Ratings based on 200 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand old hotel in CBD

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: The pool, the Exchange bar, history
Cons: Food quality and price
Location: CBD Tour
I stayed at Sarova Stanley for one night after a Masai Mara safari. Staff was formal and courteous. The breakfast buffet at the Thorn Tree has a large spread with passable food quality. The fruit juices and fruits on offer are quite exceptional, but this is usual in East Africa. The quality of the dinner (fried tilapia with chips) was somewhat disappointing. I would suggest visiting a local place called "Ranalo" which is just a couple of minutes' walk away from the hotel instead. It was extremely pleasant to swim in the pool as it was heated (lukewarm water).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

in city center convenient to go every places

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: I am feeling very bad now because they send my suits to dry clean and destroy my new suits.
Cons: customer service
Location: this is hotel location near by many money transfer , and convenient for go anywhere .
I have sent my suits to dry clean, i surprised the small bottoms all are broken , fabric is changed to harder than before. Now i back to my country, i sent to my tailor to fix it , she found all suits is not clean by dry clean , it was somebody put in machinery to using water wash then drying and iron. so now my suits is broken. So, I may couldn't to request this hotel to responsible for my suit , because they will not responsible at all. Incase their are management really focus in customer care, they must be care about all customer service too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Support staff were very attentive.
Location: Didn't do much as was on a tight schedule of meetings.
I was there for a short business trip. Room comfort was good. On first glance, I was worried about the comfort of the bed, but it turned out to be pretty good. I slept well! I ate at the restaurant, food was good, service was good- restaurant staff were polite. I would encourage restaurant staff to check-in on their patrons...especially to be a little more responsive between the time they present the bill and when the customer is ready to go. Both times I ate at the restaurant it took a long time for them to come back to get the bill. The first time I just left after waiting a long time (my bill was to be charged to my room account anyway), the second time I waited and ended up having to flag someone down. Food was good and the breakfast spread had a good variety of options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Comfortable, grand hotel in Nairobi's CBD

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Oasis of luxury in central Nairobi. The bar has a timeless feel, as if you have just come in from safari up country. Very relaxing and stylish, service is attentive and charming. The Thai restaurant is a joy, with excellent food and wine list, and well-priced. the staff are particularly welcoming, without being over-fussy. It is more than just a place to stay, though it does that very well - large rooms, breakfast early on request and beautifully laid out, front-desk and concierge very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, CA

In comparison

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Breakfast included, food was great
Cons: Water available, bath tub too narrow
Location: Everything is near by. Another plus for them. But at the same time too busy. Just depend on what you are looking for. Local shops, food, entertainment
Prior to staying at the Villa Rosa Kempenski hotel i would rather not stay at the Stanley again. Although the breakfast was included in the price and was great, and the staff great people the hotel had a better location to me and overall environment.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

History and convienence

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Great place in center of town. Staff incredibly helpful. Very historical place, too, and nicely remodeled.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Bad experience at Sarova Stanley Hotel

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Billed as a 5-star hotel ... I arrived late in Nairobi and the hotels I usually stay at (Serena and InterContinental) did not have available rooms for the night. So I opted to stay at Sarova Stanley. It was a bad idea ... poor check in, workers hammering away all night. I called 3 times over the course of the night to ask that the hammering stop till morning ... nothing was done about it. Definitely this hotel is not at the caliber of a Serena, Norfolk or InterContinental in Nairobi. More work needs to be done to improve and be worthy of 5-star rating. I won't be staying here any time soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Distinctive hotel with an individual style

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
This was only an overnight transit but this and other times at the Stanley have always been very enjoyable. The staff are friendly and supportive.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old school in the CBD Nairobi

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely old school hotel in the centre of Nairobi
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great 10-day stay

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Great breakfast. Always different. Gym is very good. Gym classes by Philips are a must! The management should be more flexible for early checking and late checkout.