Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Friendly Kenyan Hospitality at its Finest

Posted Jul 15, 2017
My friend and I (we are from the US) stayed at the Heron Portico for the last few nights of a month long service trip throughout East Africa. The Heron Portico staff were incredibly friendly and accomodating. They care about their guests' experience, and although they might need an extra nudge or a walk up to the front desk to fulfill a request, we did not mind (we are accustomed to the slower pace of Kenya) - and for the most part, housekeeping related issues were resolved. We were disappointed by the pool being drained for maintenance, but Argwings from the gym offered to make a special arrangement for us to swim at a place nearby to make up for this, which was very kind and much appreciated. The spa services, including massages at the gym, as well as nails, facials and hair at the salon were affordable and outstanding. Nancy and Isaac from the salon were warm and welcoming, and very thorough in their services. We will be bringing our team back next year to enjoy a little luxury in between our legs of work and travel!
4 out of 5
by James

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels
Very good hotel for the price. My only complaint is that I was not given the option upon booking to pay for an inclusive breakfast. I was told at the desk that I could not add it so paid $15 per day for their buffet. The rate was very good and the room was just fine ---- simply would have like to have the option to have the breakfast included up front if I chose to do so.
4 out of 5
by gene

Lovely, intimate old style hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely old style hotel. Swahili decor. Furniture is real wood, not veneer, shower always hot and strong. Excellent coffee. Staff well trained and friendly.
4 out of 5
by Pierre

In transit in Nairobi

Posted Jul 1, 2017 on Hotels
We stay one night in Nairobi before going to our safari. This Hôtel with a nice Indian touch is very well located near downtown and the highway airport. Nice Service and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by Ramji

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 29, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dunedin, Fl

Arrival overnight in Kenya

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Good bed, large bathroom, buffet breakfast.
Location: Close to downtown and close to the Nairobi wildlife park, Karen Blixen's House, the Animal Orphanage and Daphne Sheldrick's Elephant Orphanage.
After arriving in to Nairobi after 24 hours of traveling, I was greeted by a friendly and helpful staff. My room was great size and the bathroom well equipped. There was a nice buffet breakfast to start the next day off right. The hotel is fairly close to downtown yet fairly close to the Nairobi wildlife park, Karen Blixen's House, the Animal Orphanage and Daphne Sheldrick's elephant orphanage. Best way to get there is by taxi at $20.00 one way. It is a hotel that I would return to.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money

Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
Bad experience. Internet was highly unreliable, very small washroom, tiny bed(s), and OLD rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok, but service needs to be improved

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel itself is ok, but there are many issues that needed to be fixed. For example, the safe in my room did not work, and despite asking about it twice, it was not fixed during my five-day stay. My colleague did not have hot water. Cleanliness was so-so. There are so many other hotels in Nairobi that I do not think I will stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Quiet.

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Very nice stay. Would have liked to have more time there rather than just a stop before an early morning flight
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fancy look, not so fancy service

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Breakfast was cold. Staff were slow. Weak wifi. Nice rooms and nice grounds.