Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's not the same Wasini I stayed at in the pst

Posted Sep 16, 2017
The hotel staff are great, warm and cheerful. Unfortunately that the best compliment I can pay to wasini. I have stayed at the hotel at different times over the past couple of years. Regrettably things have changed, and for the worse. I didn't have hot water for the four days I was there. I complained every day and I was assured each time that it had been repaired. Yet the hot water lasted for less than four minutes each morning when I was taking my shower. During a season of cold climate in Kenya I was having my bath with cold water literally. The mosquito netting was too small for the bed. I complained. It was replaced. The footmat in the bathroom is torn in many places. It showed that supervisors don't check on what the clients are served. No decent hotel would allow the staff to place torn foot mats in the bathroom. They are torn in several places so quite obvious. The towels are ex white and looked brown even though they are originally white. They are all getting in several parts. The worse was the attack of mosquitoes every day. Even though someone came to spray the room in the evening every day, by 5am the next day, I could no longer sleep. I had a horrible four days this time: no sleep, dirty towels and footmat, poor quality breakfast. I used to boast about wasini and referred my friends to it. I am not trying to bring the hotel down. I am using this medium to draw the attention of the management that they risk losing most of their clients.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nairobi

Nothing Works

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Hard to say...
Cons: Refurbish and get everything working at a minimum
No Hot water, No working Telephone, Couldnt reach reception, Slow Service , TV Doesnt Work, Cold Food...need I say more? How did they get a five star rating
3 out of 5
by philip

Could improve but overall very nice.

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Overall quite enjoyable. Staff were very friendly, rooms are huge and well equipped. You could stay here and self cater really as there are good kitchens in the rooms. Tv was a bit dated, jacuzzi bath in bathroom was a nice touch but sadly didn't work, reported but not fixed. Swimming pool wa a nice size but unfortunately was closed for my entire stay as it was being cleaned, guess I was a bit unlucky.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I had a wonderful stay at Wasini.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
The staff was incredible, and always were there whenever I needed something. Great location, everywhere I needed to go was not far away. I definitely recommend this hotel, and will surely stay during my next visit. Thanks Wasini staff for making me feel at home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Staff and hotel design are fantastic.

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Stayed for 4 days and developed good relationships with staff. Left to another country for 3 days and decided to come back to Wasini. Brilliant enough to quickly return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Addis Ababa

Nice ambiance, secluded and in nice area

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Staff willingness to listen to complaints and make changes, ambiance (quiet and secluded) and nice suites.
Cons: The hotel is exhibiting a bit of tear/wear, and in the double suite, the bedroom was quite small, TV stations are too limited.
Location: Located in Westlands with lots of bars, malls and could easily access day trips to Naivasha to see wildlife or the Nairobi national park.
While the hotel had a good ambiance, getting luggage to reception was a problem, steps and no ramp and small dingy like reception. Suites were nice but problem with heater and no hot water so hotel moved us to the presidential suite the next day after a series of complaints and failed attempt to fix the problem. Breakfast was ordinary, but with feedback, hotel improved and provided variety of fruits, breads etc. Staff were nice and welcoming and the hotel is very close to bars, malls and other places of interest. It was all in all a pleasant experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A good place in Nairobi

Posted Jul 28, 2016
The suites are more like apartments. Mine was a massive two bedroom suite with full kitchen, two big bedrooms and large lounge. The hotel was clean and I enjoyed staying there. The outdoor restaurant bar could be a bit chilly in mid-winter and I hadn't packed a warm jumper, but that was my fault, not theirs. I will definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by John from Philadelphia, USA

Wasini Hoteli mzuri sana

Posted Mar 6, 2016 on Hotels
very helpful and friendly staff; good support for guest of mine who arrived; able to work after checking out. Good all around.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average hotel in the heart of the city

Posted Dec 19, 2015
The room was shabby with mosquitoes. A climb up the stairs to the third floor. Reception shabby. Close to a lot of good restaurants and room is spacious. The toilets are reasonable but the shower is old and not great. Room service is average but they have a decent restaurant and an an okay pool. This review is such a bore that Expedia should revisit the format.
3 out of 5
by EJ from US

Some major problems, but overall a decent stay

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
Although very apologetic, there were a number of big mistakes that happened during my stay, which cost it a full star in my review. A taxi was very late arriving. I ordered food one night and after a long wait, the wrong meal came. The next night, my food never came and the kitchen closed with no food options available anywhere nearby. I checked out early just to eat at the airport. The TV channels were via satellite and it rained during my stay, making it impossible to watch any channels even when it rained a bit. I also didn't realise how sheer the curtains were until I went out at night and noticed that I could see the silhouettes of other guests. I would make those heavier or darker. Everything else (the bed, shower, bath tub, kitchen, gym) were good enough to not demonise the entire stay. I would think twice before booking it again.