Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Very nice place to stay....Going to stay there next time I visit
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Business hotel in Nairobi, they get it!

Posted Aug 9, 2015
I moved to this hotel after a disappointing stay elsewhere for a prolonged business trip in Nairobi and was extremely pleased by the business atmosphere,level of attention to service and efficiency of staff.I couldn't wait to write this review!The style of the hotel is a rustic spin on elegant with colored tile floors, stained glass decor and ornaments.It's not a brand new building but they've made it into a comfortable place for rest and relaxation including the gym, pool side area and coffee shop.The rooms are very amply sized,with free wifi and a desk area by large windows that makes for a perfect working space.A delicious breakfast buffet is served every morning;lunch and dinner meals were just as delectable.The coffee shop/cafe also opened late makes for a nice working/ meeting spot.Above all, the staff are AMAZING!There is a high level of professionalism at all levels.The staff operate like a "well-oiled" machine, and emulate utmost customer service.I hardly remember having to ask for anything twice, or being referred to someone else because it wasn't that particular person's job.They get it! I particularly enjoyed the housekeeper,Mr. K,who ALWAYS wore a bright smile and was super cognizant of my jet lag first few days and would just happily come clean my room once I'd gotten up without a complaint nor simply opting not to do it bc it probably messed up his order!Well done to the Heron!I already have referrals coming! Dr. N
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Slow check in after midnight and a very long flight. Room booked for 3 people (3 beds) but the room provided had just 2 beds. Relocated row different room. 2nd bed was not made in full. It took 90 minutes in total before we could settle for the night. Poor service and preparation despite a friendly and relaxed staff. This experience was duplicated by another family of 3 who arrived at the same time as us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Soquel, CA

A wonderful respite from the traffic of the city.

Posted May 24, 2015
This was the perfect transition hotel after traveling for over 24 hours to reach Nairobi. The staff was very friendly and the hotel a quiet respite in a bustling city. At the time there was some construction going on but it did not disturb our wonderful stay. The pool and exercise room were just what a traveler needed to unwind - we took full advantage of it and found it as good as any gym and much better than most hotels. The buffet breakfast included with the room was excellent. From made to order eggs and waffles to the croissants, cereals, cheeses, international foods, and fruits, we were overwhelmed. It was a delight to sit on the front porch and enjoy the feast. We highly recommend this gem and will be returning when we are in Nairobi again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lennart from Jönköping

Trevlig personal

Posted May 3, 2015 on Hotels
Mycket trevlig personal och lugnt läge men ändå nära till centrum.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brussel

Good venue nice hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: Good spacious rooms, well maintained
Cons: There are levels which can't be reached by elevator which is a bit cumbersome if you are wheelchair bound
Location: Close to Nairobi City Center
The Heron Portico is a nice upscale hotel in Nairobi. Conveniently located in a quiet area. Staff is friendly and willing to assist, just that the pricing for an extra person is outrageous (50%). It is well furnished and has a pool, a spa and a gym.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Craig from Johannesburg

Good place in need of a freshen-up.

Posted Apr 26, 2015 on Hotels
This is a great hotel but in need of some minor updates. The staff were simply exceptional, though. Very small rooms with fans made me cringe a bit upon arrival, but the other aspects of the stay made up for it. WiFi is decent but spotty when conferences are happening. They could work on their breakfast service and selection. Otherwise, I would recommend it for a couple days on business.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kerry from Denver

Good Location

Posted Mar 9, 2015 on Hotels
I had pre-arranged an airport transfer but no one was at the airport when we arrived. Our flight had been delayed so I believe that caused the confusion. Otherwise, we had a very enjoyable stay. The rooms are very clean and after traveling for almost 24 hours to get to Nairobi, it was a very comfortable stay. The pool area is nice and it is a short cab ride to the middle of downtown Nairobi, which is great since traffic is quite bad there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Daniel from Los Angeles

Will Stay Again Next Time I'm in Nairobi

Posted Mar 6, 2015 on Hotels
It was a joy staying at The Heron. The service was excellent. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The atmosphere and the food at the restaurant was wonderful, although the service was a little slow. I would highly recommend The Heron and hope to stay again next time I'm in Nairobi.