Ratings based on 244 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2017
Great location, friendly staff, good restaurant, amazing history.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stockholm, Sweden

Terrible staff and managers - hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2017
The hotel staff and night manager were exteemly rude and sexist. I did not feel safe and i woukd not recommend any westerner to stay in this hotel. They will humiliate and embarass you before your guests, collegues, and friends. Sativa is extremely unprofessional with irrational staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice old hotel in the business district!

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: I think some of the staff at food and beverage need training.
It took an awful long time to get to the hotel as the High Court was in session and a nearby road was closed so there was a terrible traffic jam. The check-in took a long time and I mentioned to the receptionist when it had taken 20 minutes but she actually refused that it had taken that long even when I told her at what time I had arrived. The location of the hotel is great - right in the business and shopping district. The room was very nice but a few more electric sockets would have been nice! The WIFI was very good! The breakfast buffet was great but when breakfast is served till.... it usually does not mean that the buffet is closed right at that time so you had to be sure that you had enough at that time. One morning the waitress forgot my tea - I guess she was busy One night I ordered room service: A cocktail to be brought immediately and dinner at least 30 minutes later. When the delivery had taken long I personally went to the restaurant. They said that the food was on the way but later admitted that they had forgotten the whole order. The room service menu of food dishes is very limited and it is not possible - as in most other hotels - to order room service from a restaurant menu. All staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. I stayed for two nights and I had to pay a deposit of USD 100 if I did not want to pay everything by cash. If you do not buy any extras it takes two weeks to get the refund. I was granted a late check-out, thank you for that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Just very enjoyable from the word Hello and welcome back at reception.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great Location!

Posted Oct 25, 2017
This hotel is exceptional in all aspects. Great location, incredible service, and super friendly staff. It was the ideal hotel to start our wonderful African safari vacation.
5 out of 5
by Jon

I'll be back

Posted Oct 19, 2017 on Hotels
I find myself passing through Nairobi as a transit passenger and have tried several hotels, Hilton, Safari club. My experience here was really a pleasant surprise. Rooms clean and spacious. Staff very helpful and kind. I had a late flight and they accommodated me for the afternoon. Gym is well equipped, pool is well maintained. Thorn Tree restaurant is delicious. Centrally located. I’ve found my Nairobi home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Very good centrally located hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Good restaurants and courteous staff. My favourite everytime I visit Nairobi.
4 out of 5
by Ross

Affordable Business Hotel in downtown Nairobi.

Posted Oct 5, 2017 on Hotels
Affordable Business Hotel in downtown Nairobi.
5 out of 5
by Teresa from Seattle

Fabulous Historic Stay at the Stanley

Posted Oct 2, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel, outstanding service, and one of the best breakfast buffets I've ever had. The old wood and history of this beautiful hotel were well maintained. Room was clean and comfortable. The bar is a must visit! They held onto our excess luggage while we were on a safari in the Mara. the pool was warm, clean and lovely. I felt secure and safe here. I'd definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautiful Traditional Hotel built in 1902

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: It is traditional and I love its history
Location: Hotel is in the city centre. We had a lot planned through the day whilst we were there so did not really venture out at night as we were exhausted.
Beautiful hotel with fantastic staff who cannot do enough for you. Steve the Concierge was amazingly helpful and his knowledge about the hotel's history and Nairobi in general is second to none