Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nairobi

ROOM CLEANLINESS IS NOT A PRIVILEGE

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: The African tribal artifacts are, without doubt, spectacular
Cons: Cleanliness, is not a privilege, it is an essential. Management to get a grip on this.
Location: The Tribe appears to be squeezed into a space too small and clearly built on a seasonal river course, which surely raises questions. Next to a 'Mall'.
Four, non-smoking rooms, reeked of cigarette smoke and were otherwise grubby, if not outright dirty - splodges on the floor, unvacuumed carpet, deposits in the toilet . . . Corridor carpet also flecked with foreign matter and every corner evidence of dirt, dust, even building debris, evident No lemon in the hotel, nor any HP or other 'brown' sauce, not what one would expect from 'high end' hotel. The breakfast is comparable to Hemingways, Crowne Plaza, Intercontinental and Hilton, but falls short of Serena, Kepinski and Sankara - all similarly priced
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Posted Apr 1, 2017
If you are looking for a great modern hotel in Nairobi this is the place. Located in a good area and right next to Village Market (shopping and dining). Rooms are big, staff is helpful and food is good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Nice hotel, very competent staff. I'd stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
Wifi hardly worked in the hotel room which is not acceptable given the rate this hotel charges.
4 out of 5
by STEVEN

Nairobi business trip

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
It was a business trip and whilst the hotel was great, however, the location does not suit for business as it away from the city especially heavy morning traffic. It is a good hotel for holidays and honeymooners. My main concern was the service in the restaurant , I feel staff need more training to better serve customers. The reception staff, bell boys and security staff were all great especially John @ the reception was good at his job. They have a nice swimming pool but I could not use the spa as it was under some work???
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Luxury and pampering in the heart of Nairobi

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Staff, ambience and food!!
Cons: Not much!!
Location: In Gigiri Nairboi and so not the centre of town (thankfully). Village market next door and all the usual Nairobi things with 30 minutes or so driving
Stayed 3 times in quick succession ... each time the staff were superb and the rooms (different each time) were great. The food is excellent and the ambience is truly pampering. My sincere thanks to the warm and friendly staff who made each return feel like "coming home"
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2017
The hotel staff was very helpful and polite. I only stayed for one night in order to treat my girlfriend to a spa day and she loved it. Their spa was more than I expected. I will definitely be coming back again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Geneva

Aging hotel with poor maintenance

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Housekeeping and maintenance of the hotel appliances.
Location: Shopping
The Tribe is showing its age and also the lack of interest management puts on maintenance. Most of the bathroom appliances in the rooms do not work: there is no water pressure and the water is brown. The rooms feel dirty and part of the wooden floors have mould in them due to humidity. The a/c often do not work properly. Room service took 45min when they promised delivery in 20min. Overall a poor experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Addis Ababa

Was better before

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Location and the Thai massage. Wanna is excellent.
Cons: They should check the rooms and have the small repairs done. You can see that in many spots it's worn down.
Location: It gives easy access to the village market.
This was my third stay at the tribe and it was a bit disappointing compared to the previous times. The cleanliness was not like before and should be improved. I stayed in two rooms and in both rooms the shower heads had a problem. Small things but should not occur in such a hotel. Even the breakfast showed some decline. Overall it is not a bad hotel but considering the price, there are some improvements to be made and become impeccable as it was. I would recommend this hotel if they raise their standards again.