Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This hotel could be a hit or miss

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: Location not too far from downtown. The staff were very nice and accommodating.
Cons: Rooms could be refreshed.
Location: Close to downtown for shopping and Uhuru park for recreation.
The first time I stayed in this hotel I got the room with the best facilities. This time around the room I got was clean but had a dump smell that just would not go away. Also, the wireless in the room did not work and had to rely on the wireless from the lobby. I feel that I overpaid for the experience I got.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kitwe, Zambia

Nice hotel close to city centre

Posted Oct 7, 2015
I loved that its a quiet environment & secure. The swimming pool area was the best place for relaxation. I missed my bacon for breakfast. I didn't understand why they only had beef bacon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Devon, UK

This small hotel has good facilities for its size

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: We found the duvets on the beds a bit too heavy (warm) or comfort. Suggest lighter grade of duvet would be more appropriate.
Location: Location is quiet and just away from the centre of the city of Nairobi and a mere 5-10 minute taxi ride away from business and shopping facilities.
All staff are warm and friendly and readily respond to any request from guests. Rooms are spacious and well maintained, with good daily servicing. Rooms are quiet, light and well cooled by the central AC system. The two restaurants are also pretty good, although the menu got a little bit tedious toward the end of our 9-day stay. The management is well trained to give excellent attention to guest comments or queries and run the establishment to a high standard. Altogether a good experience for a reasonable price. Would heartily recommend the Heron Portico to visitors from overseas looking for an inexpensive place to stay not far from the centre of Nairobi.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Good if you get the right room.

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Pros: The position, the restaurant, the staff.
Cons: The breakfast, some rooms.
Location: Easy to walk to the city centre.
I stayed twice in the hotel. The first time the room was as good as could be expected, excellent. The second time the room was poor, just acceptable. Very poor internet, just clean, curtains that did not quite fit, many small things. The hotel is a short walk from Nairobi city centre, and it is in a very pleasant area. The restaurant is excellent but the breakfast is not up to standard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Very nice place to stay....Going to stay there next time I visit
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Business hotel in Nairobi, they get it!

Posted Aug 9, 2015
I moved to this hotel after a disappointing stay elsewhere for a prolonged business trip in Nairobi and was extremely pleased by the business atmosphere,level of attention to service and efficiency of staff.I couldn't wait to write this review!The style of the hotel is a rustic spin on elegant with colored tile floors, stained glass decor and ornaments.It's not a brand new building but they've made it into a comfortable place for rest and relaxation including the gym, pool side area and coffee shop.The rooms are very amply sized,with free wifi and a desk area by large windows that makes for a perfect working space.A delicious breakfast buffet is served every morning;lunch and dinner meals were just as delectable.The coffee shop/cafe also opened late makes for a nice working/ meeting spot.Above all, the staff are AMAZING!There is a high level of professionalism at all levels.The staff operate like a "well-oiled" machine, and emulate utmost customer service.I hardly remember having to ask for anything twice, or being referred to someone else because it wasn't that particular person's job.They get it! I particularly enjoyed the housekeeper,Mr. K,who ALWAYS wore a bright smile and was super cognizant of my jet lag first few days and would just happily come clean my room once I'd gotten up without a complaint nor simply opting not to do it bc it probably messed up his order!Well done to the Heron!I already have referrals coming! Dr. N
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Slow check in after midnight and a very long flight. Room booked for 3 people (3 beds) but the room provided had just 2 beds. Relocated row different room. 2nd bed was not made in full. It took 90 minutes in total before we could settle for the night. Poor service and preparation despite a friendly and relaxed staff. This experience was duplicated by another family of 3 who arrived at the same time as us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Soquel, CA

A wonderful respite from the traffic of the city.

Posted May 24, 2015
This was the perfect transition hotel after traveling for over 24 hours to reach Nairobi. The staff was very friendly and the hotel a quiet respite in a bustling city. At the time there was some construction going on but it did not disturb our wonderful stay. The pool and exercise room were just what a traveler needed to unwind - we took full advantage of it and found it as good as any gym and much better than most hotels. The buffet breakfast included with the room was excellent. From made to order eggs and waffles to the croissants, cereals, cheeses, international foods, and fruits, we were overwhelmed. It was a delight to sit on the front porch and enjoy the feast. We highly recommend this gem and will be returning when we are in Nairobi again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Needs some expert maintenance!

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Staff
Cons: Professional expert maintenance!
We have stayed at this hotel each year for the past 6 yrs. we have watched the price Go up, while the care and maintenance continue to go down, especially under new ownership * lift at ground floor does not work, you have to carry all you luggage to 2 or 3 floor and catch it there * room keys card, they rarely work correctly! Which means you must go by stairs down to the reception to retrieve another one * showers are not maintained professionally, all three rooms we stayed in (2different experiences) had issues, the handles came off, could not adust hot or cold, or broken all together, etc. * wifi and wired internet rarely work, dropped out all the time, made keeping in touch difficult! The staff at this place is wonderful, however we are really going to look for a better maintained hotel our next trip!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2015
I had stayed for 5 nights, the room is clean and comfortable but without A/C, only a fan the breakfast is nice with a wide range of varieties. Location is good, and quiet.