Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This hotel could be a hit or miss

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: Location not too far from downtown. The staff were very nice and accommodating.
Cons: Rooms could be refreshed.
Location: Close to downtown for shopping and Uhuru park for recreation.
The first time I stayed in this hotel I got the room with the best facilities. This time around the room I got was clean but had a dump smell that just would not go away. Also, the wireless in the room did not work and had to rely on the wireless from the lobby. I feel that I overpaid for the experience I got.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Phil from Colchester

Great hotel with good facilities

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
I chose the Heron because it was the start point for the tour, and although I thought it was expensive compared to what you would get in Europe, I had a great stay there. Friendly staff and a nice big room with good facilities. The food in the restaurant was amazing, so I would recommend eating there if you are staying.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

You pay what you get

Posted Oct 23, 2015
Pros: Good wifi
Great hotel and nice rooms, nice breakfast and good internet connection, but at what price!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kitwe, Zambia

Nice hotel close to city centre

Posted Oct 7, 2015
I loved that its a quiet environment & secure. The swimming pool area was the best place for relaxation. I missed my bacon for breakfast. I didn't understand why they only had beef bacon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Devon, UK

This small hotel has good facilities for its size

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: We found the duvets on the beds a bit too heavy (warm) or comfort. Suggest lighter grade of duvet would be more appropriate.
Location: Location is quiet and just away from the centre of the city of Nairobi and a mere 5-10 minute taxi ride away from business and shopping facilities.
All staff are warm and friendly and readily respond to any request from guests. Rooms are spacious and well maintained, with good daily servicing. Rooms are quiet, light and well cooled by the central AC system. The two restaurants are also pretty good, although the menu got a little bit tedious toward the end of our 9-day stay. The management is well trained to give excellent attention to guest comments or queries and run the establishment to a high standard. Altogether a good experience for a reasonable price. Would heartily recommend the Heron Portico to visitors from overseas looking for an inexpensive place to stay not far from the centre of Nairobi.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Good if you get the right room.

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Pros: The position, the restaurant, the staff.
Cons: The breakfast, some rooms.
Location: Easy to walk to the city centre.
I stayed twice in the hotel. The first time the room was as good as could be expected, excellent. The second time the room was poor, just acceptable. Very poor internet, just clean, curtains that did not quite fit, many small things. The hotel is a short walk from Nairobi city centre, and it is in a very pleasant area. The restaurant is excellent but the breakfast is not up to standard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 25, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Sunder

Kenya trip for business is good

Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
I do really appreciate the out of way service by all staff , especially the front desk went all out to get my wifi fixed , it did though succeed only my last day ,but they tried.Overall good business hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Very nice place to stay....Going to stay there next time I visit