 15 minutes to the national park
The hotel checked all the boxes except the breakfast was lacking and the lobby smelled at times. The concierge was very unhelpful. As far as a convenient place to Spend a couple layover nights, it was perfect.
5 out of 5
by Mayumi from San Francisco

Expensive but comfortable.

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
The Staff there is very helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Great service, nice hotel

Posted Nov 15, 2015
Great service from the staff, especially the conceiege John and the drivers Duncan and Geoffrey. The rooms are clean, nice, and very spacious. Very happy with our stay.
5 out of 5
by Louella from San Clemente, Orange County, California

A night to remember at The Boma!!

Posted Oct 24, 2015 on Hotels
I had a one night lay over in Nairobi (wish I had more days at this hotel). I was promptly picked up at the airport. The friendly staff (including my driver)was an immediate sign that this beautifully designed hotel was the right choice. The bedroom looked more like a suite; with the luxurious feel of the large bed with the soft pillows; the etchings on the glass wall of the bathroom is a beautiful design feature. The night was quiet that made for a restful sleep. The next morning I had to catch an early flight to Kilimanjaro and had no time for a sit down breakfast. The chef put together a 'breakfast to go' box as suggested to me by the receptionist (great idea!!) On the way to the airport I enjoyed some hot coffee, fruits, and pastries while in conversation with the friendly driver. Am sorry I wish I could remember their names.I would like to thank them all....and tell them that I had a beautiful stay at The Boma!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, USA

Excellent place for reprieve, near airport.

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: It was a place of rest and restoration.
We stayed overnight before flying to Europe, on our way home from 2 weeks on safari. The hotel was perfect. We showered in luxury and ordered room service. The business center was staffed, so all went well there. Everyone was gracious and kind. The security to get into the hotel was very strict. We appreciated their careful inspection of our vehicle even though it was the Boma's own shuttle!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Extremely comfortable stay

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: The room, the staff
Cons: Tembo food
Location: Located very close to both the international and domestic airport.
Stay at the Boma Nairobi in a deluxe double room for a night en route to the Mara for a Safari. It was a very comfortable stay after a whole day of travelling. It was my husband and my honeymoon and we were very grateful to have a large, clean and comfy room to rest in after the wedding festivities. The bathroom was also large and well designed. We had breakfast in the main restaurant Johari and this was really good. Had lunch in the bistro Tembo which was alright. The staff were very helpful and welcoming at all times. I would definitely go back there again and will be recommending it to anyone who visits Nairobi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stanford

Great resting spot between Kenyatta and Wilson

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: Attentive staff, substantial breakfast, reasonable gift shop with local crafts.
Cons: Price could have been more reasonable.
Location: Spa adjoined the hotel that allows shared facilities.
From the moment you enter the hotel at the gate there is sense of security and friendliness by the staff. The hotel is modern and well maintained with dining and bar facilities. The registration and travel desks are very supportive and can facilitate travel plans. Hotel is ideal as a stop between local airports such as Wilson and the international airport Kenyatta. Hotel is surrounded by major organizations such as the Red Cross. Overall this hotel maintains high standards of cleanliness and service and is well worth it's Kenyan name as a home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Solid Place & Good Location

Posted May 9, 2015
I'm reviewing this hotel in comparison to two other hotels I stayed at in Nairobi; both for work (the Intercontinental (gross would NEVER stay there again) and the Ole Sereni (a solid 3 out of 5)). The Pros: Proximity to the airport (which also was good for my meetings - traffic in Nairobi is terrible and the roads suck so whatever you do, book close to where you need to be and budget at least 1 hour to go 2 miles in the mornings and afternoon/early evenings). The rooms (what a great respite after crazy days. Modern and clean. Bed was a little hard but I'm sure my chiropractor would have be thrilled. Nice desk area and ample space in the room. The Staff: genuinely friendly and very helpful to me (I used the hotel car service a lot ... try it, it isn't a rip off like other hotel car services). The ok: The gym ... nice and big 'enough' - nothing to write home about. The food ... I'd actually give this 2 out of 5. I ate most of my meals at the hotel and wasn't a fan of anything I ate ... sorry. The wifi: It was 1000x better than the Ole Sereni but still needs improvement. The bad: nothing really. Other than that picture they use as the main picture of the Hotel ... feel the place is actually nicer looking than that picture makes it out to be. Would I stay there again: Yes